Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-5|Private
362 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Thank you for all the great reviews! We are honored to serve the families of St. John's. St. John's is a very special place made up by a community of teachers, parents, extended family, parishioners and more all dedicated to fostering the spark in every child. The best way to get to know us is to visit our beautiful campus. Attend one of our open houses, many events or call to schedule a private tour. All are welcome!
January 22, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
76 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 112 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Johns Parish Day School 5

Posted June 16, 2016
- a parent
Everyday our son came home from school discussing what he learned that day. His teachers communication was excellent and we always knew what his school day consisted of.

St. Johns Parish Day School 3

Posted May 21, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are fabulous. They work well together and challenge my children. They are what make the school great. Unfortunately the school lacks direction from the Head. She is not in touch with the parents and does not show up to school events. I have had many an email go unanswered. She should be greeting families and parents and welcoming them to the school. I drop my child off and pick them up everyday and often go into the school building to do this and it can be weeks between sightings. She has been "fully in charge" for 2 years now and the school is slowly going downhill.


St. Johns Parish Day School 5

Posted May 12, 2016
- a parent
St. John's provided my daughter a solid academic foundation within a loving and caring environment. The staff knew my daughter and fostered her strengths. We spent 7 years at this school and we found the lower school to be academically stimulating. My daughter entered an elite, private, Baltimore middle school well prepared and continuing her love of learning.

St. Johns Parish Day School 5

Posted May 11, 2016
- a parent
I can not say enough great things about the school. My daughter has made life time friendships with teacher, students and staff at SJPDS. This is a school where teacher care about your child's growth on all levels. My family has received a priceless education and experience.

St. Johns Parish Day School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted May 09, 2016
- a parent
It's hard to pin point one person as it takes a village to run a school, but I am very impressed with the Head of School. She is very positive and very approachable. Not all schools can say that!


St. Johns Parish Day School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 09, 2016
- a parent
I'm very comfortable with the amount of homework the teachers provide. Our daughter is stimulated but not burnt out. It's a good balance.

St. Johns Parish Day School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 09, 2016
- a parent
Yes, they give respect to their students and with that respect they set good examples. This allows their students to respect them as well.

St. Johns Parish Day School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 09, 2016
- a parent
I definitely feel there is compassion and empathy for their students. Everyone from the Head of School down to the After Care staff. They are always caring and wanting to do more. They really are great!


St. Johns Parish Day School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 09, 2016
- a parent
Absolutely! I have only positive things to say about St. John's. I feel they were honest with me from the beginning and it's warm learning environment and diverse population proves it.

St. Johns Parish Day School 5

Posted May 09, 2016
- a parent
This is our first year at St. John's and we are extremely pleased. I could not ask for a kinder staff and our daughter loves it! She is happy to go to school every day and comes home full of enthusiastic stories. She has always had strong math skills and not only has her love for math continued, but we have seen her confidence in reading grow which is so comforting.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Johns Parish Day School
9130 Frederick Road, Ellicott City, MD  21042
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 112 reviews. (410) 465-7644
Last modified St. Johns Parish Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-5
Top