Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Veterans Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 25, 2014

Amazingly awesome. Dedicated teachers. Smart students. Engaged administration. I can't say enough good things about this school. There are reasons that houses in this district cost so much!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2014

I am a third grader here and I think this school is great. The teachers and staff are remarkably kind and each and every individual who works here seems willing to help any of us in any way possible. I actually enjoy coming to school because of the wonderful and positive atmosphere created by everyone. Thank you Veterans Elementary school for being here for me, and I think I speak on behalf of everyone.


Posted April 13, 2013

This school is by far the worst educational facility I have aver witnessed. From screaming children going ballistic to horrible average test scores, this school is a wretched mess!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2013

Such a wonderful learning community at Veterans Elementary School! My children have thrived with the support of quality staff members and a strong administrative team. We are very pleased with this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2011

My daughter attends VES. The teachers are so supportive and she really seems to thrive there. The PTA is amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2011

I have my two kids studying in this schools. Teachers are Excellent. Principal is Excellent. Overall this is an Excellent School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2011

This school is excellent. My children have been attending Veterans since it opened in 2007. It is diverse, but the kids all seem to have a great time and get along, as kids tend to do. There is plenty of support services. The PTA is very active. The teachers I have met have been extremely enthusiastic about working here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2011

My children have been attending since Veterans Elementary School (VES) opened in 2007. Since its opening, the school has had a vastly diverse student population. The teachers, administration and PTA do a wonderful job raising cultural awareness by embracing the vast diversity. The teachers are dedicated and sincere in all of their efforts with the students. The administration is proactive and never let budget concerns cloud their mission focus. The PTA is very active and make a positive difference not only in the school, but also in the community with their charitable efforts. My oldest son will be graduating from VES this year. I can only hope that our experience at Dunloggin Middle School will be half as wonderful as it has been at VES. Thankfully, I will still be connected with VES since my youngest son has two more years there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2010

I have been teaching at Veterans Elementary School since it opened in in 2007. I am thrilled to be part of a community where students and their needs come first. We have a very large and diverse student population, and the staff is dedicated to understanding and appreciating each child and their learning style. We have a supportive PTA at Veterans - one of the best I have ever worked with.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 23, 2010

This school deserves MORE than 5 stars! BRAC aspect - they were on our side even when we were considering where the best schools were in Howard County. 2nd our daughter has Aspergers/PPDNOS. Everyone almost seemed like a dream getting her IEP meeting and enrollment to get her placed (in less than two weeks before school started). Because VES is a bay school for special ed, that's another reason we wanted her there. She was placed in a mainstream Kindergarten with proper OT, Special Ed assistance so not to take away from the other kids' needs. From Principal Bruce, the administration ladies to her teacher and the bus drivers - we are tremendously blessed! I also volunteered there weekly to see how the staff works wth these children. An outstanding school in so many ways but there's not enough room here. All questions treated with respect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

The PTA publishes an entire school directory for parents, including class lists. They went home in October. You can check in the office for extras. The PTA also sponsors social events (most are free) almost every month. They even schedule summer playdates! Make sure you are reading the weekly newsletter so you know about all of the fantastic social events Veterans has.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

My daughter attends 1st grade in Veterans Elementary, and we are happy with the school so far. Academically, the school is strong and participates in district-wide G&T program. The presence of the program gives parents the insentive to study with the students additionally, and many do. This is a great school for parents who want to see their child challenged in school . Teachers are not exceptional, but we have not had any problems to date. Socially, the school enforces discipline well, but does not promote friendships (for example, parents don't have class lists with phone numbers to make playdates etc). The building is brand new, classrooms are sunny, playground is large.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2010

I have a son in the 1st grade and we love his teacher. She has high energy and knows just how to hold the interest of her class. As a whole the school has many supports being both staff and parents. This is our second year and we are very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 43% 6%
White 34% 42%
Black 14% 35%
Hispanic 5% 12%
Two or more races 4% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 21%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4355 Montgomery Rd
Ellicott City, MD 21043
Phone: (410) 313-1700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Children's Manor Montessori
Ellicott City, MD





St. Johns Parish Day School
Ellicott City, MD


Linwood Center
Ellicott City, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT