Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Ellicott City, MD
Students enrolled: 997
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Veterans Elementary School 4

Posted November 13, 2014
- a parent
Overall, Veterans is a good school but it can be better. We have been at this school since it's inception and over the years, there have been positives and negatives. The most positive aspect of this school continues to be the exceptionally talented, intelligent, and caring principal. If it were not for this principal, we would have moved away from this area and chosen to go to a better elementary school. There are also a handful of teachers who stand out in having lasting positive effects in terms of building up the self-esteem and academic efforts of children. Unfortunately, there are some teachers who are not as invested in caring about the individual child's social and academic progress and instead, have reputations as being overly strict, unapproachable, biased and humorless. With the onset of common core, there seems to have developed, more negative attitudes and incompetencies among some teachers. The most negative aspect of this school, however, is the overcrowding. Our children had to endure several years of having limited access to the playground (e.g., can only walk on the blacktop), overly stringent lunchtime procedures and minimal oversight of bullying behaviors.

Veterans Elementary School 5

Posted August 18, 2014
- a parent
This school is a gem. It's filled with caring, dedicated teachers, a principal (Robert Bruce) who seems to be highly respected by his staff and by parents, and a diverse, well-rounded, engaged student body. The teachers and administration contribute to a fun atmosphere for the students. My children know that VES is a place to work hard and play hard. They have moved onto middle school without trouble. VES gave them a great foundation.


Veterans Elementary School 5

Posted June 25, 2014
- a parent
Amazingly awesome. Dedicated teachers. Smart students. Engaged administration. I can't say enough good things about this school. There are reasons that houses in this district cost so much!

Veterans Elementary School 5

Posted February 15, 2014
- a community member
I am a third grader here and I think this school is great. The teachers and staff are remarkably kind and each and every individual who works here seems willing to help any of us in any way possible. I actually enjoy coming to school because of the wonderful and positive atmosphere created by everyone. Thank you Veterans Elementary school for being here for me, and I think I speak on behalf of everyone.

Veterans Elementary School 1

Posted April 13, 2013
- a parent
This school is by far the worst educational facility I have aver witnessed. From screaming children going ballistic to horrible average test scores, this school is a wretched mess!


Veterans Elementary School 5

Posted January 05, 2013
- a parent
Such a wonderful learning community at Veterans Elementary School! My children have thrived with the support of quality staff members and a strong administrative team. We are very pleased with this school!

Veterans Elementary School 5

Posted October 13, 2011
- a parent
My daughter attends VES. The teachers are so supportive and she really seems to thrive there. The PTA is amazing!

Veterans Elementary School 5

Posted March 18, 2011
- a parent
I have my two kids studying in this schools. Teachers are Excellent. Principal is Excellent. Overall this is an Excellent School.


Veterans Elementary School 5

Posted March 12, 2011
- a parent
This school is excellent. My children have been attending Veterans since it opened in 2007. It is diverse, but the kids all seem to have a great time and get along, as kids tend to do. There is plenty of support services. The PTA is very active. The teachers I have met have been extremely enthusiastic about working here.

Veterans Elementary School 5

Posted January 27, 2011
- a parent
My children have been attending since Veterans Elementary School (VES) opened in 2007. Since its opening, the school has had a vastly diverse student population. The teachers, administration and PTA do a wonderful job raising cultural awareness by embracing the vast diversity. The teachers are dedicated and sincere in all of their efforts with the students. The administration is proactive and never let budget concerns cloud their mission focus. The PTA is very active and make a positive difference not only in the school, but also in the community with their charitable efforts. My oldest son will be graduating from VES this year. I can only hope that our experience at Dunloggin Middle School will be half as wonderful as it has been at VES. Thankfully, I will still be connected with VES since my youngest son has two more years there.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Veterans Elementary School
4355 Montgomery Rd, Ellicott City, MD  21043
(410) 313-1700
Last modified Veterans Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Veterans Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top