Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Centennial High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 12, 2005

If you want to find out what is really going on at Centennial go to the following links: http://chs-ptsa.org http://chs-ptsa.org/CHSQuicknotes http://centennialonline.org
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2005

That previous comment is the most racist/prejudice remark I've read so far here. So what if the school has a large percentage of Asians? How can you say Wilde Lake is diverse when there are exceedingly more African-Americans than other minorities. How can you also say that Wilde Lake is a better school when academically, it is doing far worse than Centennial? As a student, I have also never heard this term, 'Chentennial' amongst my peers. I believe Centennial is an excellent school for EVERYONE and deserves far more praise than the previous comment.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted March 14, 2005

That last posting is appalling. I wish the person that posted that could have sent his/her daughter to another school too and make room for students who aren't raised by racist parents. Centennial continues to lead the county in test scores year after year. It is an excellent school regardless of the ethnicity of the students. I couldn't care less if my child was in a class full of polka dotted children as long as he is being challenged by his teachers and fellow classmates.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2005

I feel that the school has too many asian students. I have heard rumors of people calling the school 'Chentennial' instead of Centennial. This is a redicule and I feel that in order to fix this problem, the school needs to be more diverse, like Wilde Lake. Wilde Lake is the most diverse school in the county and I feel that this school is the best out of them all. Mr. Whitaker is a wonderful principal, and I wish my daughter could have gone to that school like my son. I wish they never redistricted us. Thanks for your time. Good-night.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 23, 2004

Centennial is a good school to graduate from but it is a school where the elitist attitude amongst the students is too high. Education there is great but the students are overall too spoiled to care about doing anything important in life. Athletically, there is some talent but no heart whatsoever. The extracurricular activities as a whole are good but students would not do them if their parents did not push them to. Every rumor about the kids being stuck up snobs is very true for these kids are completely useless without their parents demands.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2004

Excellent programs; top quality academic preparation, most involved parents; challenged and challenging students - adds up to a high school preparation that will insure student success. Exceeds expectations which were high going in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2004

With the change in principal, Centennial can look forward to harmonious relationship with all faculty members, not just a few as it was in the past. The teachers are among the best I have ever seen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2004

There are some very involved and challenging teachers at Centennial. However, the administration is completely disorganized and at odds with the guidance counselors. This school needs to have a complete regime change. It's a shame that so many good kids and teachers can be so adversely effected by maladjusted and unchecked leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

My daughter is a sophomore this year and she loves Centennial High School. Most of the teachers are great, and the students are very kind and friendly. I think the school offers valuable challenges to help her gain the knowledge she will need to move on to college.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra

The state average for Algebra was 84% in 2013.

369 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

382 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
English II

The state average for English II was 83% in 2013.

387 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland High School Assessments (HSA) to test students in English 2, Algebra, and Biology upon completion of each course. The HSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. Students are required to pass the tests in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 31% 6%
Black 7% 35%
Two or more races 5% 4%
Hispanic 4% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 7%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4300 Centennial Ln
Ellicott City, MD 21042
Phone: (410) 313-2856

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Homewood School
Ellicott City, MD




Mount Hebron High School
Ellicott City, MD



Howard High School
Ellicott City, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT