Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
39 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 54 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Centennial High School 5

Posted June 06, 2016
- a parent
Centennial High School has excellent teachers, involved parents and academically competitive students with tremendous school pride.

Centennial High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted January 14, 2016
- a student
no. just no. lots of kids cheat believe it or not. they try to develop integrity and honesty, but it doesn't work quite as well as the administration thinks.


Centennial High School 2

Posted January 14, 2016
- a student
it's okay. teachers aren't very good. it's mostly friends motivating each other. don't expect to fit in new people!

Centennial High School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted January 14, 2016
- a student
I agree what the person before me has said. It really is competitive here. But only if you hang out with the right crowd, then you'll be competitive.

Centennial High School 2

Posted September 15, 2015
- a parent
Academically, the school is fine -- but because of the students, not the teachers. The neighborhood is affluent and parents are educated and set high expectations for their children. With only a few exceptions, the teachers put in their time and teach to the tests. Overall, the school administration is incompetent. The best administrators in the county go to the more difficult schools and Centennial gets the second and third string. There are actually more cliques among the parents than there are among the kids and there are MANY helicopter parents who are always advocating for their children over others. That leads to a lot of favoritism and bias. For example, this year the JV football coach favors one player whose parent works for Under Armor and provides swag for the coaches and dumps on all of the other players. Consequently, there is no team spirit. Administration knows and does nothing. I wish my kids went to a school with fewer pampered parents and kids and actually learned how to deal with real world problems.


Centennial High School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted September 15, 2015
- a parent
Students are nice to one another but there is alot of parent driven bias from the teachers.

Centennial High School 1

Posted August 15, 2015
- a community member
I graduated from Centennial in 2009 and I would NEVER send my children here. People get so caught up on the good test scores that they ignore all the other horrible things. Teachers are elitist and snobby. Enormous bullying and clique issue. If you're not filthy rich don't expect to be treated well. Parents and teachers put so much pressure on getting perfect scores, getting into the perfect college, getting perfect grades that none of the students were happy, In fact everyone was stressed constantly. 0 school spirit or morale our senior pep rally fell silent multiple times because nobody liked eachother or the school. Our principal continually added new and ridiculous restrictions on the school for no apparent reason. AVOID at all costs. I'd much rather have gone to high school with lower testing scores and grades and a more welcome community.

Centennial High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted August 05, 2015
- a community member
Front office doesn't care at all. Kevin Dorsey is probably the worst front office administrator I have ever seen.


Centennial High School 3

Posted August 05, 2015
- a community member
Centennial is pretty overrated. It isn't the powerhouse school it used to be, and now with some of it's math and physics teachers retiring, this school is going to have a significant drop off. Lastly, the front office administration is pretty horrible. Don't spend all the extra money for real estate in order to go to centennial because right now, it simply is not worth it. A lot of the past reviews say good things about Centennial, and I agree with most of those reviews. However, Centennial has been going on a downward slump for years now, and Riverhill, Marriots Ridge, and Atholton are probably better alternatives right now.

Centennial High School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted August 05, 2015
- a community member
If Siegert and Eisenstein didn't just retire, I would have given higher rating. I don't see how Centennial will be able to replace them.

Nearby schools

Centennial High School
4300 Centennial Ln, Ellicott City, MD  21042
(410) 313-2856
Last modified Centennial High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top