Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Centennial Lane Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 699 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 11, 2014

My child was extremely frustrated and complained that the math class was too easy.For 2 months, my 2nd grader's HW consisted of learning how to subtract 0 from a number which my child had learned in Kindergarten.Other math classes in the 2nd grade were doing a lot more.We had great difficulty getting the school to acknowledge how the math classes had been assigned.No assessment had been given at the beginning of the school year.Teachers relied on the opinion of the previous year's teacher.I visited my child's math class in person.2 adults were lecturing 2 different groups of children on the same material at the same time.What a din!My child and a couple others were told to stay at their desks and do a worksheet.The worksheet covered new material that they had never gotten HW on and which had been explained to them in class 2 days prior--like they were supposed to remember!Another child was impulsively darting about the room.Between the noise from the 2 adults and the running around, it was chaotic.I thought I was watching a 3-ring circus.I don't know how any child could think.I tried to get my child moved to another math class, but the school wouldn't budge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2014

This school doesn't believe in textbooks. Teachers instead use worksheets which fly around in a disorganized fashion and get lost. Without textbooks, the students have nothing to refer back to when learning new material, forcing reliance on parental assistance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2014

The Core curriculum for second grade math is extremely poor. The vast majority of second graders have been spending their year relearning the same addition facts that they learned in first grade. Some classes were eventually exposed to double digit addition which was taught in the most convoluted, confusing manner imaginable. The teachers can't seem to understand why so many students and parents have complained.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2014

Communication between the teachers and parents is poor. Some of the teachers seem to intentionally withhold or provide misleading information. It's almost impossible to get a straight answer out of anybody. The principal is more inclined to do nothing than to provide assistance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

This school worst offenders of Special Education. My Son's Special Ed Teacher didn't send even one work sample. When asked about it she conveniently told he helps in class. To my astonishment she does 2 pull out lessons for my son. His general Education Teacher produced work sample from january for the meeting in April. Coincidentally I got 2 test samples from school, which my son definitely has difficulty but they were not shared for the meeting. Here teachers are big liars. By the way my son is in 3rd grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2013

This is an excellent school. We've seen several schools as we move with the military. High academic standards, amazing music program, Fantastic G/T teachers, very organized as far as placing your child into the correct math/reading levels when you first arrive, nice media center, good teachers, good school nurse, wonderful guidance counselor. We are very happy with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2011

I feel the comments for this school are a bit dated. This school has some pros and cons like any school. I do feel that the front office staff could use a bit of improvement. Along with that, There is a lack of communication that flows from certain teachers to parents and this needs to be worked on. I do think though that this is due to the large enrollment number but still communication is vital. The curriculum for the students is challenging, more challenging than other public schools. My child was encouraged to go above and beyond their ability. The school has a wonderful gifted environment in Academics and Music. Just FYI, If you do not take private music lessons, keeping up with music here is difficult. The diversity is wonderful and there are many activities that go on within the school. There is a wonderful playgroup for incoming Kindergarteners. All in all, this school is wonderful, but is no better then other Howard County Schools which I feel was the stereotype I heard when speaking with people in the community. In the various Howard County Schools I have seen, all are wonderful and strong in their own merit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

My 2 grandchildren are very happy there and are being educated to the fullest extent of their abilities. They have been willing to make the necessary accomadations for my grandson, who is above grade level in intellence but on grade level in behavior and to make sure he is challlenged.


Posted June 30, 2007

Teachers are excellent. Very high standards in education and parents are very oriented towards making sure their kids learn. Mr. Bruce was an excellent principal. Not sure on the new one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2006

I attened this school in 1980-1985 and didn't care to much as a child. But then last year 2005, we had to attend the school for a month. We are from New Orelans and needed a 1st grade class for my son while we were evacuated. And not only did he love it, we did too. Keep up the good work, we are back hme now, but if ever need to come back Centennial is the one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2006

Definitely one of the best schools in the state! Each child receives individual attention tailored to their learning skills and levels. The teachers all go out of their way to help the students. Mr. Bruce (the principal) is very friendly and always willing to listen. The parent involvement is also phenomenal! It's easy to see why this school is a Blue Ribbon winner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2005

This is a marvelous school. It is a 2004 Maryland State and National Blue Ribbon School. Very inviting and academically challenging.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

139 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
98%

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
98%

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

135 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

135 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
99%

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

136 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 35% 6%
Two or more races 7% 4%
Black 5% 35%
Hispanic 4% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 5%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • School psychologist
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School psychologist
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3825 Centennial Ln
Ellicott City, MD 21042
Phone: (410) 313-2800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Johns Parish Day School
Ellicott City, MD




Crossroads Adventist School
Ellicott City, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT