Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Ellicott City, MD
 

3 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Dunloggin Middle School 5

Posted September 30, 2013
- a parent
We moved from North over here; and my son enjoys the school a lot, and I have found the staff and especially the young principal very helpful, coordinating and courteous. And I believe the Principal along with the vice principal does have vision for the school and the student success. We the parents must appreciate that and also help to achieve the determined goals. The school teacher are skilled and wonderful people.

Dunloggin Middle School 5

Posted October 19, 2012
- a teacher
hey the parent who said zeros should not be given guess what according to hcpss curriculum middle school is supposed to show students events that will happen in high school with the childs actions in middle school where it does not count as much your child needs to grow the heck up or he or she is in for a very very rude awakening over at the high school


Dunloggin Middle School 2

Posted June 08, 2011
- a parent
Not impressed with this school. I have heard on several occasions the teachers work here because they can't get into any of the good schools. You generally get the feeling they don't want parents around. Treat kids like they are High Schools. Middle school is hard enough, cut the kids some slack. Maybe take point away if assignment is late not a ZERO...Its MIDDLE SCHOOL.... A couple teachers are nice and actually care about students The counselors and teachers have used the EXCUSE of well you know we have X amount of kids to keep track of. I don't care about X amounts of kids..you should know MY CHILDS name. They are children not a student id number. Wish I could transfer to Patapsco Middle.
1 person found this helpful

Dunloggin Middle School 5

Posted April 10, 2011
- a community member
awesome school. Stellar teachers and hands on curriculum. The principal is not afraid to confront rowdy students, and very few students dare to challenge Ms. Jones's iron law. The curriculum is very challenging and never fails to exceed expectations.

Dunloggin Middle School 5

Posted March 05, 2011
- a parent
Dunloggin is a very good school. Parents making negative comments need to understand that this is no longer elementary school. The children in this age group are transitioning into teenagers and that requires a different form of discipline in order to foster effective learning. Responsibilities are shifting to make them more independent and that is why the testing and repetition is stressed at this level. I think this Dunloggin is a great school and I am quite satisfied with my daughter's progress thusfar.


Dunloggin Middle School 1

Posted January 02, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Dunloggin Middle School 0
no rating

Posted December 23, 2009
- a parent
The teachers do a great job in spite of constant poor decisions about the leadership of the school made by an inept administration. The students had to suffer the following due to a program enacted by the Principal of this school: 7 MSA tests/per day every Monday and Friday: time taken out of core subjects, daily, to prepare for the state MSA; PE and art teachers teaching reading skills such as prefixes and suffixes; an obvious decrease in staff morale affecting the students. Until the parents complained, our children were missing valuable time away from their core subjects in order to increase scores for a state test (a 'school report card') for our school which already scores in the 90's for both math and reading. Thank goodness my child will graduate and leave this school so he can no longer be affected by this Principal's poor decisions.

Dunloggin Middle School 5

Posted November 18, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Dunloggin Middle School 4

Posted October 14, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Dunloggin Middle School 5

Posted September 10, 2009
- a student
The teachers here are great, it is clean, and the students do not ever bully! This is a great school, and I would recomend it. The only thing I would like to say that is bad is that there can be a lot of homework at a time. This is a great school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dunloggin Middle School
9129 Northfield Rd, Ellicott City, MD  21042
(410) 313-2831
Last modified Dunloggin Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Dunloggin Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top