Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Howard High School

Public | 9-12 | 1699 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 11, 2013

I'm presently a parent of a sophomore and even though she complains about the rigorous academic challenge I know that this school is great for her future. The staff and teachers are phenomenal and work with you to ensure their students have a great Future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

Am so happy that my son was in this school...all his teachers were amazing and the principal and counselors have done so much to support him. It has been a truly fantastic four years here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2013

By far the best school in the HCPSS. I'm a sophomore here, my older brother spent 3 years here, and my younger brother is an incoming freshman. The school is great. There are many classes you can take-for whatever interests you. There's a great science and math program. Also, the electives you can take have a wide range. From computer science to art to strength and conditioning to principles of business. There's everything. The students are much disciplined and know the consequences of their actions. The administrators are really in it for the best interest of the kids. Howard's sports are up and coming and have been successful in the past. Also, the school offers an Army JROTC program that many students are enrolled in because f the discipline learned. My dad and two aunts graduated from here, and like them, I love it and can't wait to be a proud graduate in 2015.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 31, 2010

Howard High is a first class school. The principal Ms. Massella has done an amazing job turning this school into a top performing high school. We are so lucky to have her leadership and a highly qualified staff. 10 years ago, this school was being run to the ground, poor leadership and many teachers just there doing their own thing. Now it's like an academy. Fabulous school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The classes are rigorous, the students rise to the rigorous standards, and the teachers are totally dedicated to the success of the students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 23, 2009

I am a past grad form Howard High. It is great school with amazing teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2009

I am very happy with Howard High. Parents in the county need to start looking at the performance of this school and not look at past perceptions. Howard is now outperforming schools such as Mt. Hebron in science for example and has significantly improved academic scores in the last few years. Look at the data and do not listen to parents from other schools who want to keep Howard High 'down'. The renovations and Ms.Massella have had a very big positive impact.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2008

This is a wonderful school. The 'rumors' are just that, rumors from when the previous principal was there. Gina Massella is an amazing administrator and has done wonderful things to bring Howard High School out of the dumps. It's a first rate school and I'm proud my child goes there. Thank you to the caring sstaff and wonderful principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2008

Several years ago we were new to the county and had no preconceptions, just heard that Howard was old and terrible. One child graduated, is attending UMBC and was fully prepared at Howard for high levels of math and science classes. I still have 2 children there. The teachers are concerned about the students welfare. The new additions to the school make it difficult to remember that it is 50 years old. There are all kinds of after school activities that are always well attended. Howard is a great school with a caring principal. The students have pride in where they go and are fully prepared for the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2007

My son had to transfer from MT Hebron to Howard High because we moved to a larger home in Ellicott City. We tried our best to keep our son at Hebron because we did not hear a lot of good things about Howard, however we were told that he had to attend because he was just entering the 10th grade. I am glad to report that we are quite happy with the school, the teachers and the principal. We do not understand why the school had gotten such a negative reputation. We are quite pleased with the school. The class sizes are smaller then what we were use to at MT Hebron. There is also a good mixture of seasoned and younger teachers similar to what we experienced at MT Hebron. Howard keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2006

I have 2 sons currently attending Howard High and I have had nothing but good experiences. I think that Howard High is a wonderful school. The staff is always will to help and alwys very pleasant.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2006

This is the smallest high school in Howard County and was a good fit for my daughter who came from private school. Teachers are involved and interested in the kids. We are new to the county and was told it had a bad reputation, but we see no evidence of that. Very Nice School
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra

The state average for Algebra was 84% in 2013.

418 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

418 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
English II

The state average for English II was 83% in 2013.

420 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland High School Assessments (HSA) to test students in English 2, Algebra, and Biology upon completion of each course. The HSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. Students are required to pass the tests in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 42%
Black 20% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 6%
Two or more races 9% 4%
Hispanic 6% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 11%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8700 Old Annapolis Rd
Ellicott City, MD 21043
Phone: (410) 313-2867

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Taylor School
Ellicott City, MD



Centennial High School
Ellicott City, MD


Linwood Center
Ellicott City, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT