Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Ellicott City, MD
Students enrolled: 1,699

5 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Howard High School 5

Posted November 11, 2013
- a parent
I'm presently a parent of a sophomore and even though she complains about the rigorous academic challenge I know that this school is great for her future. The staff and teachers are phenomenal and work with you to ensure their students have a great Future.

Howard High School 5

Posted June 04, 2013
- a parent
Am so happy that my son was in this school...all his teachers were amazing and the principal and counselors have done so much to support him. It has been a truly fantastic four years here.


Howard High School 5

Posted May 15, 2013
- a student
By far the best school in the HCPSS. I'm a sophomore here, my older brother spent 3 years here, and my younger brother is an incoming freshman. The school is great. There are many classes you can take-for whatever interests you. There's a great science and math program. Also, the electives you can take have a wide range. From computer science to art to strength and conditioning to principles of business. There's everything. The students are much disciplined and know the consequences of their actions. The administrators are really in it for the best interest of the kids. Howard's sports are up and coming and have been successful in the past. Also, the school offers an Army JROTC program that many students are enrolled in because f the discipline learned. My dad and two aunts graduated from here, and like them, I love it and can't wait to be a proud graduate in 2015.

Howard High School 5

Posted March 29, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Howard High School 5

Posted January 31, 2010
- a parent
Howard High is a first class school. The principal Ms. Massella has done an amazing job turning this school into a top performing high school. We are so lucky to have her leadership and a highly qualified staff. 10 years ago, this school was being run to the ground, poor leadership and many teachers just there doing their own thing. Now it's like an academy. Fabulous school!


Howard High School 5

Posted October 18, 2009
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Howard High School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a teacher
The classes are rigorous, the students rise to the rigorous standards, and the teachers are totally dedicated to the success of the students.

Howard High School 0
no rating

Posted August 23, 2009
- a parent
I am a past grad form Howard High. It is great school with amazing teachers.


Howard High School 5

Posted June 09, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Howard High School 0
no rating

Posted May 18, 2009
- a parent
I am very happy with Howard High. Parents in the county need to start looking at the performance of this school and not look at past perceptions. Howard is now outperforming schools such as Mt. Hebron in science for example and has significantly improved academic scores in the last few years. Look at the data and do not listen to parents from other schools who want to keep Howard High 'down'. The renovations and Ms.Massella have had a very big positive impact.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Howard High School
8700 Old Annapolis Rd, Ellicott City, MD  21043
(410) 313-2867
Last modified Howard High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Howard High School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top