Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Patapsco Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 19, 2013

The principal and certain staff members are unprofessional, I feel as if they can improve greatly. Some teachers do not do much for the kids who are struggling, I even witnessed a teacher who called a kid "pathetic" because he did not meet her expectations which are quite high since some students are not as physically athletic as others, and that was only one incident.


Posted April 30, 2010

Patapsco Middle school is very good. I was initially concerned because of redistricting. I have a 7th grader who has had some struggles adapting. The school worked with us to help him get on track. They have a very caring administration and teachers. We LOVED the 6th grade team. The 7th grade team has been very good as well. Some teachers are inconsistent or not yet using web pages for homework but most are. Communication with teachers is encouraged and they respond and partner with parents to educate their children. Academically the school has programs for those struggling. It also has many advanced classes. There is a larger portion 7th graders in GT classes than regular classes. Books are sent home to stay home for homework. Scholastic Saturdays are offered for children to receive free tutoring and other help from Mt Hebron students. The principal is wonderful and continually seeks improvements.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2009

This school lacks administrative experience and leadership. It does not provide a friendly environment and ignores the bullies among kids. Moreover, instead of helping children who is challenged by the school environment, they pressure and isolate them. They handled student s incidence unprofessionally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2008

I love the school. The teachers have took tome to help me and to understand me and the ways I learn. The teachers are nice, funny, kind. and helpful. I verry happy I moved here last year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2008

i t does great with learning just take more time on going over questions they dont get or all questioons
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 6, 2008

I have a 7th grade boy at this school and we have had a great 2 years here. We were apprehensive about middle school in general, but my son only knew 7 other kids when he came in as a 6th grader, but had no problem fitting in, and he's fairly shy. We loved all of the 6th grade teachers, very committed and supportive and enthusiastic. I love the new principal. 7th grade has also been excellent, I find the teachers in this grade to be on the ball as well. I would definately recommend Patapsco Middle school. There's also lots of extra-curricular activities, and a strong community with parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2007

Having a student begin middle school was traumatic! However, we found Patapsco filled with great teachers & leadership. My son was challenged to his potential and rewarded for his accomplishments.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2007

My child has been at Patapsco for 2 years. I am thrilled with the new principal, who joined the school at the beginning of the 2006-07 academic year. She seems interested in parent feedback and seems to run a well-organized office. The major weakness I have experienced is a lack of adequate and prompt parent-teacher communication. For example, it wasn't until I received a quarterly progress report that I learned my child wasn't turning in assignments or wasn't completing assignments according to the teacher's instructions. Also, even though my special needs student, who is in GT classes, gets good grades, she could be doing much better and needs a little help in the classroom. When I talked with the guidance counselor about related issues, I felt that she just didn't 'get' the problem. I'm not thrilled with how students who are not on an IEP or 504 plan are handled there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2006

Patapsco is a school with much potential, except that it lacks competent administration. Although this school has a handful of teachers which are excellent (whose skills would be best placed at more 'progressive-minded' schools), that is not enough to give a 'thumbs-up' to support registering your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

192 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

192 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

193 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

193 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

193 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 24% 6%
Black 9% 35%
Hispanic 6% 12%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 9%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8885 Old Frederick Rd
Ellicott City, MD 21043
Phone: (410) 313-2848

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Crossroads Adventist School
Ellicott City, MD


Linwood Center
Ellicott City, MD



Dunloggin Middle School
Ellicott City, MD



Taylor School
Ellicott City, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT