Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

St. Johns Lane Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 552 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 4, 2014

The school appears safe and the kids appear to be learning. If you can make it past the unwelcoming front office and principal who is more like a warden for a maximum security prison you may get to see some great teachers. But it seems much of this school is being run by ladies who may be burnt out with their jobs and are just counting down til retirement. We are a military family and have had the pleasure of being involved with many schools over the years, and this one is the least impressive from a leadership standpoint. If the vice principal ultimately takes over, I am hopeful some necessary changes will occur. The parental involvement is great and the community feel of the school thrives on despite the negativity of the administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

Despite the lack of Administrative involvement, SJLES continues to be a great school, thanks to the Teaching staff and the volume of parental involvement. The Administration is poor at best. Paper pushing absentee leadership who only show their faces when Politically advantageous. If you like hollow lip service this is the administration for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2011

Excellent academic program and caring teachers. A complete approach to education. Environment promotes critical thinking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2010

This is a very nice school. my kids feel safe and happy always at that school. I recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

My two sons are students at St. John's Lane. We arrived to this school from another county this school year. I am very pleased with their progress and the dedication of their teachers, all the teachers. The PTA is very active, with a lot of volunteers, the office staff is always so friendly and helpful, and I particularly like the way my children's teachers have encouraged my kids to strive for their best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2008

My daughter, who is now in middle school, attended St. John's Lane, and my son is currently is 2nd grade. I have always enjoyed this school and staff. It has particularly improved since the redistricting this past year. The school is evenly diverse and we have a strong parental community and PTA. In fact, the PTA has just been granted the PTA Unit Achievement Award by the National PTA for 2007-08! I am very proud to be a part of the St. John's Lane community. J. Ross, Parent and Local Business Owner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2008

My son is in 4th grade and has just transferred to this school because of a district boundary change. We love it here. My son has flourished and loves going to school every day. The ethnic mix has changed greatly due to the opening of a new school, and we are very pleased with the staff, the teachers, and especially the extra activities offered. My son is in the advanced math class, and the teacher is excellent. There are many extra activities including MESA (Mat, Engineering, and Science Advnetures), Robots, Art, Spanish, and many more. The music teacher is also excellent. My son plays the cello and was in the chorus. The parent community is very strong, which reflects the surrounding community. Most of the kids will go on to middle school together, then on to HS as well. It's nice that they will be together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2007

St. John's Lane has to be one of the most racially diverse (balanced) schools in Maryland. staff is very friendly and helpful. although there doesn't seem to be a lot of parent involvement, the PTA arranges nice events. My child had problems with bullying and although the school claims they are anti-bullying, I was not pleased with the way bully issues were addressed. Problems on the bus weren't taken seriously by administrators. Also, if your kid is academically advanced in grade k don't expect them to be challenged here. My child was bored beyond tolerance with the the redundant worksheets and creativity-suppressing assignments, he learned and internalized very little . The school doesn't seem to offer much to academically advanced kids until they reach the higher grades. child wasn't encouraged to express ideas/opinions on thought provoking topics. Is it true that you can only find at private schools?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2007

Our daughters love this school! There are so many great teachers who give them lots of personal attention and support. I'm amazed at how much they've learned. St. John's Lane is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

131 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
97%

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
99%

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 6%
Hispanic 6% 12%
Black 5% 35%
Two or more races 5% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 3%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • School psychologist
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School psychologist
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2960 Saint Johns Ln
Ellicott City, MD 21042
Phone: (410) 313-2813

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Crossroads Adventist School
Ellicott City, MD



St. Johns Parish Day School
Ellicott City, MD


Linwood Center
Ellicott City, MD


Waverly Elementary School
Ellicott City, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT