Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Worthington Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

I also agree with the Sep2013 rating. I also wanted to add that the first grade teachers lack the qualifications. Not sure about the others yet. They try to drive to be disciplinary, rather than educative (if that's a word). They need to make the classes more exciting for the kids. Since they are not the kids are disruptive and then the teachers complain. Good teachers will do that, others will complain about those disruptive kids,These guys follow the later. One of the parents I know, whose kid was not attentive got the following answer from the first grade lead "We can't really focus on your child only when we have over 20 in class" . Really!!!!!!!!!! My heart sank as a parent. To wrap up, the principal needs to start taking action. The school is need of a lot of turnover for its teachers. Then get them back to focus on the kids and not their inconveniences. Change the first grade team leader, strong leadership will follow below. She has no ideas, believe me. As for the principal, its now or never. If you don't act in 2014, you will fail for the kids you represent. Look them in their eyes and let them have the chance they deserve.Give them a great School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted yesterday

I think the school is great. Are there a few teachers that should retire? Of course! But the majority are bright and really go the extra mile to make sure that all the kids are engaged. If you would rather attend Veterans down the street, than you really are clueless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Wednesday, August 20, 2014

Still trying to keep an open mind, but I agree with the September 2013 rating. Teachers are overrated in affluent areas and underrated in poor areas. My experience with a first grade teacher last year was horrible. When challenged, she hid information about my daughter's math work and rigidly defended stupid common core math dogma. Furthermore, I think she held animosity towards my daughter as a result of our parent teacher conference. On the other hand, I really liked my daughter's kindergarten teacher(Saunderson) and I'm hoping for the best in second grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2014

I cannot agree with the September 29, 2013 post more. This school is just terrible. The teachers lack innovation in the classroom, there is minimal engagement with students, and absolutely no enthusiasm. I would venture to say the teachers are lazy and entrenched. As noted in the earlier post, the ratings are a function of the highly educated and relatively affluent attending neighborhood. High academic ratings occur in spite of the school- not because of it. My advice for those considering the neighborhood, move a mile west and go to Veterans.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2013

An awful school. Don't be fooled by the academic ratings. That is due to the neighborhood demographics, all single family homes, educated 2 parent households. The administrators from the past few years ran this school into the ground. New principal this year and I am hoping for a dramatic change! Teachers intimidate parents and withhold information about your child. A few teachers were terrific but I truly wonder why they are still there. Teachers never show up for after school activities, seem like they run from the building at the end of the day. Minimum age to work there has got to be 50+. And very few innovative teaching techniques are used. It's back to the Stone Age for this school. PE teacher is the worst!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2010

Great school great Math program...Love the teachers, individual attention, PTA is active and School teachers are willing to work with you. My kid LOVED the school, Worth the move from another county !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2010

The teachers are average and the principal is not a strong leader. The academics are average for the school system. THe school is built on a landfill, but not disclosed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

We moved here from another state with my son entering 5th grade. The school is adequate despite the nearby grounds being a landfill. Whose bright idea was it to build a school on a landfill? The outdoor playing area is subpar. My son's 5th grade teacher is nice and he seems to like her; however, the other 2 5th grade teachers are less then desirable. One in particular has a demeaning way of interacting with the students and should retire. Not impressed with this elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

This is one of the few 'small' elementary schools in Howard county with enrollment at 460 students (Sept. 09). The principal and assistant principal are very visable and really make an effort to engage parents as well as the students by welcoming them each morning in front of the school. The school atmosphere is very neighborly (as is the surrounding community). Parents are encouraged to volunteer in nearly every area of the learning environment - and parental involvement is high and welcoming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2008

Wonderful school. The participation is incredible. The principal as well as a great number of the teachers always attend the special functions put on by the PTA. The progress of the children is closely monitored and the communication between the parents and teacher is excellent. I cant recommend this school strongly enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2008

This is a wonderful neighborhood school. The kindergarten team is so enthusiastic, you can see that they enjoy what they are doing. They make learning fun!! The PTA and parents are very involved. It is very family and community oriented.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2007

Worthington Elementary is the best little school in town! The faculty has a genuine concern for the students, the parents are involved 100%, and the student population is one of the best I have ever seen! My experience thus far is flawless and I feel really blessed to be a part of this school and community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2005

Excellent school. Great academic program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

This is a very well run school. The G&T program is outstanding. The teachers are not only superior teachers, but they personally care about each and every student and what is going on in their lives. I would move to ensure that my daughter stayed in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 29% 6%
Black 7% 35%
Hispanic 4% 12%
Two or more races 4% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 3%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4570 Roundhill Rd
Ellicott City, MD 21043
Phone: (410) 313-2825

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Children's Manor Montessori
Ellicott City, MD


Veterans Elementary School
Ellicott City, MD


Ilchester Elementary School
Ellicott City, MD


Trinity School
Ellicott City, MD




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT