Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ilchester Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

We have 3 children attending Ilchester spanning the age range of the school. I am so impressed every day with how present the administration is (I see the Principal and Vice-Principal walking through the classrooms, talking to staff and students in the hallways, etc every single time I am there). With 3 kids and a total of 10 yrs in the school with at least one homeroom teacher and one math teacher per kid per year, we have experienced a large percentage of the teachers. All but one (who was still very good) have been truly exceptional, the kind of teachers you expect your kids to remember fondly their whole lives. It's telling that whenever there are open houses or events at the school, there are always a large number of kids from the middle and high school there visiting their old Ilchester teachers. Our kids happen all to be above-grade-level learners, but our next door neighbor has two children with autism who have significant cognitive, verbal, and social challenges, and she has nothing but praise for Ilchester as well. Everyone's needs are met here. The students are just lovely, and the community is too. You won't be disappointed with Ilchester. Welcome!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2013

We moved from another county to Howard County so our children could attend public school. We have been so pleased with the school --- Principal Adelman and Mr. Norfolk, and staff are truly dedicated to the children and consistently strive to maintain open lines of communication. We could not have picked a better school for our children. They are cared for and encouraged to do their best. We also enjoy the diversity among the student body.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

The teachers at Ilchester take a very personal interest in the students and that interest converts into students that feel the urgency to excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2007

My son studied 1st grade and moving to 2nd grade. Very good teachers and good syllabus. Parents involvement is needed to assist kids in their homework which is a good thing in child's career and development.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

Ilchester is providing my child with a wonderful education. These early education years will stay with him into the Middle School and High School years and are giving him such a strong foundation. We are so fortunate to attend Ilchester Elementary School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2006

My son is in 1st Grade and I would say that this is an excellent school with lot of parent and teacher involvement. This is a great school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2005

An excellent school for high achieving parents and students. Parents are required to spend time with children on homework.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2005

We have 2 children attending Ilchester and both have had the finest, most caring teachers. The parents very actively involved in the school. The students are challenged and most seem very motivated. Disciplinary problems are very rare. I doubt I could find a better school anywhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2004

My daughter has attended kindergarten and first grade here. I like the school and the teachers but I do feel that the kindergarten classes are too over crowded and the students didn't get alot of individual attention. But that improved in the first grade. My daughter likes the school better this year and she has done well here.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 16% 6%
Black 13% 35%
Two or more races 6% 4%
Hispanic 4% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 5%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4981 Ilchester Rd
Ellicott City, MD 21043
Phone: (410) 313-2524

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Trinity School
Ellicott City, MD





Children's Manor Montessori
Ellicott City, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT