Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Mount Calvary Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 155 students

Mount Calvary is known for a "Tradition of Excellence" and our S.T.E.M. focus.

 

Living in Forestville

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $120,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,150.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 11, 2014

Mount Calvary Catholic School is a wonderful school with accredited teachers, small class sizes, and lots of activities and events. Last year, a former alumni offered the entire school an opportunity to attend a Nationals baseball game and Dave Zahren visited the school. These are just a few free events that the students experienced last year. A Mount Calvary student won the Prince George's County Spelling Bee (the first time that it has been won by a Catholic school student) and participated in the Scripps National Spelling Bee, My son has attended Mount Calvary since Kindergarten and he is now in the 6th grade. He has thrived academically, socially, and spiritually. The faculty and staff want all students to excel but the parents and students have to do their part as well. If you have a positive and supportive attitude (even if you don't always agree) your child will excel here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2013

The teachers and support staff are here because they are committed to the community and our children! Despite the fact that my children are experiencing one of the most stressful situations in their little lives (husband lost his job a year ago) this school has embraced our entire family and my children have thrived! As a matter of fact they are both on honor roll for the first time!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2013

Mt. Calvary Catholic School has provided a great foundation for my daughter's educational journey. My daughter has been a student at Mt. Calvary since she was three and will be entering second grade in the Fall. Each year has prepared her for the next. It is rewarding to know that children as young as 3 are taught a full curriculum including Spanish, science, religion, math, music and english. Additionally, the love of God, self and others is always present. As a parent and a former Catholic school student, this is a great environment to be a part of. The children are consistently encouraged by the teachers and staff to do their best and it shows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

Mt. Calvary provides a great environment for learning. I find the teachers to be eager about sharing their knowledge and enlighting the children. Even though my daughter is a PreK-3 student, the teachers and staff do not treat them like babies. PreK-3 students receive a full class load just as the older kids do as oppose to just coloring. Mt. Calvary provides a great balance for a strong foundation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2009

My sons attended Mt. Calvary, graduating in 1998 & 2003. They have both experienced significant success academically & professionally, attending MIT & UMD, receiving multiple academic scholarships to attend the colleges they chose. Most importantly, they are happy in the lives they have fashioned for themselves. They are confident in their abilities. They are men to be respected and admired. Mount Calvary contributed to their development, and is proud of their success. I am an administrator for the parish & school, and have experienced many changes in my 21 years at Mt. Calvary. What I can tell you is that once again, change is in the air...exciting changes. We have a new Pastor who is completely committed to seeing the school succeed. His goal is to foster excellence in the students as well as the faculty, staff, & parent communities - so that all are invested & involved. Come see us.


Posted February 23, 2009

I have mixed feelings about Mt. Calvary. I had two sons attend the school, one in Pre-K and the other in 8th grade. While I have no complaints or issues with my youngest, the oldest come with many. I don't think the school knows how to deal with boys going through puberty and their only solution is to remove them from the school. And even when the child is trying to do better, the teachers agitate them to keep getting demerits so that they are pushed out of the school, which is what happened to my oldest son. As he was getting on track, one teacher, knowingly, threatened him with demerits and constantly held this over his head until finally, he could no longer handle it. However, the youngest learned a lot, and I felt really good with his academic success, especially his knowledge of Spanish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2009

This school is great. They have a new Principal who is quite disciplined and direct with parents and students. This principal knows how to handle these kids. Firm and Nurturung this school is one of the best in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2008

Mt. Calvary Catholic School in Forestville, MD, has a lot of problems. The current principal doesn't seem to know how to resolve them other than putting the child with the complaint out of the school or not allowing them to return the following school year. The children are off the hook. Some of them are sexually active and are very disrespectful. One teacher had a temper tantrum and threw pencils on the floor. When you complain, you become the problem instead of the person who actually committed the act. The teachers seem to cater to the children who know the work and give little attention to those who don't. I wouldn't recommend this school. You pay a lot of money and in return get nothing back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2008

The Principal of this school does not know how to handle matters involving the students and her staff's behavior. Her solution is to remove the student instead of addressing the continued problems in the school. This is why the school is deteriorating, because of poor leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2007

The atmosphere is very professional and the teachers are well qualified. Joshua's first two weeks have been good for him. He likes his teacher Ms. Jones (I like her too) and seems to have adjusted instantly. I look forward to a wonderful, exciting, learning, good year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2007

I am not the only one that has graduated from Mt. Calvary and has gone on to attend Harvard. Not only did Mt. Calvary give me the tools necessary to receive a scholarship to Bishop McNamara High School, as well as several others, but they gave me the foundation that I needed to succeed, both academically and spiritually. There is a friendly family oriented environment. The principal is especially amazing. They also have programs for those that struggle or excel in both reading and math. The reading and math specialist has been there for at least 15 years. I will forever be thankful for all that Mount Calvary has provided for my brother (c/o 2003), who has a full scholarship to college, as well as myself.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 22, 2006

My children attended Mt. Calvary School for quite some time and still attending. Yes, the school has gone through some changes just like any other school. The school is very family orientated. There are parents who are involve and some who are not. It is important that you as a parent get involve in your children's education whether it is private or public. There are great teachers and good families that makes alot of effort towards the school. The education at the school is very important and they have the necessary resources if your child is behind in reading or math. Overall the school is good academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2006

My children attended Mt. Calvary for 4 years. Education is good for the early development but when they reach the upper level grades education goes down. There's not much parent involvement in the school. Overall the school needs lots of improvement academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2006

This is a great school. I graduated this year(2006)and I am going on to McNamara on a scholarship. Mt.Calvary has prepared me for high school and I will always remeber them. Just to comment on other comments the teachers have usually been there for a while and have a lot of chemistry. They are great and I luv Mt.Clavary.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 29, 2006

I am responding to the previous negative comments. I have seen very little change in the staff in the last five years. The teachers are very dedicated! They give over 100% to help their students. The students feel safe, and there is not a discipline problem at Mount Calvary. A child can learn with a peace of mind. They have a challenging curriculum, that may not be for all students. This school does assist students with reading problems. It has a reading/math resource teacher for primary grades. She has been there for over 15 years. The students excel here academically and socially. I am very happy with this school, and I know I am not alone.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted November 21, 2005

I an an alumni of this school who graduated in 2000. I hope for the sake of the children who currently attend Mt. Calvary that it is a much better environment than when I was there, although it probably isn't. Parents - look into this school closely before you send your son or daughter to it because if you don't your probably going to want to take them right out the following school year.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 28, 2005

This school operates horribly. The teachers never stay more than a few months. They have no resource available for children with reading problems. Academically this school is rated poor!
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 93% 35%
Two or more races 4% 4%
Hispanic 1% 12%
White 1% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Arts and crafts
  • Dance club: Liturgical Dance
  • Drama club
  • Step team
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Step team

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:45 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Darcy A. Tomko
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (301) 736-5044

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Multi-aged
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • AdvancED
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Arts and crafts
  • Dance club: Liturgical Dance
  • Drama club
  • MathCounts
  • Robotics club
  • Step team
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join HSA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


6 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
40
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
70

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Archdiocesan Tuition Assistance

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Bishop McNamara High School
Elizabeth Seton High School
DeMatha Catholic High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6704 Marlboro Pike
Forestville, MD 20747
Website: Click here
Phone: (301) 735-5262

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Samuel P. Massie Academy
Forestville, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT