Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
155 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mount Calvary Catholic School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
Ms. Nowlin For her great teaching abilities and caring and Ms. Tomko for her leadership.

Mount Calvary Catholic School 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
Mt. Calavry has a warm nurturing environment with caring and dedicated teachers. My son came to Mt. Calvary from a school where is was bullied, he had begun to dread getting up and going to school. Because of his caring dedicated teacher he nows looks forward to getting up and going to school. He has become a sponge for learning. He is excelling in his studies and his test scores acknowledge this. The curriculum is superior. I recommend this school to everyone I meet.


Mount Calvary Catholic School 5

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
Mt. Calvary Catholic School has provided a great foundation for my daughter's educational journey. My daughter has been a student at Mt. Calvary since she was three and will be entering second grade in the Fall. Each year has prepared her for the next. It is rewarding to know that children as young as 3 are taught a full curriculum including Spanish, science, religion, math, music and english. Additionally, the love of God, self and others is always present. As a parent and a former Catholic school student, this is a great environment to be a part of. The children are consistently encouraged by the teachers and staff to do their best and it shows.

Mount Calvary Catholic School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 11, 2015
- a parent
Worst private school ever! Lacks resources, qualified teachers, and personable leadership. Core lower grades are combined due to lack of enrollment because of poor leadership skills, not comparable ( academically) to public, and low parent participation. School breeds as well as rewards bullies! Complaining parents will be asked to leave school!

Mount Calvary Catholic School 4

Posted September 11, 2014
- a parent
Mount Calvary Catholic School is a wonderful school with accredited teachers, small class sizes, and lots of activities and events. Last year, a former alumni offered the entire school an opportunity to attend a Nationals baseball game and Dave Zahren visited the school. These are just a few free events that the students experienced last year. A Mount Calvary student won the Prince George's County Spelling Bee (the first time that it has been won by a Catholic school student) and participated in the Scripps National Spelling Bee, My son has attended Mount Calvary since Kindergarten and he is now in the 6th grade. He has thrived academically, socially, and spiritually. The faculty and staff want all students to excel but the parents and students have to do their part as well. If you have a positive and supportive attitude (even if you don't always agree) your child will excel here.


Mount Calvary Catholic School 5

Posted November 08, 2013
- a parent
The teachers and support staff are here because they are committed to the community and our children! Despite the fact that my children are experiencing one of the most stressful situations in their little lives (husband lost his job a year ago) this school has embraced our entire family and my children have thrived! As a matter of fact they are both on honor roll for the first time!!!

Mount Calvary Catholic School
no rating

Posted October 20, 2009
- a parent
Mt. Calvary provides a great environment for learning. I find the teachers to be eager about sharing their knowledge and enlighting the children. Even though my daughter is a PreK-3 student, the teachers and staff do not treat them like babies. PreK-3 students receive a full class load just as the older kids do as oppose to just coloring. Mt. Calvary provides a great balance for a strong foundation.

Mount Calvary Catholic School 4

Posted October 17, 2009
- a community member
My sons attended Mt. Calvary, graduating in 1998 & 2003. They have both experienced significant success academically & professionally, attending MIT & UMD, receiving multiple academic scholarships to attend the colleges they chose. Most importantly, they are happy in the lives they have fashioned for themselves. They are confident in their abilities. They are men to be respected and admired. Mount Calvary contributed to their development, and is proud of their success. I am an administrator for the parish & school, and have experienced many changes in my 21 years at Mt. Calvary. What I can tell you is that once again, change is in the air...exciting changes. We have a new Pastor who is completely committed to seeing the school succeed. His goal is to foster excellence in the students as well as the faculty, staff, & parent communities - so that all are invested & involved. Come see us.


Mount Calvary Catholic School
no rating

Posted February 23, 2009
- a parent
I have mixed feelings about Mt. Calvary. I had two sons attend the school, one in Pre-K and the other in 8th grade. While I have no complaints or issues with my youngest, the oldest come with many. I don't think the school knows how to deal with boys going through puberty and their only solution is to remove them from the school. And even when the child is trying to do better, the teachers agitate them to keep getting demerits so that they are pushed out of the school, which is what happened to my oldest son. As he was getting on track, one teacher, knowingly, threatened him with demerits and constantly held this over his head until finally, he could no longer handle it. However, the youngest learned a lot, and I felt really good with his academic success, especially his knowledge of Spanish.

Mount Calvary Catholic School 4

Posted January 05, 2009
- a parent
This school is great. They have a new Principal who is quite disciplined and direct with parents and students. This principal knows how to handle these kids. Firm and Nurturung this school is one of the best in the area.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mount Calvary Catholic School
6704 Marlboro Pike, Forestville, MD  20747
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. (301) 735-5262
Last modified Mount Calvary Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top