Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Forestville, MD
Students enrolled: 155
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


25 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mount Calvary Catholic School 4

Posted September 11, 2014
- a parent
Mount Calvary Catholic School is a wonderful school with accredited teachers, small class sizes, and lots of activities and events. Last year, a former alumni offered the entire school an opportunity to attend a Nationals baseball game and Dave Zahren visited the school. These are just a few free events that the students experienced last year. A Mount Calvary student won the Prince George's County Spelling Bee (the first time that it has been won by a Catholic school student) and participated in the Scripps National Spelling Bee, My son has attended Mount Calvary since Kindergarten and he is now in the 6th grade. He has thrived academically, socially, and spiritually. The faculty and staff want all students to excel but the parents and students have to do their part as well. If you have a positive and supportive attitude (even if you don't always agree) your child will excel here.

Mount Calvary Catholic School 5

Posted November 08, 2013
- a parent
The teachers and support staff are here because they are committed to the community and our children! Despite the fact that my children are experiencing one of the most stressful situations in their little lives (husband lost his job a year ago) this school has embraced our entire family and my children have thrived! As a matter of fact they are both on honor roll for the first time!!!


Mount Calvary Catholic School 5

Posted July 16, 2013
- a parent
Mt. Calvary Catholic School has provided a great foundation for my daughter's educational journey. My daughter has been a student at Mt. Calvary since she was three and will be entering second grade in the Fall. Each year has prepared her for the next. It is rewarding to know that children as young as 3 are taught a full curriculum including Spanish, science, religion, math, music and english. Additionally, the love of God, self and others is always present. As a parent and a former Catholic school student, this is a great environment to be a part of. The children are consistently encouraged by the teachers and staff to do their best and it shows.

Mount Calvary Catholic School 0
no rating

Posted October 20, 2009
- a parent
Mt. Calvary provides a great environment for learning. I find the teachers to be eager about sharing their knowledge and enlighting the children. Even though my daughter is a PreK-3 student, the teachers and staff do not treat them like babies. PreK-3 students receive a full class load just as the older kids do as oppose to just coloring. Mt. Calvary provides a great balance for a strong foundation.

Mount Calvary Catholic School 4

Posted October 17, 2009
- a community member
My sons attended Mt. Calvary, graduating in 1998 & 2003. They have both experienced significant success academically & professionally, attending MIT & UMD, receiving multiple academic scholarships to attend the colleges they chose. Most importantly, they are happy in the lives they have fashioned for themselves. They are confident in their abilities. They are men to be respected and admired. Mount Calvary contributed to their development, and is proud of their success. I am an administrator for the parish & school, and have experienced many changes in my 21 years at Mt. Calvary. What I can tell you is that once again, change is in the air...exciting changes. We have a new Pastor who is completely committed to seeing the school succeed. His goal is to foster excellence in the students as well as the faculty, staff, & parent communities - so that all are invested & involved. Come see us.


Mount Calvary Catholic School 1

Posted July 03, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Mount Calvary Catholic School 1

Posted July 03, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Mount Calvary Catholic School 0
no rating

Posted February 23, 2009
- a parent
I have mixed feelings about Mt. Calvary. I had two sons attend the school, one in Pre-K and the other in 8th grade. While I have no complaints or issues with my youngest, the oldest come with many. I don't think the school knows how to deal with boys going through puberty and their only solution is to remove them from the school. And even when the child is trying to do better, the teachers agitate them to keep getting demerits so that they are pushed out of the school, which is what happened to my oldest son. As he was getting on track, one teacher, knowingly, threatened him with demerits and constantly held this over his head until finally, he could no longer handle it. However, the youngest learned a lot, and I felt really good with his academic success, especially his knowledge of Spanish.


Mount Calvary Catholic School 1

Posted January 14, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Mount Calvary Catholic School 4

Posted January 05, 2009
- a parent
This school is great. They have a new Principal who is quite disciplined and direct with parents and students. This principal knows how to handle these kids. Firm and Nurturung this school is one of the best in the area.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mount Calvary Catholic School
6704 Marlboro Pike, Forestville, MD  20747
(301) 735-5262
Last modified Mount Calvary Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Mount Calvary Catholic School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top