Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Samuel P. Massie Academy

Public | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 6, 2014

I love this school. I feel as though that my son has leaned a a lot since he has been here. He has improved his language and math skills and I feel as though the teachers are doing a great job. The staff there are very nice and pleasant.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2014

I am going to make it simple. THIS SCHOOL SUCKS! And I blame everything on the principal because she is the face of the school. They are not about giving your child a good education. The school is basicly a holding zone that pushes and suspends children like crazy. If you have a school in a not so good community than you need a school that is a good one with good teachers that want to help and care. Meaning that you do not keep punishing a student without trying to understand the why or pushing really hard to understand from the parents why. It could due to the environment or upbringing...my point is that a teacher will need to find out. The community where the school is located is not the best so it does not help by suspending a child from school back into the There needs to be classes provided by the school to address and meet with the parents of the community so everyone can be on one accord. Yes, every school is not the same but every child and area is not the same either. Some schools will need to work harder at that. Understand your audience before performing on the floor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2014

This is my child's second year at this school. And I must say I'm extremely disappointed. Please note that I've had experience with Charles county and fairfax county public schools. Compared to the other schools Samuel Massie is below sub par. Teaching staff has a high turnover rate ( my child had 3 teachers in 5 th grade before the end if the 1st qtr)administrative/teaching staff are not helpful in person or over the phone. Kids aren't guided off the school grounds safely. They aren't required to read nightly and homework is minimal. Unless there's school wide testing coming up. Even school registration was an extreme hassle. It's a terrible disservice to have to send your children here. I cannot wait to be able to move to another area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2011

This is my son's third year attending Samuel Massie Academy. The district, the administrators, and the teachers should be ashamed at themselves at the level of education they are providing these children, but unfortunately they are not. Everytime I have a question for anyone at this school, they are immediately defensive, they don't provide you with answers to any of your questions, a lot of the teachers and staff at this school are very confrontational and inexperienced. They treat the children as if they are in jail (Silent Lunches, No Recess, etc.) and then complain and send home "Consequence Sheets" every signle time the child opens there mouth and says anything(what do you expect, they are children). They release your children to anyone, they don't check ID's, they don't ensure that the kid is safely on the bus or off school grounds. They are extremely unprofessional! They do not teach, point blank period. My son learns more at home then he does at school, and if I could afford to sit home and homeschool him I would. I have my son read for 20mins each day, and my sons 4th grade teacher sent a note home by my son telling me that he doesnt have to read when he gets home (WHAT!)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2008

Massie, is a school of uncaring, unfocused and unorganized staff. A lot of the students are bullies and the staff so wrapped up in personal business does not care about the children on or off of the playground. The principal does not care about the children just the status of the school, Mr. Salim does not handle the matters of children safety until the situation is completely out of hand. Extracurricular Activities are well after school hours and no one is around to ensure safety of the children especially the ones walking. However my main focus is the Safety and Dicipline of the students there is none which does not make a condusive learning enviornment
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2007

I Love this school. I have had the pleasure of watching my dayghter grow in pre-k. The Staff here are the most caring I have encounter in such a long time. I am honored to have been able to give my child a nurturing and happy experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2006

My child was a student at Massie. I was not impressed with the curriculum or the staff. The school was more focused on test scores than teaching the students. I eventually took my child out of Massie and enrolled him in a private school where the focus is more on teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2006

At Samuel P. Massie ES students are exposed to a variety of theatrical performances and musical enrichment. The talent at this school is very reminscent of a school of performing arts. In addition, to the school's enriching atmosphere it is a fairly new school with new technology and a state of the art appearance. We have a rolling computer lab with laptops and a stationary computer lab. There are approximately 20 computers per grade level. We have a new textbooks series in math, science, and social studies. The library is awesome. Finally, we have a girls basketball team that is undefeated and a boys team that is also very notable. Our school is attached to a community center that offers before and after school childcare. The community center offers a tutoring program sponsored by the school with quality teachers from the school. The center also has a fitness room.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
28%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 95% 35%
Hispanic 2% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 6%
Two or more races 1% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
White 0% 42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 75%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (301) 669-6536

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3301 Regency Parkway
Forestville, MD 20747
Website: Click here
Phone: (301) 669-1120

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Andrew Jackson Academy
Forestville, MD



New Horizon CDC Summit
Forestville, MD




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT