Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Frederick Adventist Academy

Private | PK-10 | 92 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Frederick

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $168,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,390.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 26, 2014

Frederick Adventist Academy is a wonderful environment for learning, with teachers that are committed to each student and their individual needs. FAA accepts that not all students are the same and have varied backgrounds from which they add to its' culture of learning. Another great element FAA offers is extra-curricular activities, such as Lego club, 1-4 & 5-8 Soccer, 3-8 Basketball, Cooking class, and STEM club. My children went on study tours to Boston and through Virginia learning about the history of our country. I highly recommend Frederick Adventist!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2013

The teachers are wonderful! but there's allot of turn around in the teacher department lately, which is not good at all. Long time teachers are leaving. My kids have gone to this school their whole lives, and most likely my youngest will not be returning this next school year 2013-2014. The school board is out of control! This school is no were near the school it once was. Would I recommend this school.... NO!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2012

The learning standards are high, but the teachers are always willing to individually tutor and make adaptions if necessary. It has been wonderful seeing them so involved in learning and actually not dreading homework and projects. My children look forward to the special programs, theme days and after school programs.


Posted January 6, 2012

Excelent Nuturing Environment! My son and his two cousins go to this school - how often do you hear your kids say they want to go to school, and want to stay and participate in the after school activities? On top of all of this the Education he is receiving is excelent and I feel like the teachers really do care about the school and the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2012

Our son attends this school and has had a tremendous experience. We were especially impressed with the results of the recent 7 year independent study done on this institution and how the students performed well above their private education peer group. Great education and a loving respectful environment...hard to beat!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2012

Not only does this school offer academic excellence and a broad range of extracurricular activities from soccer and basketball to equestrian but are also have tuition rates significantly lower than other local private offerings. This is also the only private school in Frederick County that offers special needs reading programs. Our child has excelled in this environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2012

Since both daughters have been attending this school, I have seen great improvement in their ability to read and more desire to learn new ideas and read. Having them attend also help in providing them with strong Chritian foundation. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2012

I was raised in the public school system. My son goes to Frederick Adventist School because I value Christian education, the overall parent/teacher engagement and commitment. The kids have a wholesome environment, and good academics. I am extremely happy my son is thriving, learning values and morals, and having a great experience that will prepare him forward in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2009

I love this school, the staff. My kids love going to school everyday. I am thrilled that they are adding 9th next school year. hoorah!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2009

We love this school. The teachers are very dedicated and really care about the students. Our child has received an excellent education and has been very happy there! I've heard they are adding 9th grade next year. I hope so!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

The staff love the kids and their work and the kids are really happy and learning. I love everything about the school and my son loves it there. Only wish they had it up to 12 grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 37% 42%
Black 22% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 19% 6%
Hispanic 12% 12%
Two or more races 6% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Public Schools
Home School
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Sean T Henline
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Seventh-day adventist
Associations
  • GCSDAC
Fax number
  • (301) 698-8226

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Public Schools
Home School

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Highland View Academy
St. John's
Public High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6437 Jefferson Pike
Frederick, MD 21703
Website: Click here
Phone: (301) 663-0363

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT