Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gov. Thomas Johnson High School

Public | 9-12 | 1681 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 6, 2013

Some of the teachers there are weird and mean But there are also some good teachers. The class Sizes are pretty big. It's pretty nice when you can hang Out with friends in the morning around the school. The Cafeteria food looks so disgusting. It's a pretty good school To the others in the area. Over all it's pretty nice.


Posted March 5, 2010

This is a great school for sports and has an amazing theatre program and im part of it. I love my schoo<3
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 12, 2009

i was only a freshmen when i went to the school and i started out knowing nobody, but the kids here are really friendly and you would have a friend by the end of the first month. the teachings are great cause the school has block scheduling (4 classes a day, 90 min each) so u really learn alot instead of 50 minutes and where u come in the class, sit down, and by the time u know it, the bell rings again! (also means less hw). this also means kids get to double up more, for example im a sophomore now and im already in latin 3 (latin 1 first semster, latin 2 second semester) i even go to a magnet school now and it still doesnt compare to TJ...
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 7, 2007

Academic Programs are very good, although class sizes are sometimes ridiculously large. Very man extracurricular activities availabe, not much funding to art and music activities, such as marching band. Nonetheless, it is the best school in the county in my opinion in every aspect.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 18, 2007

I graduated from TJ recently and I absolutely loved my time there. It is an awesome school that excels in academics and is so widely diverse that I had so many different friend. The school has such spirit and vigor that it's amazing. And all the teachers are outstanding. They all care for their students and make sure they receive a thorough and rigorous education that other high schools in this county can't offer.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 8, 2007

I'm currently a freshman at TJ, and i love it. I was scared to death the first time I walked in there. I though i was not going to be able to find any of my classes or i wasn't going to find my friends at lunch. However the teachers were very understanding of our concerns and helped us through our transition into High school. The teachers are great. They try to make things as fun as possiable. The theater is outstanding here and so are sports, and technology. The school is a little cliquie but everyone always has at least one friend that they can sit with at lunch. There are fights but what school doesn't have them. They are mostly caused by out of school situations such as at parties and such and are quickly dealt with as there is always a trusty Maryland state troper there for us.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 4, 2005

Academic is based upon mainly around math. needs to invovle more of english and science. Music is decreasing. they need to show kids that music is cool and fun!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 18, 2004

Wonderful school, great education. Wonderful diverse enviroment, yet everyone is always excepted. Very few fights compared to frederick high school where my siblings, we love tj! not to mention, the school spirit is amazing! on spirit days, the red white and blue is outstanding.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra

The state average for Algebra was 84% in 2013.

345 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

353 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
English II

The state average for English II was 83% in 2013.

354 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland High School Assessments (HSA) to test students in English 2, Algebra, and Biology upon completion of each course. The HSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. Students are required to pass the tests in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 43%
Black 20% 36%
Hispanic 15% 12%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Asian 4% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 26%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Lacrosse
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Lacrosse

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1501 North Market St
Frederick, MD 21701
Phone: (240) 236-8200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Frederick High School
Frederick, MD



Rock Creek School
Frederick, MD


Walkersville High School
Walkersville, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT