Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Frederick, MD
Students enrolled: 630

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Orchard Grove Elementary School 4

Posted August 05, 2014
- a parent
Great school. Running Club is a great program to keep the kids healthy and encourage fitness activities.

Orchard Grove Elementary School 5

Posted June 24, 2014
- a parent
My daughter and son studying in this school and they both like the education and the atmosphere at the school. teachers are very cooperative and responsive.


Orchard Grove Elementary School 2

Posted May 16, 2014
- a parent
My son has been attending Kindergarten at Orchard Grove Elementary and is in special education. The administration has not listened to anything I had to say about his disability and has basically told me flat out that my son didn't have the medical issues that I've been telling them that he has, despite the doctors' notes confirming appointments and diagnoses. The general ed teacher is fine, but once the staff started to realize that my son didn't have typical issues that they know how to deal with, they had it out for him. They told me they were following his IEP, and then 8 months into the school year told me different things they had just barely started doing, most of which had been in his IEP since beginning of the year. They're self-righteous, and think they know everything (in fact, the Principal told me that she has more years of experience with kids with medical needs so knows more about my sons' medical issues than I do, apparently.) If your child is normal, it may be an ok school, but if your child is not typical, they just don't know how to deal with the kid, and push them and push them to act out until they can finally get rid of the kid to another school.

Orchard Grove Elementary School 5

Posted July 03, 2013
- a parent
This school is greal my kids went to Orchard and they love it very good teachers and staff

Orchard Grove Elementary School 1

Posted April 26, 2013
- a parent
This school is OK at best if your kid is perfect. If your kid is even slightly outside of the "norm" they are targeted for retribution quickly. Several students are driven out through early targeted harassment. The teachers are aggressive, and the atmosphere is hostile towards children. Watch them carefully if you must have a child attend this place.


Orchard Grove Elementary School 5

Posted April 12, 2013
- a community member
THIS SCHOOL IS THE BEST! I GRADUATED FROM HERE IN 2009 @ SHEAVILLE! IT'S AN OUTSTANDING SCHOOL! THIS SCHOOL IS SO MUCH BETTER THAN WAVERLY ELEMENTARY SCHOOL IN FREDERICK MD! SPECIAL THANKS TO KATIE SHEA-MILLER KATIE GRAY MICHAEL RAMAGE PAM WEST CHERYL CRAWFORD AND MARILYN MATTHEWS

Orchard Grove Elementary School 5

Posted November 30, 2010
- a community member
The Frederick Steeplechasers Running Club salutes Orchard Grove's running program for healthier kids and is fully supporting their efforts to get a track built for their school! We congratulate them for their exceptional initiative!

Orchard Grove Elementary School 5

Posted October 04, 2009
- a parent
There are so many things that are great about OGES but I'd have to say that what really stands out is the teachers. They care, are involved and work hard each and everyday to give the kids a GREAT education.


Orchard Grove Elementary School 5

Posted March 28, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Orchard Grove Elementary School 5

Posted March 17, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Orchard Grove Elementary School
5898 Hannover Dr, Frederick, MD  21703
(240) 236-2400
Last modified Orchard Grove Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Orchard Grove Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top