Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

2 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Monocacy Middle School 2

Posted February 01, 2014
- a community member
This school kicked me out because i was not the best behaved student but the teachers never helped they have some good ones and some bad ones i was showed how to do the work they gave us a packet and told us to do it and if you talked back they kicked you out of class there are gangs and drugs in there school too

Monocacy Middle School 1

Posted July 13, 2010
- a parent
I had two children at this school. Teachers and Admins absolutely play favorites. Child one was well loved. Strangely, this was the child constantly in trouble. Given a pass to leave class when he was "stressed", truth was there was a conflict with the teacher. Student and teacher should have been made to adjust. Child two was terribly bullied. Even though other students went to the front office, and complained. Nothing was done. There were pointless investigations. To the point where this child was accused of doing things to herself. Students who are favorites are given passes and excuses. I can say this fairly since I had one child who was a favorite, and another who wasn't. FCPS has all these wonderful bullying posters up everywhere, and they do not do anything to back it up. Other parents and staff have commented on this.


Monocacy Middle School 4

Posted August 30, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Monocacy Middle School 0
no rating

Posted July 30, 2009
- a parent
The school is poorly run, bullying seems to be abundant, and the goal seems to be solely getting kids up to proficient on their MSAs then shoving them to a corner to focus on the ones that are still struggling. The school leadership does a good job at lip service and gives out a lot of As to keep most parents molified. The school seems more concerned about 'looking' good than actually attempting to achieve excellence.

Monocacy Middle School 5

Posted May 28, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Monocacy Middle School 1

Posted April 28, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Monocacy Middle School 1

Posted March 25, 2009
- a student
This school is horrible ecspecially if you are not pretty or handsome or cussing all the time. Really,cussing i have found is part of what makes you fit in even though i do not participate. You shouldn't have to be perfect just to have freinds,and that is what the kids at this school have been demostrating. They call you names that they know you're insucure about,yeah it hurts. And then they set up these stupid ccp classes that talk about whay not to bully and how to avoid them but honestly there are more bullys than you think. Also my sister has come home crying because somone told her that nowon liked her and that they were just pretending but they had codes that were inside jokes about her.I hate that school.And so does many people i know. The teachers never ever catch the real problems,and every kid knows it!

Monocacy Middle School 2

Posted February 21, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Monocacy Middle School 1

Posted December 19, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Monocacy Middle School 3

Posted December 05, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Monocacy Middle School
8009 Opossumtown Pk, Frederick, MD  21702
(240) 236-4700
Last modified Monocacy Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Monocacy Middle School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top