Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lime Kiln Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 623 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 11, 2014

This school is by far the best school I've ever been a part of. I have had the privilege in teaching in several schools across the country, and have never experienced the level of support for faculty, staff, and students that I have at Lime Kiln. Teachers genuinely care about student success, and the school administration genuinely care about the staff. I could go on and on about the quality of education offered, the number of student supports in the building, and the level of parental involvement and support, but it would take me forever. Excellent school!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 25, 2013

I love how my child is learning. Her conversation about science, math, and music has jumped leaps and abounds in just over 1.5 years here at Lime Kiln. She is enjoying learning. Also, I love that the school does not tolerate bullying. The staff is keen and very responsive to any type of bullying in school or on the bus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2012

I'm a former student of LKMS and I love it! It is by far the best middle school in Howard County. The students are great and the teaching staff is excellent. I want my children to attend this school someday!


Posted August 29, 2009

The teachers and staff are above 10 stars IMO! This school is always clean and the principle and Vp are outstanding people! I drive a school bus and I some times see things that just leave me in aww of this school! I can't say enough good things for LK


Posted September 12, 2008

Very good school. Love the way the staff treat everysingle person like they are there own. Love it!


Posted December 5, 2005

Lime Kiln Middle School is a wonderful school. I have been going there for 1 and a 1/2 years and I haven't seen a better school yet! There is nothing bad happening, no smoking, no graffiti, nothing.The Teachers are great and they teach all of the students what they will need to succeed in high school and further. The parents are really included a lot, they chaperone the dances, they make this wonderful school, wonderful!...I would definately suggest your kids go to this school if you would like the top learning level ever. Therefore, that is why I think that Lime Kiln Middle school is by far, the best school in Howard County!!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

203 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

203 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

211 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

211 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

186 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

186 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 43%
Asian 17% 6%
Black 10% 36%
Hispanic 5% 12%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 3%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11650 Scaggsville Rd
Fulton, MD 20759
Phone: (410) 880-5988

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT