Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fulton Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 670 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 25, 2013

The administration is uninvolved and terrible at what they do. Communication between school and home is completely lacking. I can't tell you how many school events I found out about the day of or after they were already over. Simply put, terrible. I am finding that it is the administration's purpose to keep the parents out of the loop. The secretary is unfriendly and at times rude. There is no greeting when you enter the school. As far as parents volunteering in the classroom goes, it really depends upon what teacher you have. Some are willing to have you in the classroom helping, while others put you in a separate room or hallway. :o( Also, siblings are NOT welcome at any school function or event during the school day. Very unwelcoming to families!! Fulton does have some good teachers. I would NOT recommend this Howard County Elementary School to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2013

I want to thank you for school counselor, psyologists, and teachers. My kid is strong willed, but he loves to learn. When he entered kingdergarten, started from the 3rd day, the teacher complain about him every week. Sometimes, she called almost everyday. She just didn't know how to teach my kid, and try to get ride of him. She sent my child to everywhere on campus. One day when I went to pick him up, the teacher didn't know where my child is. My child complained to us about this teacher. We tried to put good words about her. Later, she started hurts my kid physically by pulling, pushing. We talked to the Principal. The Principal is very nice. She let my kid changed to another classroom immediately. Then my kid did much better in school. It is not about the school. It is all about the teachers!!! If a school has many good teachers, it will help children to learn better. We are still observing to see whether we will let our children change school. One thing we learned this year is that talk to your children to find out what happened. Don't just listen to the teachers. You know your kids better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2013

My experience with teachers have been excellent. They are great at responding our concerns and in challenging our kids. Both my kids enjoy going to school. Their GT program is also great. Administration can try to be more friendly but they are fine as professional
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2012

I have been nothing but pleased with our experience at Fulton Elementary School this year. I was quite hesitant at the beginning of the year as my son (in Kindergarten) has a set of special needs and requires extra support. I feared him being labeled and was concerned about having to work against the school to advocate for him. I was profoundly grateful when the school contacted me offering extra services, support, and involvement within the first two weeks of school. The counselor, principal, health assistant, and teacher have been incredibly helpful (and demonstrate expertise) in supporting my child while maintaining expectations within the classroom and continuing to provide him a rich learning experience. His teacher is skillful and comes with higher education and a diverse background. Thanks to all of this, he continues to be on track with his education. They have earned my trust. Overall, this is an excellent school with staff that truly demonstrates their motives to provide quality education to the students while also individualizing needs. There is a great deal of parent support which helps the teachers tremendously in day to day activities, fundraisers, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2011

My daughter is in first grade at Fulton Elementary school and she loves it. The teachers and staff are very nice and helpful. Fulton Elementary provides my daughter with a creative, challenging, and encouraging learning environment. I am plesantly surprised with how much she has learned and matured.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2011

Wow! In the 6 years that I have been an parent I have never met someone With such a bad experience. You are welcome at Fulton anytime, any day in the classroom. Each of my children have made lifelong friends at the school. The community of Teachers and Family's are incredible! My son was so prepared for middle school and is in majority GT classes with encouragement from his Fulton teachers. I'm sorry that you had such a bad experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2011

I pulled my 2 children from Fulton Elementary school. Parents were not allowed in the classroom with their children during the academic day as they are in every other school in Ho. Co. Assessments were not sent home so I didn't know what or how my children were doing. The test scores have dropped every year that we have been there. The school is one of 4 elementary schools in Ho. Co. on the Maryland State Department of Education's watch list for not meeting AYP standards on testing. The principal is not involved and is unaware of things going on in the school. My children didn't know who was in charge of the school. The atmosphere is very negative and my children learned very little there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2011

Great Howard County elementary school in Fulton with excellent suburban location and enviable neighboring demographics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2007

Fulton Elem. is an amazing school with dedicated teachers and staff. My two children love going to school! I'm continuously happily surprised.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
99%

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 23% 6%
Black 10% 35%
Two or more races 6% 4%
Hispanic 4% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 7%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • School psychologist
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School psychologist
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11600 Scaggsville Rd
Fulton, MD 20759
Phone: (410) 880-5957

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT