Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Quince Orchard High School 2

Posted August 11, 2014
- a student
There is little to no racial diversity at this school and frankly the teachers and staff here are all very biased. It is also difficult to talk to teachers, as some are very intimidating and not very welcoming. The big deal about sports seems to be an off factor as well. Since sports are considered a "big deal" at QO, other programs seemed to be belittled or outshined by the sports program. Not only other extracurricular programs are outshined, but classes and academics are as well. Students tend to focus more on sports over academics and the teachers here seem to support it.I also have to include my opinion on the student body name "red army." From what I've learned it could be considered a slur for communism.The "red army" is also very vulgar and spirited up to the point where it's rude.I appreciate all of what the staff and teachers have done but the lack of openminded thinking is very hard to adapt to.The overall school atmosphere is there of course (excessive workload,bullies,discrimination,being a pain in the butt experience,etc) and that was expected, but this not being my first year attending here I am not looking forward to the coming years learning in this environment.

Quince Orchard High School 5

Posted August 07, 2014
- a parent
Absolutely love this school. It has a lot of different academic programs to meet various student needs. The school has all students eat lunch at the same time making it so that every teacher is accessible during lunchtime to help students. Every teacher has been ready and willing to help both of my children who are students there. There is a top notch football team and other great sports too. If your child isn't into sports, there are tons of clubs and activities for them to pursue. Excellent participation in AP classes plus a Cisco Engineering program and Project Lead the Way with a STEM focus. Great mix of students and lots of diversity make this a wonderful, enriching environment. We are thrilled with this high school.


Quince Orchard High School 5

Posted April 03, 2014
- a parent
Has several subject specific and overall National Honor Societies, Has a full 5 course Project Lead the Way for teaching Engineering to students that translate to College credits. High student participation in AP credits There is significantly low incidents of troubled kids and very few overly spoiled kids in the cluster. Principal is very well respected by the students, parents, County School Superintendent and the school board. In addition to great academics has one of largest music programs in the County and some of the best sports teams in the state. Parents are very active and there is broad community support for the school. Happy we moved to this area. We were able to be in one of the best Elementary through High Schools and also get a good sized house at a reasonable cost for this close to DC.

Quince Orchard High School 5

Posted December 28, 2013
- a parent
Quince Orchard High School is a great school that attracts great community support, active PTA involvement, great teachers' and principal's support for students. My daughter and nieces graduated from this school and all loved everything about school.

Quince Orchard High School 2

Posted November 11, 2013
- a parent
Administration and teachers have no control over the classrooms or campus. My freshmen son reports the following; students leaving class without notifying the teacher and slipping back in before bell rings, groups of students in hallways during class, zoo like atmosphere when substitute teachers are leading classroom. I have witnessed students during school hours (not lunch) at local fast food restaurants and students walking in the opposite direction of the school minutes before the first bell is to ring. There is a big lack of leadership at QOHS.


Quince Orchard High School 5

Posted October 18, 2013
- a student
I like this very school ,this is a wonderful school, full of happy and knowledge, the teachers in this school are all good, I love this school!!

Quince Orchard High School 1

Posted August 28, 2013
- a parent
Quince Orchard is the worse school ever!!!! Special education teachers this past school and the years before that was the worse years of my kids life. I should have removed my kid from this school from the very beginning. The teacher with the worse experience we have had was with Rori Silver and the aides that helped her. They were horrible!! Rori Silver is not honest and is not qualified to be in this type of special education handling kids with needs. Rori Silver should never handle any special needs children at all. She was also very rude and very arrogant. The nurses are also not so good with handling kids with special needs. The worse school ever!!! Don't go to this school. Run away!!! Go some place else. They will make your life miserable. They left my kid unattended thousand times and they blame the parents for their mistake of not taking good care of them. Horrible counselors and not a good school for any kids.

Quince Orchard High School 3

Posted August 25, 2013
- a parent
I'll have to second what a previous parent said about the lack of cultural diversity at the school. The teachers are a mixed bag too. Some are very good and cordial, while others are nasty and unprofessional. I'd also not recommend kids of color to participate in the orchestra as the director needs a lesson in fairness and cultural diversity. Overall, I'd say that my daughter received a good education at QO, but it came at the price of her not having many peers she could relate to.


Quince Orchard High School 1

Posted June 03, 2013
- a parent
There is poor class room management and the students are allowed to do what ever they like. It sucks

Quince Orchard High School 1

Posted April 11, 2013
- a parent
On a grand scale, this school is not culturally diverse and differences are not respected. The environment is quite insular. Carole Working, the principal, is never involved with the students and teachers who bully students are supported by the administration. My child has been attending about 1.5 yrs and it's been many complaints of select teachings being a bully. There are some teachers who are altruistic but the other bad apple teachers are a hazard to the learning environment. I'm in the process of removing my child from this place as quickly as possible.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Quince Orchard High School
15800 Quince Orchard Rd, Gaithersburg, MD  20878
(301) 840-4686
Last modified Quince Orchard High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Quince Orchard High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top