Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Gaithersburg, MD
Students enrolled: 1,780
 

4 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

20 reviews of this school


Quince Orchard High School 5

Posted May 09, 2015
- a parent
Quince Orchard is a great school. My daughter is in the 9th grade and our experience thus far has been all positive. My daughters previously participated in a performance with the poms there when they were in elementary school. The students who taught the girls were very driven and excellent with the children. So glad my daughters are going/will go to Quince Orchard High.

Quince Orchard High School 4

Posted January 24, 2015
- a parent
I am a little miffed about the statements that this school is not racially diverse - I have found the exact opposite of that. Not only are the racial stats on this website showing diversity with 49% white, 22% hispanic, 16% African-American (which is an almost exact replica of the national statistics of the american population), the kids at the school come from a variety of cultural & economic backgrounds - nationalities of my children's friends include families from Poland, Jamaica, the middle east, India, Korea and Japan as well as African-Americans and Asian-Americans. My family would fall under the Hispanic category. It's like the United Nations in there. Plus, the school's diversity extends to economic background since the district pulls from many neighborhoods that include high income (mansions), middle income (houses and townhomes) and low income (apartments/townhomes communities with assistance). This school also has a diversity of programs from engineering certificates and art focus to upper AP college prep. There is something for everyone who is willing to utilize what is available. This school offers a lot and can give a lot depending on your drive.


Quince Orchard High School 5

Posted January 07, 2015
- a parent
Quince Orchard is an excellent school. It is what we want a neighborhood school to be in North Potomac. My daughter has been going there for the past two years. I have found the staff to be always very helpful, and there are a wide variety of classes for students to take. The school does very well in sports teams, especially in football, and the students are quite pepped up before a home game is played. Considering the fact that the school represents a large section of North Potomac with very educated parents in a nice suburban setting, I am quite surprised sometimes as to why the rating for the school is not higher. The school offers a large number of AP courses, and definitely challenges students to get higher grades. However, the pace is easy going, and it does not have a stifling atmosphere where students are disturbed at the workload. The idea is to create well-rounded students that are ready for college and the next phase in life.

Quince Orchard High School 2

Posted August 11, 2014
- a student
There is little to no racial diversity at this school and frankly the teachers and staff here are all very biased. It is also difficult to talk to teachers, as some are very intimidating and not very welcoming. The big deal about sports seems to be an off factor as well. Since sports are considered a "big deal" at QO, other programs seemed to be belittled or outshined by the sports program. Not only other extracurricular programs are outshined, but classes and academics are as well. Students tend to focus more on sports over academics and the teachers here seem to support it.I also have to include my opinion on the student body name "red army." From what I've learned it could be considered a slur for communism.The "red army" is also very vulgar and spirited up to the point where it's rude.I appreciate all of what the staff and teachers have done but the lack of openminded thinking is very hard to adapt to.The overall school atmosphere is there of course (excessive workload,bullies,discrimination,being a pain in the butt experience,etc) and that was expected, but this not being my first year attending here I am not looking forward to the coming years learning in this environment.

Quince Orchard High School 5

Posted August 07, 2014
- a parent
Absolutely love this school. It has a lot of different academic programs to meet various student needs. The school has all students eat lunch at the same time making it so that every teacher is accessible during lunchtime to help students. Every teacher has been ready and willing to help both of my children who are students there. There is a top notch football team and other great sports too. If your child isn't into sports, there are tons of clubs and activities for them to pursue. Excellent participation in AP classes plus a Cisco Engineering program and Project Lead the Way with a STEM focus. Great mix of students and lots of diversity make this a wonderful, enriching environment. We are thrilled with this high school.


Quince Orchard High School 5

Posted April 03, 2014
- a parent
Has several subject specific and overall National Honor Societies, Has a full 5 course Project Lead the Way for teaching Engineering to students that translate to College credits. High student participation in AP credits There is significantly low incidents of troubled kids and very few overly spoiled kids in the cluster. Principal is very well respected by the students, parents, County School Superintendent and the school board. In addition to great academics has one of largest music programs in the County and some of the best sports teams in the state. Parents are very active and there is broad community support for the school. Happy we moved to this area. We were able to be in one of the best Elementary through High Schools and also get a good sized house at a reasonable cost for this close to DC.

Quince Orchard High School 5

Posted December 28, 2013
- a parent
Quince Orchard High School is a great school that attracts great community support, active PTA involvement, great teachers' and principal's support for students. My daughter and nieces graduated from this school and all loved everything about school.

Quince Orchard High School 2

Posted November 11, 2013
- a parent
Administration and teachers have no control over the classrooms or campus. My freshmen son reports the following; students leaving class without notifying the teacher and slipping back in before bell rings, groups of students in hallways during class, zoo like atmosphere when substitute teachers are leading classroom. I have witnessed students during school hours (not lunch) at local fast food restaurants and students walking in the opposite direction of the school minutes before the first bell is to ring. There is a big lack of leadership at QOHS.


Quince Orchard High School 5

Posted October 18, 2013
- a student
I like this very school ,this is a wonderful school, full of happy and knowledge, the teachers in this school are all good, I love this school!!

Quince Orchard High School 1

Posted August 28, 2013
- a parent
Quince Orchard is the worse school ever!!!! Special education teachers this past school and the years before that was the worse years of my kids life. I should have removed my kid from this school from the very beginning. The teacher with the worse experience we have had was with Rori Silver and the aides that helped her. They were horrible!! Rori Silver is not honest and is not qualified to be in this type of special education handling kids with needs. Rori Silver should never handle any special needs children at all. She was also very rude and very arrogant. The nurses are also not so good with handling kids with special needs. The worse school ever!!! Don't go to this school. Run away!!! Go some place else. They will make your life miserable. They left my kid unattended thousand times and they blame the parents for their mistake of not taking good care of them. Horrible counselors and not a good school for any kids.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Quince Orchard High School
15800 Quince Orchard Rd, Gaithersburg, MD  20878
(301) 840-4686
Last modified Quince Orchard High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Quince Orchard High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top