Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Strawberry Knoll Elementary School 5

Posted April 11, 2014
- a parent
Love, love, love this school...The principal is so so wonderful and involved. The school's PTA is great and the teachers are wonderful as well. I'm glad to be in this community and have my kids come here for their education.

Strawberry Knoll Elementary School 5

Posted April 10, 2014
- a parent
Hands down. This school in FAN-TAS-TIC. As a parent of an autistic child we couldn't ask for more. The teaching staff takes so good care of our child they are quite as family now. LOVE every bit of this school.


Strawberry Knoll Elementary School 5

Posted August 19, 2013
- a parent
I am coming from the perspective of a parent with a child with Autism Spectrum Disorder. First, our family was terrified to send our child to any public school because of her special needs. We were delighted to meet a principle and staff people who made us feel comfortable and who strongly encouraged us to give them a try. So far, we have not been disappointed. The school has worked well with our own therapists as well as theirs and they have really helped in our desire in making sure that our child is socialized and not just meeting the academic requirements set by the state. I would highly recommend that if you have a child on the spectrum to give them a try first before choosing a private school. They will work with you to help your family and child have a positive and successful education. The key is to keep communication open and be proactive and make sure all those involved in the care of your child is included. It is a lot of work, but so far our child has had a successful social and academic experience.

Strawberry Knoll Elementary School 4

Posted August 18, 2013
- a parent
Strawberry Knoll ES is a great school for family and community based learning. Centered in a nice suburban DC metro neighborhood, the school offers a host of learning opportunities for children of very diverse backgrounds, cultures, races, etc. The principal and many of the school's teachers are very good at educating and maintaining a positive learning environment. Our school also has a nice PTA that allows parents to lead afterschool programs and other activities to enhance the school life for all the kids. I am so proud to be a parent at Strawberry Knoll ES and expect this next year will be even better.

Strawberry Knoll Elementary School 5

Posted August 17, 2013
- a parent
Strawberry Knoll is one of the best out there! The school leaders and teachers create a very friendly,upbeat atmosphere, which allows the children to take chances and push themselves academically.


Strawberry Knoll Elementary School 5

Posted August 17, 2013
- a parent
We have been attending Strawberry Knoll for 5 years. We are so happy to have gotten into this neighborhood. The kids and parents are very friendly and everybody is accepted. The creme de la creme is the Principal and the teachers and staff he supports. It is an environment that boasts caring and involvement that truly benefits the students. Each student is placed based on his/her needs and not just to fill a classroom. This is truly a model school.

Strawberry Knoll Elementary School 5

Posted August 17, 2013
- a parent
My son attended the Preschool Enrichment Program (PEP) many years ago. It gave a severely handicapped son a wonderful start to his education. We continue to live in the neighborhood and hear nothing but great things about Strawberry Knoll school. Our homeowners association continues to meet in their all purpose room and you can see, walking through the school, that the wonderful learning experience continues. My son's picture is still posted in the hall as a child who was in the first "graduating class" of Strawberry Knoll Elementary School. Over the past 28 years of living in the community the children who have attended the school and have grown up and gone on to higher education have succeeded. My belief is this is due to the wonderful start in their educational journey. I would recommend this school to anyone family who would like a positive educational experience.

Strawberry Knoll Elementary School 5

Posted August 17, 2013
- a parent
We are military, and have been blessed enough to stay in one place long enough for our children to attend this school for a couple years. I cannot say enough good things about Strawberry Knoll. The teachers are fantastic, the kids are well behaved and friendly. We have yet to hear about any issues with bullying. The principal, Mr. Kaplan knows pretty much every student by name. He takes time out to speak to parents and is always giving encouraging words. We have purposely tried to stay in this area as long as possible so that the kids can attend for as long as we are able, maybe even finish elementary school here!


Strawberry Knoll Elementary School 5

Posted June 17, 2013
- a parent
The Knoll is a great school! Almost all of the teachers we've encountered here have been very committed to the success of the children at the school. There are a pretty good number of parents who are. The Administration of the school has been stellar. Principal Kaplan and Assistant Principal Ford are both great leaders. Our family has had mostly great experiences here.

Strawberry Knoll Elementary School 5

Posted May 14, 2013
- a parent
My two daughters attend SKES and love it! I have had nothing but good experiences there. Principal Kaplan is great and willing to help and take care of issues promptly. Had a small problem with bullying and spoke to principal and all was taken care of the same day. The problem did not repeat!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Strawberry Knoll Elementary School
18820 Strawberry Knoll Rd, Gaithersburg, MD  20879
(301) 840-7112
Last modified Strawberry Knoll Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Strawberry Knoll Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top