Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Mother of God School

Private | PK-8 | 221 students

Educating God's children for the 21st Century
 
 

 
 

Living in Gaithersburg

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $228,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,610.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 8, 2014

This is a wonderful school. I have 2 kids enrolled and have been very pleased with the school. Wonderful teachers and fantastic leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2013

I have had 3 kids in this school, two already graduated and doing very well in a high school STEM program. The school was very supportive when they were beyond the grade level in math and science and accommodated them with advanced classes and they had fun with the Project-Based Learning assignment. MOG has a religion program with classes and mass which I believe help young kids develop a caring outlook.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2013

Our 5 year old son began school this fall in the pubic school system. There were 27 kids in his class and he was lost. The small class size and MOG attracted us there, but the warmth and faith-based programs have kept us. We are ecstatic that we found such a warm school where teachers put in extra effort to meet the needs of each student. Our twins will start preschool there next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2013

We love the school, and we would highly recommend it to any parent looking for a caring and faith-filled community, high quality of education, and...if you want your child to be somewhere that will care as much about their spiritual well-being and character as their academic growth. We are not a Catholic family, but our faith is important and essential to us. We could not be happier in sending our two daughters to Mother of God, and we are so proud to be a part of this community and school. The school is a bit of a secret, tucked away in Montgomery Village...but we would highly recommend a look at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2013

With small class sizes in Mother of God School, our 2 children (3rd & 4th graders) get proper attention in class. The teachers are always willing to go the extra mile with their students. Best of all, the school has the religious environment we try to create in our home...priceless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2013

I have had kids in this school for 22 years K-8 and I love the school. Our children have all gotten a supurb education. Their teachers have been very caring. The religion program includes weekly mass and a strong presentation of the faith. I highly recomend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2013

My son has attended Mother of God School since he was in Grade 1 and now he is in Grade 7. We have never questioned our decision to enroll him even once.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2013

Mother of God School is a great school. Classroom size is small so each child gets the proper attention and help as they learn. All the teachers at Mother of God are beyond prepared and have amazing teaching techniques. I feel very happy with the school since both of my kids love going to school, they love the teachers and their friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2013

MOG has super dedicated, creative and hard working staff/teachers who really care about the kids and guide them in their academic and spiritual development. The classes are small with lots of attention paid to students. Could not have a better environment for learning. Have a 4 year old who will attend kindergarten next year and will send my 2 hear old when she's ready.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2013

I LOVE this school. The classroom sizes are small, all of the students are polite, the older students help the younger ones and It feels like you are leaving your kids with family. My son has learned the science of how to learn, not just memorization. The teachers really love the kids and it shows with their teaching!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2011

I am very happy with Mother of God School. I read some of the reviews about staff turn over etc. Yes, some staff has changed but the newer teachers are engaging the students and learning has improved. I love the way the teachers are integrating the curriculum and how they are all working together to better educate our children. My children are excited about school and their classes. They are at or above grade level in all of their classes and really like their teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2009

I have been going to Mother of God School since kindergarten and I like it. I am doing extremely well at this school and I have many great friends. Many of the teachers are fun and full of experience and knowledge. I have read higher-level books like Beowulf, the Little Prince, and the Giver. I highly recommend this school as a student!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 30, 2009

Mother of God School is a wonderful school. My kid's are very happy there. They are growing academically and spiritually. The main problem is that parents complain about everything and are never happy these days...putting high expectations on their kids to achieve, achieve, achieve... and push, push push (that's public school).In this crazy world, kids today need more than just a good education, they need to learn how to cope. That's why I send them to a school that instills spiritual values everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2009

Mother of God School has gone down hill in the last 4 years. Their teacher turn over is very high and the ability to push students academically is poor. They push religion a lot so if thats your #1 priority its for you. They have very little extracurricular activiy/events and its more an after thought as its run by parents for all sports and the only other thing they offer by the school is 'band'. I would not recommend sending your child here as academically he/she will fall behind. I should know, I have one several years removed from the school and it took my kid 2 years to catch up, especially in Math. Ahsame too as it was a good school, for some reason the teach turnover has killed the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2008

I am a grandparent of two students that attend MOG School. This school is the best thing that has happened to them. The youngest began reading in K and the older has advanced more in the past year and a half than he did in his previous school of five year.


Posted October 21, 2008

MOG is an excellent small Catholic school. The students gain a strong Catholic experience with weekly mass, monthly reconciliation, and other events. The academics are strong, and graduates go on to great Catholic High Schools without issue. The faith and dedication of our staff is remarkable. As a parent I am glad to have a place to send my children which reinforces their faith daily.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2008

There is no such racism at Mother of God School; it was as offensive for me to hear it the first time the parent in the previous review raised it as it is to read it now. To the contrary, I have found it to be a place that embraces children and families from all faiths and races. Mother of God teachers, while not perfect, bend over backwards to accommodate parents and offer students second chances. Nonetheless, they are villianized at times by a minority of parents who don't hold their children accountable for their work. I am hopeful that the new leadership of the school will hold everyone-principal, teachers, students, and parents- to the high academic and ethical standards on which the school is founded.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 15, 2007

This is an authentically Catholic school. Students are known and loved by the staff; they seem happy. However, students don't respect faculty as they should and are not disciplined that much. Teachers are incredibly dedicated to the school and its mission, but there has been a lot of turnover recently, which usually signals a problem.


Posted December 5, 2007

During my volunteer hours there I noticed that, unlike what I expected, kids were disruptive and rude to certain teachers. If you have gifted children MOG does not have the facilities to push and challenge them academically. They will have to wait for the rest to catch up. MOG's strong suite is to instill a strong Catholic foundation. Plenty of time was given to teach religious doctrines which can be very important to others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

Mother of God School is an exemplary school. I have a son who graduated from MOG and is now a Junior in college. I believe MOG prepared him extremely well for high school and college. He is well-rounded, organized and disciplined in his work. I have a daughter who currently attends MOG and she loves it. She has made many great friends, and is excelling in her studies. Most importantly, she treasures the ability to speak of God publicly and to grow in her faith. She couldn't imagine going to school anywhere else. I strongly recommend this school to everyone. You will truly be blessed!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 42% 42%
Black 23% 35%
Hispanic 19% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 6%
Two or more races 5% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
ASL
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Gold Level Math Counts (2013)
  • Gold Level Math Counts (2012)
  • Gold Level Math Counts (2011)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Drama club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Rosetta Stone
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • ASL
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30
School end time
  • 3:30
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Alice Garvey
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • CEC
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (301) 947-0574

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Project-based
  • Year round PreK
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Humanities
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Rosetta Stone
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • ASL
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Drama club
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • School Tours are available on request. Year round PreK program options, full and part-time.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$4000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
ADW

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Our Lady of Good Counsel
St. John's Catholic Prep
Magnet Programs
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

20501 Goshen Road
Gaithersburg, MD 20879
Website: Click here
Phone: (301) 990-2088

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Montgomery Village Middle School
Montgomery Village, MD


Ets Chaiyim School
Montgomery Village, MD


Living Grace Christian School
Montgomery Village, MD


Watkins Mill Elementary School
Montgomery Village, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT