Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lakelands Park Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 873 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Posted August 1, 2013

I recently graduated from lake lands and I have to say this is an amazing school!! I love the staff that adminastration the principal is amazing he is so enthusiastic and she is so involved with the student each and everyday the staff and everyone else truly care bout the students each and everyone one of them I love this school with the passion I wouldn't change it for the world!!! Lake lands park middle is the school to be the teachers are amazing they are awesome and truly prepare you the school overall together we are a huge family coming together each and everyday to show our spirit for our school the soaring falcons and as a previous eight grader I have to sy it breaks my heart leaving this amazing school But they repaired me for high school and because of this amazing school with amazon peers and teachers counslors and the best princaple ever I know I'm ready I love lake lands park remember you get smart at Lakeland park (sports are fantastic I was on the softball team and we were undefeated the whole season our basketball team and our boys soccer and girls soccer our track team amazing!!!) T.W


Posted July 6, 2013

Oh my gosh! This school was awesome! I'm going to be an 8th grader soon after summer ends, I love it so much! There was so many nice people and nice teachers who care about how you do on tests, assessments , and homework they will even give up their lunch time for you! Since in like a month im going to be an 8th grader I am hoping to meet new people and have fun with my last year as a middle schooler. If you do your best it will go by so fast you will never regret going to this school. I also think that in my years of being in that school since 6th grade its been a BLAST and stay away from drama there is A LOT of rules in that school and who ever is going to this school will have a good time!


Posted July 18, 2010

I just graduated from this school. Everything was pretty good until this past year. Many new, and unimportant and pointless, were enforced. For example, it became much harder to get on the computers in the library. The eighth grade was yelled at more than often for "not following kindergarten rules", Well... we aren't in kindergarten. Also, money was spent on getting PROMETHEAN BOARDS IN EVERY CLASSROOM. Now, our school has almost no money. They could have saved it until they really needed the money, but no, we had to get the HEALTH TEACHERS Promethean boards. Of course.


Posted December 12, 2009

this is the best school EVER. it is bigger than most high schools. montogomery county has like the best schools ever and lakelands park ms is the 2nd best school in montogomery county behind thomas wotton high school.!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 30, 2008

I find this school very entertaining and educational. I love how the students change over time and not just physically. I love how the students can have relationships with the teachers on a school Basis.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 24, 2008

this school is the best school i have ever gone to. the teachers are nice the building is clean and we have everthing new. the lunches are great!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 28, 2008

This school is amazing! I have made so many new friends this year! I am looking forward to next year. This school has a great disipline policy and much more. If your looking for a new school for your student to go to come to lakelands where everyone is nice!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

324 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

324 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

304 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

303 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

323 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

320 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

322 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 43%
Hispanic 16% 12%
Black 14% 36%
Asian 13% 6%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 20%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1200 Main St
Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Phone: (301) 670-1400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ridgeview Middle School
Gaithersburg, MD






The Avalon School
Gaithersburg, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT