Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jones Lane Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 12, 2013

This is my daughter's first year at Jones Lane and the academic quality and warmth of the school community has far exceeded our expectations. The teachers and administrators are excellent and the broad array of co-curricular activities and enrichment opportunities is astounding. I really think Jones Lane deserves a rating of 10 and I can't imagine sending my daughter to any other school. All students thrive at Jones Lane!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2009

My son is a first grader at Jones Lane. The teacher is wonderful. She made him feel welcome. The reading program is great. The reading and math programs are extremely strong. The expectations at Jones Lane for doing your best work and being a good citizen are extremely high and I appreciate that as a parent. Mrs. Sample the Principal is a great leader and fosters teamwork among the staff. I recommend this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2009

My son has been attending JLES for three years. We come from DC and there is a big difference in MCPS. The staff is great, the school is clean and the staff cares about the students. My son has a learning disability and I feel the staff is there for him and not a pay check !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

My daughter is about to finish Kindergarten here and we have been thrilled with Jones Lane. Her teacher is excellent - we cannot believe the progress the students have made in terms of reading and writing ability. Her class is incredibly diverse (which we view as a positive) and all of the students seem to be making outstanding progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2009

We were new to the area and had investigated the many options. We came from a very good school district in PA and have found the Jones Lane to be outstanding. Ms. Jenkins is second to none. She is firm and compassionate. We have looked at private schools, but cannot imagine how the education could be better. I hope 3rd grade is as good. All of the students seem great and well behaved as well. Just a great system overall!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2008

the learning environment cant be beat. The teachers really do their job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2008

Mrs. Carole Sample does not have a strong backbone when it comes to disciplining teachers who are incompetent and unprofessional. As long as you are a non-working parent with a lot of time on your hands, gossip with the front office, and talk about the students and parents of the school, you and your child(ren) will do fine. The teachers that are good do not get enough credit. The teachers that are unfit, are not addressed by the principal (remember she has no backbone). The principal is too worry of loosing frienships among her staff rather than making sure a child receives a good education. When you agree with everything, the teachers and principal are easy to talk to. Otherwise, prepare for major problems with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2005

Jones Lane Elementary is a great school. I find it easy to talk to teachers and administration. There is a LOT of parent involvement in this school. That's part of what makes it a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 45% 42%
Hispanic 25% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 14% 6%
Black 10% 35%
Two or more races 6% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 21%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15110 Jones Ln
Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Phone: (301) 840-8160

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Dufief Elementary School
Gaithersburg, MD




Travilah Elementary School
North Potomac, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT