Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Brown Station Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 496 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 12, 2013

Is just an awesome school...love the programan they use...everybody is very friendly . Nice . Clean ...I'm so happy that my kids are going there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2012

My daughter went to Brown station E.S. 20 some odd years ago. She loved it as did I. Her son started school at another school , as we lived at that time at a different address, and hated it. It was one of the worst schools I've ever known. When I was able to find a house in this area, I enrolled him at B.S.E.S. Because of the influence from the other school, he would not only want to go to schol, but he would break down and cry not to go. The teachers and principal of Brown station were so caring, he started to look forward to going to school. He had such a wonderful teacher, that his grades went from D's nad F's to B's and C+'s. Now I have my daughters other child attending Brown Station and loving it.I will always be indebt and Truly grateful to Brown Station
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

Very friendly and dedicated staff, we are very proud to say my children attend Brown Station Elementary School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

Brown Station is your average school (good to average). Parents help out , but as with many schools it is the same parents doing most of the volunteering which causes PVBS (parent volunteer burnout syndrome). Some say that they do not feel welcome. Some teachers go above & beyond and show they truly care! Some teachers care but seem to struggle with balancing their time between students who are on different levels of instruction (doing better with 1 group/leaving the other groups behind) and struggle with their own (cafeteria staff included here)personality clashes of the the children or act according to how their own day is going. As with all average schools, Brown Station needs improvement but is a good school. Parents must remember that you should never depend on other people to give your child the total education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2009

The teachers are dedicated and focused at helping all children succeed. Brown Station is part of a diverse community that allows all children to learn about as well as experience cultural differences. I am proud to say my child attends Brown Station Elementary School . Special thaanks to Miss Hedreaman 2nd grade teacher.She is a very caring , and dedicated teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2008

My daughter attended Brown Station Elementary School and currently her 3 children are students there and we are pleased with their education. My grandson, a fourth grader has never been in a class with more than 15 students which serves him well because he has a mild learning disorder.


Posted August 12, 2007

I have had 2 children go through Brown Station and I can't say enough good words about this school. Both of my children have excelled and enjoyed the diversity that Brown Station offers. My children experienced an atmosphere of total acceptance because of the cultural diversity, none of the children care what color your skin is, all are embraced. As far as programs go, there is something for everyone, for those who need extra help and for those who need greater challenges. There are after school programs and before school programs including chess club. Music and plays are delightful. We are lacking in organized sports however. The teachers are wonderful and many have been there for many years, as well as teachers that were students at Brown Station have come here to teach!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2007

Brown Station is MCPS' best kept secret....The teachers are dedicated and focused at helping all children succeed. Brown Station is part of a diverse community that allows all children to learn about as well as experience cultural differences. I am proud to say my child attends Brown Station Elementary School.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

52 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 42% 12%
Black 34% 35%
White 11% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 6%
Two or more races 5% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

851 Quince Orchard Blvd
Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Phone: (301) 840-7172

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Nist Child Care Center
Gaithersburg, MD


Diamond Elementary School
Gaithersburg, MD


Avalon School
Gaithersburg, MD



St Martin Of Tours School
Gaithersburg, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT