Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Gaithersburg Elementary School 5

Posted September 16, 2015
- a parent
I know a lot of parents are chocked by the no homework policy, so was I at first. But I must say I was pleasantly surprised by how much our daughter learned in one year of Kindergarten at GES. She was born in U.S.A, but left the country when she was 2 years old.She came back for her Kindergarten year, not understanding or speaking English. At the end of the school year, she could not only speak but also read up to level 3 of I can read books, and also has great math skills. We had to move to a french speaking part of Canada at the end of the school year, she is still able to read French using the knowledge she gained in reading at GES. I must say Mrs HEISTER who was her teacher did a wonderful job teaching our daughter. WE would have not wanted it any other way.

Gaithersburg Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
Non existent! In order for children to retain the information they receive at school it must be reinforced with homework. I am not saying 50 sheets a day...but at least something... This school has a no homework policy so essentially nothing is reinforced and nothing is retained... after a summer he literally forgot everything he learned in the third grade because no work was given by the school to reinforce what was taught during the school year.


Gaithersburg Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
Negative... stealing, bullying, fighting, pushing, name calling... enough said...and to make it better my son was made fun of because one he is white, two he is not overweight and three because his mommy had a job!

Gaithersburg Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
I cannot honestly answer that... His teacher seemed compassionate; however, educating children is significantly thwarted with a policy of no homework because the kids have enough to do at school

Gaithersburg Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
Kids are allowed to bully other children with no consequences. My child had his food taken from him in the cafeteria, beat up on the playground and things stolen from him... nothing happened to the other child...


Gaithersburg Elementary School 1

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
I moved to Gaithersburg after being told that Montgomery Co. Schools were among the best in the state... Needless to say I am very disappointed in the education or lack thereof that my child received in his time at GES. NO HOMEWORK POLICY are you serious!!!! My child has had homework since Kindergarten and I place him in this school in the third grade thinking he will receive a quality education. I could not be more wrong.. No spelling words, No homework of any kind...oh but he did get bullied and beat up... fabulous. I have since moved to a school that has homework and a much better great schools rating... I can only hope that the damage done by the lack of education in his third grade year doesn't leave permanent damage as I attempt to correct the damage done by GES.

Gaithersburg Elementary School 1

Posted January 26, 2015
- a parent
This is a horrible school .. the only positive thing I can think of is if you teach/prepare your child at home, maybe the child will get into magnet program easily as there will be little or no competition from within the school and may get a good recommendation.

Gaithersburg Elementary School 1

Posted January 06, 2015
- a parent
This school is horrible!! Coming down from Northern VA, my expectations were clearly high in regard to my childrens education. On the first day of school my 7 year old daughter comes home to tell me her teacher told them; her class will NOT be having homework all year round...how is this even possible!I went to an open house to observe how my kids were being taught, all I saw were these apperantly "nice teachers" who kept screaming at the children with no rational reason, not to mention a teacher did not let a student go to the restroom (we're talking about kindergarten here) During lunch the teachers let the students go on their behalf to the cafeteria while they chatted away and enjoyed their lunch. I can go on with a bigger list of incidents at this school...Overall my kids have been here for less than a year and I am extremely unsatisfied. I'm not sure who hires these so called "teachers". They really need to step up their A game and actually start teaching these students something!


Gaithersburg Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2014
- a parent
My son as been in this school since preschool, it's a great school with friendly and knowledgeable teachers.He is doing great academically and making friend's, there is no place we will rather be but G.E.C.

Gaithersburg Elementary School 5

Posted November 23, 2013
- a parent
Great, dedicated teachers. All three of my children had great experiences. The principal is wonderful and caring, and the school is cheerful and bright.

Nearby schools

Gaithersburg Elementary School
35 North Summit Ave, Gaithersburg, MD  20877
(301) 840-7136
Last modified Gaithersburg Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top