Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gaithersburg Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 656 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 5, 2013

It is a great school with excellent teachers. The fact that it offers Foreign Language as additional subject is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2010

I personally think gaithersburg middle school was okay. The only problem I had going there was that they DIDN'T enforce the dress policy to everyone. I coudn't were shorts or a tank top because I had "to much to show" & "it would be 'distracting' to others" but then when another person who (not to be mean) had less or nothing came along they could where ANYTHING they wanted and they would say absolutley nothing to them. & When my friend & I went to say something they wouldn't do anything about it. They would just push it aside as if it didn't matter. Other than that though, it's a very good school. Like the person below me said... Security was GREAT. (:


Posted December 20, 2009

I loved gaithersburg middle. i went their last year, the teachers were great and they were always there to help out. Security was awsome to. I miss my old school. I woold like to go back. Class of 2013~!~ :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 12, 2009

The building is very old. I know this because one of the teacher's said that she went there. However, it's a great school and everyday I wanna go back.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 22, 2009

I found that as a minority parent, you don't have the same quality of treatment as some of the non-minority parents. Teachers tend to believe 'let them fail' to learn how to turn in assignments on time ( and become independent). Also, if your child has a 504 plan, forget about getting help from the counselor. I had to demand a meeting several times before I finally had one. After about a month following the meeting , there was no follow up with my child on helping him to stay organized and help with turning in assignments on time; consequently, my child ended up with bad grades. I feel as though when a student has failed, the teachers/staff/leadership has failed to meet the student's needs. This school's ratings should be a negative 1.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2009

I loved Gaithersburg middle school I thougth it was a exellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2008

I love where i go to school. I go to school at Gaithersburg Middle School. why our teachers care about what grades we get. the care if something happens. they try there best to take care of every sigle one of us. I love my school because we have character. like responsibility,citizenship,caring,respect,fairness,trustworthiness.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 11, 2007

Poor quality leadership. The student body is full of gang issues and behavior problems. Leadership changes frequently. Building in poor condition and security staff is not acceptable. The teachers are low quality and the good ones get out when they can more to another school in a better area. Stay away from the Bridge Program.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 22, 2006

Quality of Education is great! Diversity of the school has worked great for success.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 17, 2006

I have been at GMS for 3 years and still amazed at how close the staff is and how active the parents are. I still don't understand where the 'bad'rap came from for this school. The kids are awsome, the parents want the best, and the staff is out-of-this world. I would have no problem sending my kid to this school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 16, 2006

great diversity along with good academics
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2005

I would like to say that I think GMS was a excellent school. My daughter received an excellent education and was a honor roll student throughout her years here. For some reason GMS has a bad rep where people seem to feel this is not the school to have your children attend, but they are wrong. I was very happy here and so was my child. The staff was great. I have no problems sending my son here next year. I feel he will get the same education as someone going to a down county school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

When I arrived in Montgomery County I was steered away from the area we moved into because of the school districting. I think realtors in Montgomery County should attend Gaithersburg Middle School and stop perpetuating perhaps an old stereotype that a school rich in diversity is poor in educational potential. I love the administration at this school. Middle school will never be problem free, its human nature that children in these turbulent years will have issues arrive, but the staff at GMS handle everything professionally and effectively. I've never seen a school administration so open to input that will help them improve the school. I can't ask for anything more. I am happy to be a part of the GMS community and encourage parents that have heard anything negative about the school to come see for themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2014.

216 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2014.

214 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

238 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2014.

233 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

220 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

220 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2014.

217 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 32% 12%
White 30% 42%
Black 25% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 6%
Two or more races 6% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2 Teachers' Way
Gaithersburg, MD 20877
Phone: (301) 840-4554

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Lodge School
Gaithersburg, MD


Oakmont School
Gaithersburg, MD



Forest Oak Middle School
Gaithersburg, MD


Yang Academy
Gaithersburg, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT