Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
36 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Gaithersburg High School 5

Posted April 28, 2016
- a parent
I have 2 children who go to Gaithersburg High. It's a large school with a new, beautiful facility and sports fields. There are a large variety of classes and plenty of AP and Honors classes to choose from. I have found most of the staff to be extremely responsive and dedicated to the students.

Gaithersburg High School 4

Posted March 27, 2015
- a student
Gaithersburg is a great school. Its a great learning atmosphere. Students and teachers are great and supportive of one another for the most part. Despite all of the bad rumors from the past, the new school has changes the spirit of everyone and Gaithersburg has become one of the best schools in the county in my opinion.


Gaithersburg High School 4

Posted September 11, 2014
- a community member
Gaithersburg High School is 37% Hispanic. At last evening's Back to School Night Hispanic parents were overwhelming ABSENT! Most of those attending were parents of black students (27% of the student population and the greatest representation was from white parents which represents only 22% of the students attending GHS. This is an amazing facility with everything a child needs to learn. In fact, if you can't learn in this environment and from these teachers, it is probably your own fault. What we can't do is make parents more involved. What a shame.

Gaithersburg High School 5

Posted January 24, 2014
- a parent
Great school! My son has had excellent teachers and classes. Plenty of advanced classes offered! to meet the needs of all students.

Gaithersburg High School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
Best counselors ever! They take time for each child they counsel, and really. talk with them, and the parents. Best teachers - they keep senior year interesting and challenging! Best principal - positive attitude that exudes throughout the school. She sets the tone for success in the school.


Gaithersburg High School 1

Posted June 26, 2013
- a parent
At first I thought Gaithersburg High School was a great school for my child. Yes there's kids who graduate but there's a high rate of drop outs in this school. They don't really give you the help you ask for. I have been asking for help and I even wanted a screening on my child but they thought that wasn't the right desition. If my child and know what's right for my child why would they deny my request. So if they wernt giving me the help I needed I tried to transfer my child to a school that well actually give my child the help he needs but Gaithersburg isn't trying to let my child go and now there saying that I never asked for help.

Gaithersburg High School 1

Posted December 06, 2012
- a parent
My review is based on two kids at GHS - one graduated in 2012 the other will graduate in 2014. I have never encountered such a bunch of uncaring and disengaged teachers in all of my life. Only about 20% seem competent in their subject matter or teaching at the secondary school level. AP classes are a joke and dumbed down. Certainly not preparing students for college. The school was satisfied with my son's performance as long as he wasn't one of the students involved in the daily fights, fires in trash cans or gang activity. Took a couple of years of private tutoring to get my son ready for college - GHS teachers - no help. Lazy instructors. School now overrun by ESOL students with the result that the teachers have low academic expectations of the students. Current facility is an embarassment. I have to apologize to my kids for sending them to this school. I noticed no award winning teachers in the last decade due to lack of leadership.

Gaithersburg High School 5

Posted November 04, 2012
- a parent
Great school. My daughter graduated from GHS in 2012. I have been more than pleased with the attentiveness given her by the teachers and administrators. When we moved from the Richard Montgomery cluster, I was concerned that she would not flousish. Additionally, I'd heard negative things about the school and it's students. What I experienced was 180 degrees opposite from what I'd heard. The disciplinary problems were no worse than those at Richard Montgomery. My daughter completed three years and with the encouragenment of GHS maintained good grades and is now in college on a scholarship. do yourself a favor and drop by to see for yourself what's happening at GHS. The principal Dr. Christine Handy Collins has turned the school around. Trojan Pride is on the Rise.


Gaithersburg High School 1

Posted November 01, 2012
- a parent
My daughter attended GHS in 2011 and I was very unhappy with it. A large number of students have no intention of continuing on to college and some are only putting in their time until they are allowed to quit. I know the school can't control this but all the same it is not an atmosphere that I want my children to be in. My daughter complained of science labs that couldn't be completed because of misbehaving classmates, fights on a daily basis, teen pregnancy, etc. We received a recorded call before the PSAT was administered urging students to attend school and even resorting to prizes for attendance just to get the students to take the test. The few times that I was in the building the security guards did their jobs of signing people in but it was not at all a welcoming atmosphere, I almost felt like I was just an annoyance to be dealt with. I understand that if you take the AP or honors courses you can get a very good education but my daughter is not honors level in every course. She should be able to get a good education in the regular classes. Her motivation to succeed started to disappear. It seems that this school is for honors students and non-students, not average students.

Gaithersburg High School 3

Posted June 16, 2012
- a parent
I graduated at GHS 1n 1984. It was a great school then. My oldest daughter graduated from GHS in 2010 and she took adventage of a good education and going to college now. My middle daughter just finished 11th grade and I am very dissappointed. Culture has changed and there are less and less kids who really strive to succeed. I will not be sending my son there in one year and will be moving to another state instead.

Nearby schools

Gaithersburg High School
314 South Frederick Ave, Gaithersburg, MD  20877
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. (301) 840-4700
Last modified Gaithersburg High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top