Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Whetstone Elementary School 4

Posted July 03, 2014
- a parent
Re: concern regarding the administration, there will be a new vice principal starting in 2014-15 school year. Our experience w the administration and staff has been overall positive. We have experienced nothing but cordial and helpful responses to our questions.

Whetstone Elementary School 2

Posted June 09, 2014
- a parent
Time for a change in leadership. When my family first moved to the Whetstone area, Great schools graded it a 6. Its now a 3 and based on my experience with the school, I am not surprised. The administration writes off the poor results on the local population mix and rationalizes away their results rather than doing anything innovative. Until there is a new Principal, this school will continue the direction its going. Great schools - can you get lower than a 1?


Whetstone Elementary School 4

Posted April 04, 2014
- a parent
My children have attended this school for four years. Every teacher they have had has been EXCELLENT, and the administration actively works with parents.

Whetstone Elementary School 4

Posted October 24, 2013
- a community member
I think this school would be great if kids in the class would be made to stop hitting,and not just brush it off as that's the way he /she is. Why should my child suffer the consequences oh their bad behavior?

Whetstone Elementary School 4

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
My son completed Kindergarten at Whetstone Elementary and is gearing up to start 1st Grade in just a few days. We were beyond satisfied with his teacher last year. She provided all of the support that he needed in order to thrive, was extremely responsive to our correspondence and genuinely cared about every single student in the class. We are happy and proud to be part of the Whetstone family and look forward to this next year and those that follow!


Whetstone Elementary School 5

Posted September 21, 2012
- a parent
I Love this school and My child love this school. I don't have any issues with this school.

Whetstone Elementary School 5

Posted June 03, 2011
- a parent
I didn't have space to clarify my comments about the standards based grading and reporting before. This system evaluates students on a scale of 4, 3, 2, 1 instead of the traditional A, B, C, etc. It has been piloted by Montgomery County in some of their elementary schools. As far as I know, Whetstone did not have the choice as to their participation in the pilot program. I think the A-D grading system provides better input for parents as to how their child is doing and how they compare to others.

Whetstone Elementary School 2

Posted April 26, 2011
- a parent
There are very caring teachers, but they alone cannot make up for poor administration and unhealthy pressure and obsession over numbers rather than if a child is succeeding or failing. My child had to transfer from Stedwick; I was sad for her to transfer and my experience with this school makes it very apparent my sadness was founded.


Whetstone Elementary School 2

Posted November 30, 2009
- a parent
I really like my son's kindergarten teacher and think she is a wonderful teacher. But I don't think some of the children are challenged enough. I feel as though my son is being held back from his full potential. I have to agree, the office staff can be very rude.

Whetstone Elementary School 2

Posted June 12, 2009
- a parent
I have to say that I absolutely love the teachers, but the administration is one that is to be questioned and concerned about. My daughter is in first grade and has been struggling all year with reading issues. Becaue her grades are not bad enough the county will not test her although she is falling behind and they are now ttrying to put her at below grade level reading when her only issue is the fact that they rush the children through their testing. I love th teachers and think the office staff is rude, and the administration all the way around could really use some better peopl skills and show some more concern for he each child. I want to know my child is with people who truly care about her wellbeing and with the administration I do not feel that at all. Its all about the numbers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Whetstone Elementary School
19201 Thomas Farm Rd, Gaithersburg, MD  20879
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (301) 840-7191
Last modified Whetstone Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top