Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Arundel High School

Public | 9-12 | 1963 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 6, 2014

Our experience with our High School aged children was difficult. The school does not offer any TAG or MAGNET type programs to challenge children with higher IQ's. Every time we had a meeting at the school you had to get through students they had working at the administrative desks to try and attend those meetings. If I had it to do over again I would have paid for private schooling. I was shocked to see that this school has a 9 rating, which makes me question other places.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2014

The school has created a stimulating learning environment . There is a selection of dedicated & talented teachers and they continue to take on the challenges on an ever changing education system. I believe that with increased parent involvement and more effective teacher enrichment programs, the school can continue on its journey to greatness!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2014

School District Central Offices provides limited scope evaluations to then use a excuse for poor support for disable children. The Central Offices has refused to approve full and complete Independnet Education Evaluatiins - it is a MSDE investigation finding of federal law violation. Central Offices doe snot consider independent evaluations; they only accept to provide resources or provision that have no cost to the budget at the detriment of disable children. Improvement will be with just proper implementation of mandatory Child Find of IDEA 2004. Also, there is need for School Central Offices to timely implement approved provision for disable children. Furhter, the District fails to recognize many reading disability problems and provide appropraite accomodations , tools and services, because their staff have very limited expertise. It is a school district where you need to pay for attorneys and still take a long time to get proper solutions to help a disable child..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2013

I am currently a junior at Arundel High School. I think Arundel High has to be one of the best in the state. The principal truly fights to have more programs for students, including the one hour lunch period, "Wildcat Hour." The new science wing, and cafeteria expansion are a beautiful set to the school. The rules are strictly enforced. Although, there are some snobby sports kids at Arundel, it doesn't stop it from being one of the best in the state. Most of the teachers make learning fun. The only improvement I have is to modernize the other parts of the school building. They don't have to tear it down, they could just expand like they did when they built the new science wing, and the new half of the cafeteria. The could just modernize the inside on the old parts of the building like they currently doing with the auditorium.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 15, 2013

Arundel offers many opportunities to students. The course selections are immense. Wildcat hour helps students fit in extracurricular activity during the school day, get tutoring, or begin homework early. The coffee with the Principal that is held every two months is invaluable. I have two children at the high school and believe they are getting a well-rounded, strong education. They will be well-prepared for the rigors of college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2011

I am a parent who volunteers in the front office and I have seen how PASSIONATE the principal is about these kids' education! She fights for the children even if the parents don't. That's why she has been voted best principal by the Washington Post and the school was voted most improved for this school year. She even holds "Coffee with the Principal" on a regular basis to keep communications open. One of the science teachers was just honored by President Obama for her work at the school. The music department has just won state's honors. The sports teams are top notch. The staff works diligently to provide the kids with the best and safest learning environment. Impressed yet? I continue to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2010

the food stinks and the leadership at this school is lacking. the fights that occur is unreal. by pass arundel when driving
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2010

I believe the current principal is the ideal person to lead this school. She relates in a unique way to all strata of the student population, and is an inspirational leader to its faculty and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2010

The school and teachers are great but the 'principal' is loud, rude and very 'red-neckish', not at all a professional. I have witnessed her on a 'rampage' in the main office more than once and doesn't seem to care who is listening, including parents. Arundel's image is deffinately taking a hit with this one!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

My child has a new teacher this year, a young Spanish teacher who makes everything exciting and fun in literature. The teacher teaches this class and at the same timeto othr schools on the internet. What a great way to make learning fun. The teacher really understands what our children need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2009

It has the best security system I've ever seen before. GO WILDCATS!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

My daughter graduated from AHS in 2009. I have 2 more children that will be attending AHS in the Future. Great School with a lot of Pride.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

Arundel High is pro-active; good isn t good enough, and Arundel High has a staff and Principal committed to the kids and their parents! Over the past few years new programs have been implemented: CATS advisory, PBIS, Wildcat Hour and KOM mentor (now AMP) that are improving everything from our academics to our school morale. I feel fortunate to live in the Arundel Feeder system!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2009

My child attended summer school at this highschool. I though it would be extremely challenging for my child coming out of a PGCC school; however, I found it was a great change of environment. My child really excelled. The progress was phenomenal. I found the teachers and the administration to be very informative. This was the first semester in an Arundel County school and I am pleased to say the school lives up to its name. I can only hope his new jurisdictional school (OMHS) is close to this school in ranking. Keep up the good work Arundel. This new generation needs the guidance and you have proved that you have professionals that strive to help the students build an excellent career for themselves... whether it be an academic career or professional career. Thanks for the summer of excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

Arundel is a wonderful school that will prepare your child for the challenge of college. The building sports a new science wing with flat screen, real-time computers; a renovated cafeteria and gymasium. The parent organizations are totally supportive and the teachers are wonderful. The music and athletic program are more than competitive. They are outstanding. I had some doubts about this school when my daughter first started. I didn't know much about it. As I watched my daughter grow and succeed past a 4.0 I knew this school was the best one for her. This is a great and challenging school with a dedicated faculty, staff and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2007

I am a former student of Arundel Senior High. I can tell you, without question, that this school prepared me for college and played a large part in my career success. Philip L. Butts is the greatest instrumental music instructor that any school, public or private can ask for. While the facilities are outdated - we never whined about what we lacked. We used what was there and continued to become the best and the brightest that the county has. Parent involvement has always been high. Parent organizations support everything from academics to music to sports. If Arundel can turn out the high quality students that they have over the years with sub-standard facilities, just think what they will do as the building is upgraded with air conditioning and science labs. Great school. Great faculty. Great academic programs. Great extra-curricular activities. Great sports. Great students. Great experience.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 12, 2006

Principal Sharon Stratton calls Arundel High a microcosm of, and a reflection of, our community. The community serving Arundel has many assets; it also has problems like drugs, single parent households with little teen supervision, racism, etc. There are many positive kids and teachers at Arundel, but there are also shortages of resources (like air conditioning, modern science classrooms, etc.) A well motivated child or a child with an very involved parent can do well; a lost child can get even more lost at Arundel. Anne Arundel County schools start earlier than any other county in MD (7:17 am), and therefore the kids are out of school and on their own sometime after 2 pm. If your child is motivated and involved that is fine; if not, much can happen between 2 and 6 pm.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

I am not a parent but a former student. I really truly feel like I was given a top-rate education at Arundel. The majority of the teachers really seemed to care about my learning and even tried to make it enjoyable. The only comment I have is that my classes were always larger than 19 per teacher... much larger.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 4, 2003

My two children graduated from Arundel, five years apart. Although there were many changes during the five-year interim, the quality of the education each received prepared them very well for their college pursuits. The school places an emphasis on student accountability and responsibility, and is staffed with caring teachers who were committed to their students and their subject. There were many extra-curricular activities that they participated in sponsored by the school such as spring and fall sports, dances, band, drama, Key Club, and chorus to name a few. I think that they received a great education at Arundel High School, and as importantly, they both think so as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra

The state average for Algebra was 84% in 2013.

438 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

454 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
English II

The state average for English II was 83% in 2013.

456 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland High School Assessments (HSA) to test students in English 2, Algebra, and Biology upon completion of each course. The HSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. Students are required to pass the tests in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 42%
Black 25% 35%
Hispanic 6% 12%
Two or more races 6% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1001 Annapolis Rd
Gambrills, MD 21054
Phone: (410) 674-6500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Rockbridge Academy
Millersville, MD


Indian Creek School
Crownsville, MD




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT