Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Arundel High School 1

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
There is a new critical low in the education process at this high school and other AACPS high schools. In Oct 2015 the students were notified by the school staff that AACPS district administrators will no longer support the historical practice of school staff providing letters of recommendations for the students’ admission to good public and private universities (post-secondary education). This only affects the students who are placed in disadvantage with other students from across the nation in their college admission process.

Arundel High School 5

Posted June 29, 2015
- a community member
Great school! I still hear positive stories about Arundel years after I graduated. From the students, to the faculty, and the athletic staff -- Arundel gives all those who walk through its halls the tools to succeed. It's always a great day to be a Wildcat!


Arundel High School 5

Posted August 07, 2014
- a community member
My cousin just graduated from Arundel and most of my family went there, including my father. I just recently moved to an Anne Arundel County high school (Severna Park) from A Montgomery County high school. All of my family loved this school and say everything about it is amazing. It has a very good reputation too. Its known as one of the best high schools in the area. At my current high school (Severna Park), this high school is noted as a good school too. Keep up the good work, Arundel!

Arundel High School 1

Posted March 27, 2014
- a parent
The school does not care about the students the parents do not pay any attention to the teachers at all please do not be like other parents and not get involved.

Arundel High School 1

Posted March 06, 2014
- a parent
Our experience with our High School aged children was difficult. The school does not offer any TAG or MAGNET type programs to challenge children with higher IQ's. Every time we had a meeting at the school you had to get through students they had working at the administrative desks to try and attend those meetings. If I had it to do over again I would have paid for private schooling. I was shocked to see that this school has a 9 rating, which makes me question other places.


Arundel High School 4

Posted February 06, 2014
- a parent
The school has created a stimulating learning environment . There is a selection of dedicated & talented teachers and they continue to take on the challenges on an ever changing education system. I believe that with increased parent involvement and more effective teacher enrichment programs, the school can continue on its journey to greatness!

Arundel High School 5

Posted April 07, 2013
- a student
I am currently a junior at Arundel High School. I think Arundel High has to be one of the best in the state. The principal truly fights to have more programs for students, including the one hour lunch period, "Wildcat Hour." The new science wing, and cafeteria expansion are a beautiful set to the school. The rules are strictly enforced. Although, there are some snobby sports kids at Arundel, it doesn't stop it from being one of the best in the state. Most of the teachers make learning fun. The only improvement I have is to modernize the other parts of the school building. They don't have to tear it down, they could just expand like they did when they built the new science wing, and the new half of the cafeteria. The could just modernize the inside on the old parts of the building like they currently doing with the auditorium.

Arundel High School 5

Posted February 15, 2013
- a parent
Arundel offers many opportunities to students. The course selections are immense. Wildcat hour helps students fit in extracurricular activity during the school day, get tutoring, or begin homework early. The coffee with the Principal that is held every two months is invaluable. I have two children at the high school and believe they are getting a well-rounded, strong education. They will be well-prepared for the rigors of college.


Arundel High School 5

Posted May 04, 2011
- a parent
I am a parent who volunteers in the front office and I have seen how PASSIONATE the principal is about these kids' education! She fights for the children even if the parents don't. That's why she has been voted best principal by the Washington Post and the school was voted most improved for this school year. She even holds "Coffee with the Principal" on a regular basis to keep communications open. One of the science teachers was just honored by President Obama for her work at the school. The music department has just won state's honors. The sports teams are top notch. The staff works diligently to provide the kids with the best and safest learning environment. Impressed yet? I continue to be!

Arundel High School 1

Posted April 08, 2010
- a parent
the food stinks and the leadership at this school is lacking. the fights that occur is unreal. by pass arundel when driving

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Arundel High School
1001 Annapolis Rd, Gambrills, MD  21054
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (410) 674-6500
Last modified Arundel High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top