Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Waters Landing Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 663 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 5, 2014

This school is the worst I have seen. We have moved through the US and outside the US and have seen many schools. My child was at this school in Kindergarten and first grade. The Kindergarten teacher seemed to be annoyed all the time and not happy to be there. The first grade teacher was not better. They both did not put any efforts to teach the children!!!Also the teacher-parent communication is very poor, they did not reach out to parents to improve the situation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2014

My kid dose not like the school mainly because he gets in trouble at lot but he says he dose not like all the portables outside when will the school be fished .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2010

My oldest child is in Kindergarten at WLES. She loves her teacher and the learning environment. We find her teacher to be responsive, very well trained, organized, and passionate about teaching children! We absolutely love Dr. Poole, the principal. I find the school's leadership to be knowledgeable, organized, communicative, responsive and 'ahead of the ball' in terms of educating today's youth. The PTA and WLES parents/families are a very active and nurturing bunch. Spirit Nights, book fairs and other school events are well attended and lots of fun. The curriculum is rigorous, too. While we find the standard curriculum to be a bit less challenging than we (personally) would like, we are very impressed with the school's ability to challenge kids of all levels of learning with various curriculum in the classroom. WLES beats the local private schools any day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Waters Landing has a warm feel where the staff supports each child so that child can really be all that they can be. The children are given a chance to vol in the school to support others and learn what it is like to give to other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2009

We have lived all over the United States. My kids have gone to several different public and private schools across the country. Waters Landing is by far the worst school we have ever encountered. We pulled our son out and are homeschooling until we move away from Germantown this summer. I'm not sure why there are positive parent reviews. The great school rating is more accurate. Low test scores, bad learning environment, unmotivated teachers, and lack of leadership all contribute to the poor quality of education at Waters Landing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2008

My daughter will going into the 5th grade and she has loved going to this school. She as been going here since Kindergarden and has loved ever teacher she has had. As her Parents we have been very pleased with all of this schools staff. Every member of the staff at this school has been such a blessing to our child and to us. We would recommend this school to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2007

My daughter attended WLES from grade 2 - 5 and we had a positive experience. She is now in MLK and my son started K here. He is very fond of his teachers and his classmates. We try to be involved any time there is a chance to, and find a lot of parents do the same. I do wish there were less kids per classroom (about 22-25). The teacher usually responds to us that day or the next depending. All in all WLES is a good school to build an educational foundation and I would recommend to others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2006

I love this school! My daughter went from K-5 (just started middle school) and her teachers were fabulous the whole time. She took advantage of everything the school offers from academics to pep squad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2006

We are currently in the middle of a principal change, so I don't know how the new principal will be. The school is rock solid however. The staff is fantastic, with a couple of exceptions. My kids are in drama, an african drum playing club, they do cross country, and the older ones take instrumental band. There is a lot offered for those who want to take advantage of it. The PTA is very active in the school. Our parent participation could be better, but it is still good compared to many of the schools my friends kids go to. If I had it to do over, I would still have my children go to school at Waters Landing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2006

My daughter went this school for first grade, and we had a horrible experience. We started off the year by having the school lose my child at dismissal. It only went down hill from there. The amount of pressure to excel they put on a first grader was horrible. Her self esteem plummeted and her grades followed. Then, the school insinuated that she may have learning disabilities. Amazingly, we changed schools/school districts and she flourished at her new school and was asked to apply to the gifted and talented program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2006

My daughter attends K and loves this school....It is friendly and well managed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2005

I too have been very involved in my childs success with WL. But I am not happy with the administration there. It is very hard to get a response back with them. I had two children who attended ther. One has moved on to middle shcool and the other child is still there, but trying to understand more of there learning curriculm has been very confusing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2005

For the last two years, my husband and I have been responsive, involved parents, and for the last two years have felt unhappy with the teachers that our son has had...this year is the worst in regards to the expectations of a First Grader!! Responsiveness is awful, correspondence and getting back to us in non-existent and now I am fed up and preparing to a.) move to another school district; or b.) put my child in private school...this is a shame as this school is supposed to be a Great School, yet all of the experiences that we have had have not been Great. Good luck.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2004

love it.... but too small.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 29% 35%
Hispanic 28% 12%
White 24% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 12% 6%
Two or more races 6% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Cross country
Girls sports
  • Cross country

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13100 Waters Landing Dr
Germantown, MD 20874
Phone: (301) 353-0915

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


William B. Gibbs Jr.
Germantown, MD






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT