Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Captain James E. Daly Elementary School 5

Posted March 14, 2016
- a parent
This is our 3rd year with my daughter and my son is starting next year. Great teachers working really hard. Everyone seems very involved. The School always have activities and communication with parents is excellent . I would say some parents are not participating as they should.

Captain James E. Daly Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted March 14, 2016
- a parent
The principal and Mrs. Kelly they are always present in most activities. Everyone is very caring , Thank you!


Captain James E. Daly Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted March 14, 2016
- a parent
I can see it in my daughter her friends and my neighbors. It is a great school but parents are not participating as much

Captain James E. Daly Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 05, 2016
- a parent
They have made my son and I aware of particulars and for this I appreciate it.

Captain James E. Daly Elementary School 1

Posted January 05, 2016
- a parent
A parent My son is in the 4th grade and in the middle of the school year I am in the process of removing him from this school. He has only attended here for one week prior to us moving into this area. There are 4th grade children that like to bully others for fun. I have low tolerance for bullying. I will do any and everything to get him out of there. To me, the staff members do not seem as though they take things like this very seriously. For a little girl to come to my son indicating that she will get her gang on him and its real is not the environment I feel safe and comfortable for my son to be in. The caliber of people going to this particular school just seems like very troublesome children. I am a well involved parent and if I were you the piece of advice I will give to you is look into the school you put your child and children in because every Montgomery Co. School is not a good school.


Captain James E. Daly Elementary School 5

Posted December 03, 2015
- a parent
I have had four kids attend Daly- two that are now graduated from High School and two currently attending- so I am a long time Daly parent. The current principal and vice principal are fantastic. We have had wonderful teachers who take an interest in my children and help them play to their strengths. There were two very rude front office staff that have since been replaced so that problem is solved. The biggest problem ( in my opinion) is that overall parent participation is very low. PTA is poorly attended with a core group of about ten people carrying the load. Staff and administration can only do so much without solid support of parents. This is a title one school and very diverse.

Captain James E. Daly Elementary School 1

Posted May 22, 2014
- a parent
Worst school ever, don't complain to them they will take on you kids. They label kids and stress them. They call you for anything. Don't send your kids there I was just waiting for the end of the year to move my kids.

Captain James E. Daly Elementary School 5

Posted September 30, 2013
- a parent
Two of my kids went to Daly Elementary and they loved it. It is a great school, great teachers, the principal is very involved and caring. Both of my kids received a tailored education that catered to their needs. For instance they were placed in a higher Math class since first grade. When my eldest started Middle school, he skipped six grade math and reading and he started directly in seventh grade math and reading. I think the staff, the teachers are very caring and my kids would not have been able to succeed without the teachers at Daly. We were very involved with the school and the PTA as the school cannot achieve much without the parents full dedication and involvement. Thank you Mrs. Dietz for all your hard work!


Captain James E. Daly Elementary School 5

Posted September 30, 2013
- a parent
Great School, my attends Daly and he loves it. We move dto the are in 2008 and we love it here. The teachers are great and the school principal is very dedicated with years of hands on experience in the education field. My son progressed very nicely in both reading and Math and he loves the extracurricular activities offered at Daly. He loved Mrs. Sheinen, his second grade teacher, her kindness and her generosity has had a long lasting impact on him. I also like the teacher's willingness to cooperate with the parents to help students succeed. Their willingness to communicate with the parents. I think more parents involvement would be very beneficial. Thank you Daly for making every child a Daly success!

Captain James E. Daly Elementary School 5

Posted August 28, 2013
- a parent
Really great school, with teachers and an administration that care about my child. My daughter has progressed nicely, even in math. We've been at the school for 3 years, and are very pleased with the academics, teachers, and administration.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Captain James E. Daly Elementary School
20301 Brandermill Dr, Germantown, MD  20876
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (301) 353-0939
Last modified Captain James E. Daly Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top