Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Spark M. Matsunaga Elementary School 3

Posted November 20, 2014
- a community member
Overall the school is great. The only thing is that they give the students way too much work. They expect that their work is finished by the specific date and if it's not finished, the student will get a bad grade.

Spark M. Matsunaga Elementary School 1

Posted June 10, 2014
- a parent
Very displeased with this school's ability to manage problem children it knowingly admits to into the school. Multiple times this year I have had to write about problem children. In fact, a problematic child has been repeatedly abusive to mine and other children. The pattern is the same. Children report the verbally abusive child to the teacher, the teacher sends the child to the office, and the problematic child repeats the behavior the next day. Over and over this happens yet the administrators say the problematic child receives "consequences" but no one is allowed to know that or be made aware of them. When a parent comes face to face with that problematic child and the become abusive to your child in your presence, what would you do? If you attempt to verbally--VERBALLY--educate the problematic child, then you may get what I got . . barred from future school field trips! I take comfort in knowing that many children came up to me to thank me for attempting to correct the problem child. My statement is this . . .protect your child from abusive children because this school is not proactive in matters such as this. They simply react to your raising concerns AFTER the incident.


Spark M. Matsunaga Elementary School 5

Posted April 05, 2014
- a parent
Excellent school and safe environment. The teachers and principal are enthusiastic and knowledgeable. My older child especially benefited from the best teachers right from kindergarten onwards. Enriched curriculum that rivals magnet programs. Hi-tech classrooms. Opportunities for social development and volunteer work. Absolutely love this school! Attended the magnet school orientation and I think Matsunaga is superior to that.

Spark M. Matsunaga Elementary School 5

Posted November 26, 2013
- a parent
I have had three children go here and it is an amazing school with a wonderful principal and administration and very down to earth and caring teachers. As a teacher in the county and having taught at two different schools under two different principals, there is no one like Mrs. Brubaker as the principal. My kids love it there and even with 1000 + students, it feels like a small community. Love the front staff - they will go that extra mile for the child.

Spark M. Matsunaga Elementary School 5

Posted September 24, 2013
- a parent
A great school. We are very quite satisfied with the school. The teachers of this school are great and quite accessable, they take extra effort ot see their students perform well. This is all possible under the able leadership of a energetic and friendly principal. Keep up the good work.


Spark M. Matsunaga Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
I did a lot of school research before deciding on moving to this Matsunaga neighborhood. The diversity of the students, the dedication of the principal and teachers, and the friendliness of the front staff is more than what we could have asked for in an elementary school. I have never met a principal of this caliber and am amazed by her energy. She is accessible even though there is a significant study body balances communication gracefully between teachers, parents and students. My son's teacher challenged him and kept the lines of communication open with us as parents. My son definitely matured during his first year and benefited from the disciplined and structured environment. He just completed kindergarten there and although he learned more from an emotional and social development point of view his first semester, he definitely was challenged academically in reading and writing second semester. The PTA is superb here and the parents are down to earth.

Spark M. Matsunaga Elementary School 1

Posted March 15, 2013
- a community member
Worst childhood experience EVER! Principal non existent when parents need to meet. Always in meetings outside of school, too busy to be concerned about students' well-being. Bullying is rampant here. Principal is very defensive and ignores parents' concerns about bullying. Bring lots of money when you enroll your child here. Nothing is free. You even have to buy your child's art work at the art show or they throw it out! Great school? Not.

Spark M. Matsunaga Elementary School 5

Posted February 29, 2012
- a parent
My daughter is in K. She wants to go to school 7 days a week. She is on reading level 16 now. The teachers there are the best. They spend a lot of time working with kids.


Spark M. Matsunaga Elementary School 5

Posted June 13, 2011
- a parent
My daughter attended Matsunaga K-1st and she is always happy to go to school. Matsunaga is a great school, great academic performance, strong leadership, responsive teachers and caring administrative staffs. The teachers are very attentative and they really work with students to meet the individual child's need. The on-site before and after school child caring program is very convenient, safe and fun for the kids. We are more than pleased with Matsunaga. 5 stars!

Spark M. Matsunaga Elementary School 5

Posted January 26, 2010
- a parent
We relocated here last summer & before we settled we interviewed 12 principals & viewed 14 schools on the MD side of the beltway. This school was hands down the best! The leadership is outstanding! The teachers teach to each child's individual ability & are very caring. The PE, Art & Music teachers are all top notch & highly qualified. The PTA is very active & offer several extracurricular activities & school functins weekly (ie. foreign language programs, school break activities and several fundraising programs). Parent volunteers are encouraged & welcomed daily throughout the school. My two children have attended the school for half a year & they love going to school. We have been very impressed with the diversity of the classrooms & the special ed programs. The Great Schools Rating for this school is way off and not valid in my opinion. This school is the best!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Spark M. Matsunaga Elementary School
13902 Bromfield Rd, Germantown, MD  20874
(301) 601-4350
Last modified Spark M. Matsunaga Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Spark M. Matsunaga Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top