Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Great Seneca Creek Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 764 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 14 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 30, 2014

I have 3 boys at GSCES and my oldest is finishing his 5th grade year. We have loved GSCES and the community of families. The staff at the creek have been amazing. My son went through some difficult health issues and his teacher and staff were so kind, caring, and helpful in caring for him! I highly recommend this school. And the way to get he best out of your child's school is to be involved- volunteer at the school, and join the PTA. You won't regret putting your child in GSCES!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2014

My son was a member of the first graduating class from GSCES. He enjoyed his time at the school and thought it was a fun learning environment. As a parent, I like the diversity at the school. The school population reflects the area we live in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2014

Great Seneca Creek is a wonderful learning establishment. My daughter is moving up to middle school at the end of this year and gets tears in her eyes when she thinks about leaving the best school ever! The staff is so caring and the administration is awesome. I served in the PTA Board of Directors so I had a front row seat to what happens behind the scenes and was amazed at how well the school is run. The Bullfrogs are taught from the beginning to be safe, responsible and respectful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2014

My oldest son has attended this school K-5, and my youngest is in kindergarten there. We absolutely love GSCES. The teachers and principal are extremely dedicated, progressive, and just amazing! The technology advances in the last few years have been phenomenal. The curriculum is rigorous while not allowing kids to get lost in the shuffle. My oldest is definitely prepared for middle school, and the leaps and bounds my youngest have made this year under the nurturing guidance of the kindergarten team blows my mind! The PTA and parent support is second to none. My kids love this school and so do I. I am proud to have my children going to GSCES and am happy to be an active member of the PTA. The school spirit is so infectious! GSCES make learning fun!!! Go Bullfrogs!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2014

GSCES provided my kids with a great educational foundation -- it's a strong school community. Parents, teachers and administration were caring and involved -- there's a great sense of teamwork. Core academics are balanced with unique hands-on arts, sports, science, service and club opportunities to benefit all types of learners. Germantown is one of the most diverse communities in the US and the school population is a great reflection of that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2014

I am so grateful that my kids go to Great Seneca Creek. The community that is this school is like nothing I've ever seen. The level of staff support, parent involvement and administrative leadership makes this a wonderful elementary school. My oldest is leaving to go to middle school next year and I know he has a strong foundation for success due to all he has learned and experience at Great Seneca Creek.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2014

We have two kids at Great Seneca Creek (4th and 5th grade) and I couldn't be happier with the teachers, the parent involvement and progress of our kids. The school has amazing technical resources to promote digital learning, and the teachers do a fantastic job of engaging kids across all of the core subject matters. The school has a huge list of Fall and Spring after school clubs (most are free or have a nominal cost) to encourage kids to spend time doing things they love (ranging from Tennis, Yoga, Sports, Math, Reading, Legos, and the list goes on). I can't think of a better school for my kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2014

I have 2 kids at Great Seneca Creek ES - amazing staff and great quality instruction, high tech classrooms, LEED certified facility that makes use of all "green" technology. Great environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2014

Great Seneca Creek Elementary School has wonderful teachers and a great principal. Both of our kids were at GSCES from Kindergarten through 5th grade. I volunteered at the school every week for 7 years so I got to know many of the teachers. I was continually impressed with the teaching at the Creek. Our kids and their friends loved the Creek. GSCES is a gold certified LEED school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2014

My school is a great neighborhood school. The teachers are fantastic, the principal has a good handle on the school and the kids are really learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2014

I had 2 boys "graduate" from GSCES and it they both loved it. Highly recommend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2014

Great Seneca elementary is a large elementary school with a small school feeling. You always feel welcome and wanted there. The teachers are amazing!!!! I had 2 kids go through there and out of all the teachers I was only slightly unhappy with one and it was because she was so new and inexperienced. Now she is amazing and experienced. I love the safe, respectful and responsible mantra. It has stuck with my middle and high schooler!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2014

This school have been great! My son started there when it was fist built., he is not in high school and my daughter is in 5th grade. I've postponed moving so that my daughter can complete her elementary education there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2014

This school has a wonderful principal, an excellent staff, and a strong PTA. My children love the super-fun activities like Bingo Night, Math night, and the Back to School picnic. The staff runs a school-wide incentive program that recognizes students' good behavior for being respectful, responsible, and safe. The students earn bullfrog bucks to spend in the school store. All of the teachers that my children have had have been good and three stand out as being exceptional. Overall, I am happy with the education that my children are getting and they enjoy attending Great Seneca Creek everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2013

GSC is a great school. My son is in his 3rd year there and is doing great. His kindergarten teacher was by far the most compassionate teacher I have met she took time out of her day everyday after school to help my son become a better reader. All the teachers are great and really care about the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2013

I used to love GSC. My son graduated in 2010 from second grade to fifth no problem. My daughter from kindergarden to up until she reached fourth grade. Then she started having a lot of problems with other students calling her names. I didnt like the way some of the teachers handled the issue. I have a big problem with the vice principal. She's rude and she talks to my daughter like she is an adult. She doesnt talk to me and she skips my car everytime I am on the car rider line to pick up my dautghter. Who does that? So unprofessional, I can not wait for my daughter to be done with that school. I know for sure I dont have to see her face ever again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2013

This school is AMAZING! I am a former student there and when I was there I had the time of my life. Great Seneca Creek changed the way that I thought about learning. Their teachers and staff are attentive and helpful. During the time I spent there I only saw one physical altercation. Other than that there was no problems. The school has cool technology such as netbooks and promethean boards but does not over use them. The old principal Mr. Edmundson was AMAZING. And I hear that the new principal Mr. Curry is well liked. The food there was good but not gourmet. Students there could sometimes be rowdy but that was mostly with the younger kids. Overall GSCES was an awesome experience and I wish that I culd go back and relive the time that I spent there. You will enjoy your time there just as much as I did. GO BULLFROGS!!!


Posted January 4, 2013

This school is excellent. It has advanced technology and experienced staff and is also the new principal of the school is amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2012

Great Seneca Creek has fantastic teachers and staff!! We are an original Bullfrog family and couldn't be happier with the quality of education and support our children have received throughout the years. There is a definite sense of community from the moment you walk through the doors. The Creek is more than a great school. It's a great family!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2012

GSCES is an AMAZING school! My children love going each and every day! The teachers are wonderful.. My children are in 2nd grade and I can honestly say we have loved all of their teachers. All of the staff and PTA are awesome as well :-) I don't have one complaint! I give this school 5 stars all the way!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

147 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

147 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

140 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

140 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

140 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 27% 42%
Black 25% 35%
Hispanic 23% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 18% 6%
Two or more races 7% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13010 Dairymaid Dr
Germantown, MD 20874
Phone: (301) 353-8500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Longview School
Germantown, MD




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT