Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

William B. Gibbs, Jr

Public | PK-5 | 730 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

This School is very good School..Teachers,Staff and Principal are cooperative.I hope it attains greater achievements.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2013

My child is attending the PEP program since he was 3, now he is ready to go to Kindergarten and I can't be more thankful and amazed with the dedication and love these teachers have. My experience with all of his teachers have been great, and he always comes home with great projects and so excited about what he learned. The school is wonderful and the administration is well run.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2013

My son is in 5th grade and he is in this school since from 3rd grade. Our son went to another good rated school in this region from Kidergarten to 2nd grade and so we could rate this school at par with other school that my son went. Though this school is new school ( just 4 years old) , the Principal is really very dynamic as well as the enthusistic teaching & admin team. The school has progreesed a lot in their planning and executing actiivities. The PTA is really great organinising lot of family events and lot of extra currucular activities like Science / Arts / other language learnings etc. Overall this a great school and we did not feel bad anytime on moving to this school zone from a well known school zone area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2013

Great School! I have 1st and 3rd graders. Teachers and staffs, PTA, everyone here is connected and very involved. They are professional and friendly. The school is located inside one big community, with the principal's great leading, this school will be the best school around th e area, I believe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2013

My son is in 2nd grade and I am very happy about the school. Staff is very responsive to student and parent needs. Principle is very proactive and works very well with students and parents. I really like their yearly STEM conference as well as additional enrichment opportunities available for students such as robotics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2012

I have a 1st grader in this school and am very excited about my kindergartner starting there next year. It's a wonderful school with a great staff and Teachers. They work as a team, together and with parents, in order to continually improve the quality of education and the learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2012

Am a former deputy administrator in education that is new to the area and, based on the school as well as the Board of Ed test scores on their respective websites, Gibbs appears to be an average-above average 3.5 stars) school. As the reviews indicate, I've heard nothing but praise for the school staff and look forward to meeting my son's teacher as well as other members of the instructional and support teams when school opens later this month. I was quite impressed with the principal and thoroughly enjoyed my interaction with her. However, as I indicated during our conversation, I would like to see more current information posted on the school website (including the school supply list (since school begins in less than 2 weeks).


Posted August 8, 2012

Gibbs is a GREAT school!. The staff is awesome, and the principal is always involved, she also knows the kids by name.The field trips are curriculum based. The PTA has great ideas that involves all nationalities. My son has attended grades 2nd-4th and my younger son was only able to attended Pre-K because we moved out of state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2012

We could not be happier at Gibbs! Every single one of our children's teachers has been top-notch, and the administration is very organized and in touch with the school community. There is a place for every child here, whether they have special needs or an extra challenge. I've never heard the words "I'm bored at school" coming out of my kids' mouths! The PTA is also terrific--lots of great activities throughout the year and parental involvement in the classroom. We have to move this summer because of my husband's job, and one of the things we are saddest to leave is Gibbs. GO GATORS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2012

We LOVE this school. We moved to this area specifically for Gibbs. The Principal runs the school extremely well, our daiughter's teacher is outstanding. The after school program provider is great. I just cannot say enough great things about this school!!,
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 31% 6%
White 25% 43%
Black 20% 36%
Hispanic 18% 12%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 24%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12615 Royal Crown Drive
Germantown, MD 20876
Website: Click here
Phone: (301) 353-0800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT