Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Germantown Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 475 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 28, 2014

Overall a very well runned school. Small enough where most staff members know the students by first name. Current principle runs a very structured school. This school gives strong focus on learning. I believe it's fair to say that it competes well with the educational focus commonly given in private schools. However, the current principal is not very amicable. She's very strong willed although does not come across as such in the beginning. She does not like being challenged nor negative feedback given on her staff. Serious staff issues brought to her attention are followed up quickly. However, issues she judges as not serious, she'll challenge the parent and come across as dismissive. She and some of her high ranking teachers should be reminded that they work for the county and out tax money provides their paychecks. Some of the staff should work on having and showing a more humble persona.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2011

Fantastic school. It just keeps gettig better and better for my kids and me. We love the teachers, principal, community members, etc!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2009

I think this is an excellent school. The teachers and principal are warm and caring. The size is small and has a community feel. I wouldn't change it for anything!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2008

My son is a K student at GES. Before he started in August 2007 I reviewed the school's test scores and saw that they were improving but was unsure about my son's future success. But since the beginning of the school year until now, I had the chance to see all the graphs for each grades showing a constant improvement in all subjects (reading, writing and math). More importantly, I have seen my own son s progress, which is phenomenal considering the fact that he was not fluent in English at the beginning of the school year. I truly believe that Ms. Bryant (principal), as well as her skilled and talented teachers, are accountable for the school improvement. Since her arrival five years ago, Ms. Bryant did considerable efforts to improve the school. I personally think that it is a matter of time before GES rating give them justice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2008

My child is in 5th grade and overall we have been very pleased with the implementation of the curriculum and the attentiveness of the teachers throughout the years. The PTA is very involved in helping to meet the needs of the school. We also appreciate the small school size.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2007

A few weeks ago I had a meeting with the principal who was receptive to my thoughts and was very caring and supportive of my child. I had never really talked with her before and I was very impressed with the committment she showed toward her job and the school. I hope she plans on staying for awhile. My child has 2 more years at Germantown.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2007

We are very pleased with everything at the school. The discipline, instructional quality, climate. etc. have improved greatly over the past 3-4 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2007

School is old in need of face lift. Principal not very friendly. My child's teacher was very unapproachable and did not like anyone asking any questions. I also found it strange that there were very few concerts, family after school activities or field trips. They are very big on fundraisers and are contantly selling something. Friends with elementary aged children at other local schools had many more activities and fewer fundraisers. School has great PTA staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2006

Great school/community based (otherwise known as life skills) special ed program. Teachers with 10+ years at the school, dedicated therapists, warm paraprofessionals, supportive administration, lots of willing engagement with regular ed kids. Privately run afterschool program able to accomodate special ed students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 28% 35%
Hispanic 28% 12%
White 22% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 17% 6%
Two or more races 5% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 29%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

19110 Liberty Mill Rd
Germantown, MD 20874
Website: Click here
Phone: (301) 353-8050

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT