Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Germantown, MD
Students enrolled: 313

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Germantown Elementary School 5

Posted September 30, 2014
- a parent
I moved to this school neighborhood after doing lots of research. After two years of having my kids educated at Germantown we are more than happy with all aspects of the school - teachers, principal, PTA, etc. The principal is extremely knowledgeable and personable, the teachers are friendly and hard-working, the other parents are welcoming and supportive. My research paid off in more ways than I can count!

Germantown Elementary School 4

Posted May 28, 2014
- a parent
Overall a very well runned school. Small enough where most staff members know the students by first name. Current principle runs a very structured school. This school gives strong focus on learning. I believe it's fair to say that it competes well with the educational focus commonly given in private schools. However, the current principal is not very amicable. She's very strong willed although does not come across as such in the beginning. She does not like being challenged nor negative feedback given on her staff. Serious staff issues brought to her attention are followed up quickly. However, issues she judges as not serious, she'll challenge the parent and come across as dismissive. She and some of her high ranking teachers should be reminded that they work for the county and out tax money provides their paychecks. Some of the staff should work on having and showing a more humble persona.


Germantown Elementary School 5

Posted August 10, 2011
- a parent
Fantastic school. It just keeps gettig better and better for my kids and me. We love the teachers, principal, community members, etc!

Germantown Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 05, 2009
- a parent
I think this is an excellent school. The teachers and principal are warm and caring. The size is small and has a community feel. I wouldn't change it for anything!

Germantown Elementary School 5

Posted April 16, 2008
- a parent
My son is a K student at GES. Before he started in August 2007 I reviewed the school's test scores and saw that they were improving but was unsure about my son's future success. But since the beginning of the school year until now, I had the chance to see all the graphs for each grades showing a constant improvement in all subjects (reading, writing and math). More importantly, I have seen my own son s progress, which is phenomenal considering the fact that he was not fluent in English at the beginning of the school year. I truly believe that Ms. Bryant (principal), as well as her skilled and talented teachers, are accountable for the school improvement. Since her arrival five years ago, Ms. Bryant did considerable efforts to improve the school. I personally think that it is a matter of time before GES rating give them justice!


Germantown Elementary School 4

Posted March 17, 2008
- a parent
My child is in 5th grade and overall we have been very pleased with the implementation of the curriculum and the attentiveness of the teachers throughout the years. The PTA is very involved in helping to meet the needs of the school. We also appreciate the small school size.

Germantown Elementary School 4

Posted June 16, 2007
- a parent
A few weeks ago I had a meeting with the principal who was receptive to my thoughts and was very caring and supportive of my child. I had never really talked with her before and I was very impressed with the committment she showed toward her job and the school. I hope she plans on staying for awhile. My child has 2 more years at Germantown.

Germantown Elementary School 4

Posted May 19, 2007
- a parent
We are very pleased with everything at the school. The discipline, instructional quality, climate. etc. have improved greatly over the past 3-4 years.


Germantown Elementary School 3

Posted March 16, 2007
- a parent
School is old in need of face lift. Principal not very friendly. My child's teacher was very unapproachable and did not like anyone asking any questions. I also found it strange that there were very few concerts, family after school activities or field trips. They are very big on fundraisers and are contantly selling something. Friends with elementary aged children at other local schools had many more activities and fewer fundraisers. School has great PTA staff.

Germantown Elementary School 4

Posted March 07, 2006
- a parent
Great school/community based (otherwise known as life skills) special ed program. Teachers with 10+ years at the school, dedicated therapists, warm paraprofessionals, supportive administration, lots of willing engagement with regular ed kids. Privately run afterschool program able to accomodate special ed students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Germantown Elementary School
19110 Liberty Mill Rd, Germantown, MD  20874
(301) 353-8050
Last modified Germantown Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Germantown Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top