Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kingsview Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 19, 2014

I've heard of this school and everyone makes it seem so good, when in actuality, it's not.


Posted August 22, 2013

The teachers show great concern for the students and their future success. The principal seems well versed in the continuing education of the students on through high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2012

I am a student and the school is great. There are a lot of afterschool activites and many offers to do above grade level material. Though there are flaws like corny and unessary "Sayings". Like ROAR... Although it's really fun. There is even a school store so you could purshace things with fake money you could earn. And they are pretty determined about student participation.


Posted August 28, 2011

My child is attending KMS and we believe it is an excellent school. The office staff are friendly and considerate. The principal, Ms. Thomas, is engaging and involved. It's nice to see the staff care about the students. Anytime we have had a concern the staff has been quick to listen and act when necessary. From what we've experienced the majority of students at KMS are respectful and interested in learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2009

Kingsview is one of the better middle schools in Upper Montgomery County. One thing that stands out for me is the friendliness of the office staff. They are quick to greet a visitor and see what they can do to help. A number of other schools I've been too have office staff that are nonengaged with visitors, grumpy and often suspicious of the motives of any child that shows up in the office. I salute Kingsview for breaking with that trend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2008

This school is excellent!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 2, 2008

I'm a student at KMS and I love it! The teachers are all so nice and you learn so much while having a great time. The other students there are awesome and you always feel really safe at school. The emergency procedures are well laid out with the exception of the new tornado drill. I'm just sad our principal is leaving but he sure improved the school a whole lot!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 21, 2007

I am a parent of a student that once attended KVMS. We left the state and have returned, hoping to have my son re-enrolled in KVMS. While living in another state I found that KVMS is a great school compared to the one that my son had to attend while in Georgia. I think that the prinicpal, staff and teachers are very helpful and do there best to assist the parent and student with whatever is needed. I rate KVMS a great school and feel proud that my son attends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2007

My older daughter graduated from Kingsview in 2005 and my younger daughter will start attending September 2007. My review does not cover the last two school years, a period of major change since the opening of a new middle school nearby alleviated the overcrowding problem. Overall, the school is very good. Teacher quality is generally good. Some were excellent, some mediocre, but most were good to very good. Math, English, and World Studies were good/very good. Science was weak. Foreign language teachers were very good but the classes were large so individual attention from the teacher was low. The principal Mr. Queen is a strong leader, which is mostly good but he did seem to disregard parental feedback.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2005

I am a student attending Kingsview M.S. I do not like this school. One because it is just like Elementery school. For example= walking in lines everywhere we walk. Plus the principle is probally the cause of that. Also that he has split the school up into communities. How that works is by having it like this= in community 1 there is a certain amount of 6th,7th,& 8th graders, and it's like that in all four communities. And then on top of that the school is extremly crowded, like 1500 kids crowded.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 6, 2005

this school is very crowded, but i think it manages itself fine judging by the massive amount of students. they have many extracurricular activities for students and have many intelligent young students. one student, last year, won the county-wide geography bee. the gifted-and-talented program is encouraged and they do great for kids. the music and arts program is wonderful. they have an award winning chorus AND band AND orchestra. the chorus is filled with many talented students as well as band and orchestra. overall, this school is very good.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 2, 2004

Way to crowdad! There are so many children that go there that there aren't enough lockers per student!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2003

Actually, this comment is not created by a parent, but an actual student who attends KMS (Kingsview Middle School). Overall, this school has great qualities. There are many students enrolled in KMS, but all teachers find individual attention for each student. Many extracurricular activities are run here, such as soccer, basketball, math team, web team, and even some clubs go on overnight trips to areas such as the Chesapeake Bay. As a student, I do not know much about parent involvement, except for the fact that parents are always involved as chaperones on field trips. Safety and discipline is strict and followed most of the time here at KMS. Overall, the quality is very good.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

328 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

328 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

326 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

327 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

289 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

288 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

289 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 34% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 24% 6%
Black 22% 35%
Hispanic 14% 12%
Two or more races 6% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18909 Kingsview Rd
Germantown, MD 20874
Phone: (301) 601-4611

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Longview School
Germantown, MD




Ridgeview Middle School
Gaithersburg, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT