Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Richard Henry Lee Elementary School 5

Posted August 13, 2016
- a community member
BACK WHEN I WENT IN THE EARLY 80'S TO MID 80'S..... IT WAS AWESOME TO LEARN FROM THE GREAT TEACHERS AND THEY DID STUFF WITH US BEFORE THEY WOULD DO IT IN OTHER SCHOOLS....

Richard Henry Lee Elementary School 5

Posted November 23, 2014
- a community member
Had a great time at Grandparents Day. Teachers were thoughtful and organized. Happy that my grandson attends.


Richard Henry Lee Elementary School 5

Posted August 18, 2014
- a parent
Schools are not just buildings, they are the people, the teachers, the students, the other parents, the leaders. They are not what you get out of them, they are what you put into them!! Parents need to step-up and raise and educate their children with the assistance of the public school systems, not let the systems educate and raise their children. Richard Henry Lee is a very good school. The people there care, and my child thrives as a student in this great environment! Kudos to RHLee . S. Cooke - Proud Parent

Richard Henry Lee Elementary School 5

Posted February 27, 2013
- a parent
The entire staff is very supportive and caring! They strive to have every child excel! As with any school there is a select parent cluster that are involved.

Richard Henry Lee Elementary School 2

Posted February 23, 2012
- a parent
This school was so much better with the other principal. The teaching staff for the most part (some teachers here are outstanding!) are great & helpful but this year....not so much! Not in my child's grade. They are rude condescending and negative! So disapointed this year. This school was ranked 7 out of 10 & now it's ranked 6 out of 10 & it shows in the school. My child has attended this school for a few years and this is the WORST year ever! AACPS needs to step in & really review how this school is being opperated and review some these teachers. What a shame!


Richard Henry Lee Elementary School 3

Posted April 18, 2011
- a parent
I see that several parents had wonderful reviews about the way the principal and teachers handled even the most challenging students. I wish I could write something just as positive. Back then whenever I came to the school I noticed how genuine Principal Wagner was about her care of each and every child. My son has been pretty lucky to have some very patient teachers who have taken the time to find out the special needs he has. Unfortunately there are other teachers at the school that feel very comfortable in loosing self control and scarring the heck out of kids they don t appreciate by hollering at them in the hallway at the top of their lungs. My son was the recipient of such teacher outburst; in fact he and his friend both came home crying and scared. The issue was resolved because the wonderful school counselor stepped in to help. She has also been a great help in trying to figure out how to help my son in his special needs and academic difficulties. In all of this neither the principal or vice principal has bothered to assist I any way. The teacher, who had her outburst at my child, just kept on her daily routine without any kind of reprimand.

Richard Henry Lee Elementary School 5

Posted July 23, 2009
- a parent
My son struggled and had outbursts in school daily. He was sent to the office constantly, and hated going to school. Mrs. Wagner, the principle at the time never gave up on him. She understood that there had to be underlying issues. She had him tested for learning disabilities, and offered him the help he needed. With her willingness to be understanding, and her undying devotion to her students, my son is now an honor roll student, and loves going to school. He also improved from a preschool reading level to a 2nd grade level in one year. He will be in 4th grade this year, and with the help of the teachers at this school he can only get better. Thank you Richard Henry Lee!!

Richard Henry Lee Elementary School 3

Posted February 18, 2009
- a parent
I think RH Lee is a pretty good school. I wish they would provide more detailed information about their curriculum. The news letter sometimes has outdated info by the time it is sent home with the students. I wish it were easier to network with parents but there's no directory. My son is new to the area and I've had a hard time meeting the parents of the kids in his grade level. I also wish that the teacher's were easier to contact and had more flexible meeting schedules.


Richard Henry Lee Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 04, 2008
- a parent
My girls came from th PG county school system and the difference between the two counities were huge. At RHL I love the fact that they asked in the begining of the year what are your childs strenghts and weaknesses. And they actually focus on them and help your child become a better student. My daughter is an honor roll students since she has been at RHL and getting better everyday

Richard Henry Lee Elementary School 3

Posted September 01, 2008
- a parent
I think the teachers are great, but however the office staff can be very rude. I don't like the way RH Lee is set up. I think that open classrooms can cause children to not be able to focus and learn the right way. The children hear other lessons being taught by other teachers which is very distracting.

Nearby schools

Richard Henry Lee Elementary School
400 A St, Glen Burnie, MD  21061
(410) 222-6435
Last modified Richard Henry Lee Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top