Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Solley Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 690 students

We make a positive learning environment for parents, students, and the community
 
 

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 15, 2014

Solley is a fantastic school. The staff are very proactive and care deeply for the welfare of the students. The PTA is very active and there are lots of volunteer opportunities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2013

the school needs leadership primarily with the principal, the teacher is ok, program good, music perfect, please when kids no go to school is for some reason all is humans, and sometimes is difficult send kids at school for any reason the school need more pacience thanks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2013

Hopefully with a new principal, this will become; as it has in the past, the "Best School Ever".


Posted August 12, 2013

My kids have gone to this school for 2 years. The teachers have been pretty good . However I believe that the principal Mr. Wagner is not as he seems. When my son had problems it was swept under the rug and was never resolved to my satisfaction or my sons. I hope with a new principal this new school year things will be different and both my children have a great school and then my rating would go up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2013

Wonderful school with friendly and helpful staff. My children love this school and enjoy waking up and experiencing each and evey day here. We came from the arnold school area and I comfortably say this school is a much better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2011

This is a WONDERFUL school. My kids transferred here after attending a private school and they have flourished beyond my expectations. They are recognzied for their hard work, congratulated for their acheivements, and are always encouraged to keep going. The communcication from the school is wonderful, teachers are approachable and available, and the administration is always present . The front office is phenomenal. The teachers care about every child and my children have benefitted from the individual attention they have received from their teachers. Music, band, dance group, lego club - all great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2009

My daughter loves the school, her fellow students, the staff, and especially her frist grade teacher Mrs Abbinanti. Everyone I've personally encountered are caring, lovely people who genuinely like children and want to foster their growth and education. The teachers encourage parent involvement and really listen and give feedback. Just wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

My son, who is a P-K student, loves his school and teachers, which makes me very happy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

My niece and nephew attend Solley and they speak very highly of the staff. I don't think I know too many kids who want to go to school even on weekends!


Posted September 29, 2009

It is the best Elementary School ever!! It has the best teachers, the school is very neat and clean!... The kids adore the environment and enjoy the learning experience!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2009

I've never seen so much school spirit then at Solley!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

It is my son's first year attending Solley in the Pre-K program, and I couldn't be more pleased and excited about the program and teachers and staff. I look forward to the next 6 years that my son will be enrolled here! (Not to mention he LOVES coming each day!!)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

The teacher take the time to TEACH and the school does a lot of extra activity's with the kids before & after school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

Solley has really been a great push for my kids. One is in the gifted and talented program and the other is on her way. They push the kids just enough that they are willing to go the distance without over-stressing them. KUDOS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

Solley is a wonderful school my daughter has been there since pre-k and is now in 2nd grade and she has learned so much the teachers put such an effort into teaching the students and taking the time to make them understand the work. They also make it fun for them so they want to go to school. It makes me happy everyday to send her there. I know she is in great hands.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

It's a great school with great teacher!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

Very impressed with the school and faculty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

Solley is the best. Great teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

Living in a small town in North Dakota, I can appreciate the quality of learning from a small town school and environment. Solley Elementry school has just that appeal. If I were to still live in Pasadena I would not hesitate to have my children enrolled there for the best of the basics to be taught.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

Great Teachers and a facility which fosters a wonderful learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 42%
Hispanic 9% 12%
Black 7% 35%
Two or more races 7% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 30%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff American sign language
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Principal of the Year (2011)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Clubs
  • Dance club

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
  • Vietnamese
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9:20 am
School end time
  • 3:45 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Robert Wagner
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (410) 222-6467

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
  • Vietnamese

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • None
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Dance club
  • Game club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
170
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
200

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
George Fox Middle School
Old Mill Middle North
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7608 Solley Rd
Glen Burnie, MD 21060
Website: Click here
Phone: (410) 222-6473

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT