Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Southgate Elementary School 4

Posted February 25, 2014
- a parent
My children have gone to Southgate from Kindergarten to Fifth grade. I have never had a problem. The teachers are excellent. They really care about your kids and want them to do well. They are very open and welcoming to parents. There are many activities to promote involvement and for raising funds for the school. I have also worked very closely with special education. They have always been openly communicative and care about what I think. My kids have been very lucky to have had the opportunity to go to this school.

Southgate Elementary School 5

Posted July 08, 2013
- a community member
This school was fun while it lasted while being my last year here the teachers are great and push you to do your best. The vice principal and principal don't play around, hopefully you don't end up in the office unless its for a positive referral. For all the southgaters I want to give you some advice get good grades and try your best, it will help you in the future! !


Southgate Elementary School 5

Posted February 14, 2013
- a parent
Both my sons attend Southgate and I can't say enough wonderful things about the teaching, administrative staff and the entire atmosphere of the school. The new school is beautiful and the children adore that but regardless of the appearance the staff is what makes the difference and they are incredible. Both my children have areas that require some extra attention and they manage to receive it at Southgate. At their old school unless they were gifted/talented or had severe learning disabilities they didn't receive the extra attention. Thank you so much to the school I know they have changed my kids' lives.

Southgate Elementary School 4

Posted March 19, 2012
- a parent
This is my daughters first year in Southgate, she is in K. So far I love the school and more importantly my daughter loves going to school at Southgate. I find the staff to be very friendly and always available to talk if you need to. The new IB PYP program is great! It just adds to the curriculum giving the children a more in depth veiw of things. The PTA always seems to have some fun festivals planned to bring the families and school together. My only complaint is that I wish they had slightly better communication between the school and parents. But all in all we are all very pleased with our experience with Southgate.

Southgate Elementary School 1

Posted December 22, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Southgate Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 07, 2009
- a parent
In my son's 2 years at Hilltop, his teachers have been very patient and attentive to his 'needs'. I want to thank everyone, teachers, counselors, librarian, and health room personnel for the GREAT JOB you are doing. I hope I didn't leave any one out!!!!! KEEP IT UP ;0)

Southgate Elementary School 5

Posted November 14, 2007
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Southgate Elementary School 3

Posted May 15, 2007
- a parent
Southgate Elementary was acedemically excellent as were the teachers and the extracurricular activities. Where they lack is school safety not inside but outside. Most kids have to walk home and across a busy intersection. I have seen numerous fights among kids and there is no one to stop them besides the kids and the parents. In my opinion if they can make them walk home they can atleast make sure they get home safe.


Southgate Elementary School 4

Posted May 24, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Southgate Elementary School
290 Shetlands Ln, Glen Burnie, MD  21061
(410) 222-6445
Last modified Southgate Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Southgate Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top