Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Glen Burnie, MD
Students enrolled: 790
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Monsignor Slade Catholic School 4

Posted March 17, 2015
- a parent
This is a solid school and good value with two caveats: the principal is passive-aggressive and caters to the fears and anxieties of parents who have longstanding ties with the school and the Church, also the anonymous rumor mill is quite active. On the other hand, the teachers are superb, both competent and committed to the children's education. If you can ignore the nonsense and focus on the classroom experience, this a good fit for parent and child.

Monsignor Slade Catholic School 1

Posted June 16, 2014
- a parent
This school is not a quality program. Our child attended this school for two years and we were very pleased the first year with our daughters teacher and program. This year the school retained a new principal that has not been consistent with addressing issues that the school has currently. Our child was bullied and we reached out to the school in the beginning of the school year to have it fall on a deaf ear. The bullying continued throughout the year with no intervention. The school plays favoritism to students that have other siblings in the program or belong to the church. I would not recommend this school.


Monsignor Slade Catholic School 2

Posted May 31, 2013
- a parent
My daughter attends this school.it is a very difficult school to navigate especially if you are a minority(black) there.Some of the teachers will see you and walk past you like they've never had your child in their class before and walk straight other parents. Also they have a poor school to parent communication which needs some serious overhaul.

Monsignor Slade Catholic School 5

Posted May 28, 2013
- a parent
After reading through the comments, there seem to be some misconceptions. "The teachers at the school don't have any degrees in teaching and not certified to teach. Most of the teachers were students at the school or attend the church. They do not have any teaching experience." is an absolute false statement. The Archdiocese of Baltimore has made sure that each teacher is certified or will be certified by 2015. Most teachers at Slade have their certification and many have Masters degrees. If not, they are working on completing the certification. Saying the school does not have a curriculum is another false statement. The school follows the curriculum outlined by the Archdiocese of Baltimore and that curriculum is current with the national standards. My children both went to Slade, were average students, and were extremely prepared for high school. They have both said that they can identify Slade students in their high school classrooms because they are well behaved and ready to learn.

Monsignor Slade Catholic School 5

Posted March 05, 2013
- a parent
This is an an amazing school! The standards are so much higher then a county education can. Plus the added bonus of my children not having to hide their beliefs in Jesus Christ! The staff is wonderful, all the way from registration to the class room. Our family could not be more pleased!


Monsignor Slade Catholic School 5

Posted March 02, 2013
- a parent
This is a really good school, definitely worth the money. The staff really cares about the success of each child, and if they see anyone struggling, they use all their resources to assess the needs of the child to get the kid back on track. They just really want everyone to succeed. I am also impressed with the strong community of families at this school. We looked at other schools but were turned off by the cliquish atmosphere created by the families. Our experience at Slade has never been anything other than absolutely welcoming.

Monsignor Slade Catholic School 1

Posted February 24, 2013
- a parent
I did not realize in a caring, Catholic school environment, it is up to the "students" to "bring these concerns forward." This inability to recognize these systematic problems and concerns are just some things the administrators and teachers should be trained to recognize and address effectively. We support Slade in every way possible, but there ARE problems with the school and the way they address (or ignore) some very serious issues and that is the purpose of this website. I agree it is VERY SAD that several graduates and relatives of students who attend the school feel the need to post something publicly; maybe it is the only way they feel they will be finally be heard. If this were a public school, I would take a different view; it is not.

Monsignor Slade Catholic School 5

Posted February 23, 2013
- a parent
Please visit for yourself and see what Slade has to offer. It IS a caring environment with teachers whom are not only certified but also holding or pursuing Masters Degrees (and beyond). In one of the instances addressed below (the reading sign), I happened to walk in to the classroom that same day and the "a" had fallen off of the wall mid-day. Kudos to the teacher for continuing to teach and fixing the sign after school. I am sure the parent would have been upset had the teacher stopped class to repair the sign. As far as the curriculum goes, each grade has a specific curriculum they follow and Slade would not be an accrediated school if they did not. There is a bullying policy in the Parent/Student Handbook which is strictly followed. The library is one of the largest in the county private schools and is not only organized but also computerized. Schedule a visit and see for yourself.


Monsignor Slade Catholic School 5

Posted February 21, 2013
- a parent
Real courage is standing up for what is right, not posting something anonymously on a web site. If people have issues, they should address the source. Spending time on dealing with issues instead of posting negative comments on a web site is infinitely more courageous (and emotionally healthy). Everyone has a different perspective. If any one of these former students had brought their concerns to the administration/teachers in a positive, intelligent way, they may have a different perspective. You cannot change another person, but you can change how you deal with them. Be the better person. Stop ripping apart something just because things didn't go your way. People are generally treated with respect when they treat others with respect. If names were permitted here, I WOULD post my name. Support your school and your teachers and I think you'll find they will support you, too.

Monsignor Slade Catholic School 1

Posted February 17, 2013
- a community member
My granddaughter attended Slade for kindergarten. During my open house visit, I was disappointed by the classroom appearance and reading lesson. The word reading was displayed on a classroom banner spelled: reding. The lesson was on blends/sounds at, cat, however, theprepatory reading was unrelated and did not include these phonic blends. The teacher reported there is no curriculum to follow. School climate is negative beginning with the principal and assistant principal at morning drop off. While waiting outside locked doors for the Christmas program it began to rain. A family had entered the building with a teacher. The Assistant Principal briskly escorted the family with young children back out into the rain. When trying to report a possible bullying incident, the response from school faculty was: "there is no bullying here". During the librarian's lesson the children drew on a paper plate then retrieved a book from an unorganized bin. This teacher used gender groupings. The principal was unavailable to discuss parental concerns. Teachers are not highly qualified and lack of rigorous instruction was evident in both settings witnessed. I would not recommend this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Monsignor Slade Catholic School
120 Dorsey Road, Glen Burnie, MD  21061
(410) 766-7130
Last modified Monsignor Slade Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Monsignor Slade Catholic School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. Top