Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Freetown Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 10, 2014

My daughter goes Freetown from 1 to 2 grade and I was not impressed how school runs and teachers don't give much for kids to learn. My daughter told me the class is bored. This is third time they had principal replaced at Freetown Elementary School. Last year, I asked to put my son to go Freetown Elementary School and they put him on a waiting list and still is on the waiting list. My daughter had experience with bully kids in the class room and gym. I have spoke teachers about it and they haven't done anything. I am pulling out my daughter out from Freetown Elementary School and I am not putting my son in there either.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2013

The teachers and staff at Freetown Elementary School are fantastic! Don't let the rating fool you, this is a school that is dedicated to the success of every student in attendance. Mr. Haynie knows the names of his students and eagerly greets them in the morning and is there at the end of the day to send them home. My son has been blessed with excellent teachers at Freetown Elementary School! The teachers in this school reach out to their students & provide guidance in a positive learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2013

It is important to remember the number rating for this school is purely based on state testing scores. It doesn't represent the excellent leadership and academic curriculum supplemented within Freetown Elementary School. This school has educated teachers, strong leadership demonstrated by Mr. Haynie and wonderful academic programs. The teachers are well equipped to recognize advanced students and provide stimulating curriculum to encourage further educational opportunities. My child has attended Freetown Elementary School for two years and I could not be happier with her education. My daughter really looks forward to school and that is a direct reflection of the wonderful environment at Freetown Elementary School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2012

The Staff at this school is Excellent. They deserve five stars!!! The Principal is truley amazing! He knows every student by name. He greets them at the door when they arrive and sends them off at the end of the day! Most of the staff members I have met really are making a difference for these kids. Parent involvement is definetly a weak part of the school! But not all parents are lucky enough to volunteer. I am a parent of 3 children who are new to this school this year and my kids love it here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2009

Hi everyone I admit I have heard negative things about Freetown however I enrolled my child met the Staff toured the brand new school and it is a warm friendly place wonderful school beautiful inside and out my son who is 6 loves it its time for all of us in the area to get over the hump of negative opinion and and give it a chance and decide for ourselves I am very pleased and you will be too:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2009

As a teacher at Freetown I can tell you our school is rich with resources. We have a great deal of support from the community. There is always a way for a parent to get involved and share in the great resource that a Title One school has to offer.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 20, 2009

As a newer member of the staff, I feel that Freetown has a very positive environment and faces the challenges presented by a diverse student population. It is a Title One school and there are numerous activities that parents can participate in to promote the home school connection. The staff works very hard to differentiate instruction for all of their students to make learning more meaningful. We attend several professional development activities in and out of school. Every teacher in this school has the resources to teach the students what they need to know.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 20, 2009

I too am new to Freetown. The same principal that was spoken about in an earlier post has also led the school to achieve on the Maryland State Assessments. The teachers are on the ball and dedicated to their profession. Many of the students and staff members instruct outside of school hours in addition to the regular school day. These same teachers take the time to discuss the students needs in order to promote a positive classroom environment. Just because it is a Title One school does not make it make it a poor one. In the new building there will be more opportunities for learning, as technology will be implemented into the curriculum. Again, this will provide an additional medium for our students to achieve.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 10, 2008

My son went to school at Freetown for Kindergarten and my daughter is there now for PreK. My family loves this school! There is such a sense of community and family. The teachers work hard and truly love their students. It's true that there have been challenges, but it takes a first class staff to work through those challenges, because all they want to do is help make a difference. It's easy to work at a school in a 'more privileged' area, but it takes a quality staff that love what they do to press on. Our principal is wonderful!! She does so much for those students and families. Also, because we are a Title 1 school, our students get so much support. Reading specialists, extra programs, etc...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2008

I read the previous post and feel that the teachers and principal handle the students wrong. They have no clue. Freetown used to be a wonderful school about 8 years ago under the other principal. When she left things went down. She had those teachers on the ball. She wasn't their friends she was a leader. When my youngest son went there I could'nt deal with the young inexperienced teachers who only know one way to teach and a principle who want to be friends with her staff. The kids are talked about in a negative way amoung the staff. I pulled my son and all I hear about is how some of my neigbors are selling their homes to avoid this school. People please dont avoid the school out the Principal for who she is NO RIGHT FOR OUR KIDS.!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2008

My son is in 4th grade and I am not hapy with how things are. He isn't getting the support he needs. Discipline is a big problem and little is done to stop it. More parents need to get involved with the school
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 45% 35%
White 30% 42%
Two or more races 10% 4%
Hispanic 9% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7904 Freetown Rd
Glen Burnie, MD 21060
Phone: (410) 222-6900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Marley Glen School
Glen Burnie, MD


Marley Elementary School
Glen Burnie, MD



Elvaton Christian Academy
Millersville, MD




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT