Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Monarch Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted February 11, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Maurine Larkin. She has great people skills ( wonderful attitude ). If I have a problem or need help with a situation, I could call or email Mrs. Larkin she would help to her ability to solve the situation. She's a very kind and caring person. We need more like her in the school systems.

Monarch Academy 3

Posted February 11, 2016
- a parent
I am not going to say that this school is prefect because it's not.Because I was one who had a problem with this school once. You may have some staff members that act unprofessional, but most of the staff is very positive and cares about the kids and there education. The principal Mrs. Maurine Larkin is very helpful and caring. If there is a problem Mrs. Larkin would handle it. She seems to want the best for kids. And that's what I like about her. She tries her best to make this school great along with some other positive teachers. So I learn not to judge this school in a bad way because of one or two negative staff members.


Monarch Academy 1

Posted January 23, 2016
- a parent
Horrible school. Really a waste of time in trying to get your kids in this school

Monarch Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted January 23, 2016
- a parent
This school has a problem with dealing with African American students. And they don't teach the students any social skills

Monarch Academy 5

Posted July 10, 2014
- a parent
All three of my children are enrolled at Monarch. We have been enrolled since the first year they opened. My kids love their school. I couldn't imagine my kids going any where else.


Monarch Academy 5

Posted May 20, 2014
- a parent
Miononarch is an innovative school - the expeditionary learning model has been great for my son. Looking at topics across multiple disciplines creates a deeper understanding of the concepts. We wish there was more communication from the teachers, and advanced learners are not as challenged academically as they could be, but it is an excellent school.

Monarch Academy 5

Posted October 17, 2013
- a parent
This is my son's second year at Monarch. He absolutely loves it. He was in private school before. Monarch is a close second. I think they would rate as high as a private school if they weren't forced into the public school model of student/teacher ratio (high). In his private school there were 14 students to a teacher and an assistant. At Monarch, it is about 20 to one teacher. Despite this ratio the teachers do a phenomenal job with their students. My son has continued to maintain his reading at one grade level above. I especially like the school's approach to learning. I am confident in the future success of the students at this school.

Monarch Academy 5

Posted August 18, 2013
- a parent
My son has been at Monarch since the school opened. I would not want him to anywhere else.


Monarch Academy 5

Posted July 21, 2013
- a parent
We absolutely love Monarch Academy! The teachers and administration are engaged in the learning and development of the students. I was very impressed with the kindergarten classes this year. The emphasis on projects and fieldwork always kept my daughter excited and wanting more. My daughter was reading before starting at Monarch, and at the end if her school year she now reads on a 2nd grade level. The work of all the teachers at Monarch is outstanding!

Monarch Academy 1

Posted July 05, 2013
- a parent
I would not recommend this school to anyone. There is no disciplinary structure, making it hard for students to learn and for teachers to get support from administration. Furthermore, there are no extra-curricular activities or honors-level classes in middle school. Teachers are more concerned with being politically correct than teaching important curriculum. Bad behaviors in middle school get ignored, as administration thinks if they just show "love and caring," a child's behavior will turn around. That has proven ineffective. Bullying and cyber-bullying takes place on a regular basis, and racial tension is high. Please, DO NOT send your child(ren) to this school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Monarch Academy
6730 Baymeadow Dr, Glen Burnie, MD  21060
(410) 444-7582
Last modified Monarch Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Monarch Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top