Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Monarch Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 30, 2016
- a parent
The teachers at Monarch Academy spend a lot of time creating Expeditions for the students that must meet the needs of the students at their level of learning. In addition they participate in weekly professional development classes- more than what is expected from a teacher in the county. The teachers respond quickly and professionally to parents via email or phone call within an acceptable amount of time.

Monarch Academy
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 30, 2016
- a parent
Respect is taught, modeled, and reviewed often. Teachers, faculty and staff are role models for students.


Monarch Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 30, 2016
- a parent
While the Habits of Excellence and 5 Promises are infused throughout the day, students have opportunities during CREW to share situations or be provided a situation to discuss and have meditation about to help understand someone else's view.

Monarch Academy
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted June 30, 2016
- a parent
Character education is infused throughout the lessons. The students are held accountable for their actions through the Student Support Center (SSC) and the parents are encouraged to share concerns with the school.

Monarch Academy 5

Posted June 30, 2016
- a parent
My children have attended Monarch Academy for the past two years after transferring from private school. Not only were they welcomed with open arms, they embraced the learning environment and the culture of the school. My children come home excited to share what they have learned about through their Expeditions and field work. They are academically challenged by their teachers and staff and Character Education is infused throughout the day. My eldest took advanced classes this year- Algebra 1 and Spanish 1. Our other child was in STEM Math and all of our children are above grade level in reading. My children have flourished in this atypical classroom environment. If you are seeking a traditional program you won't find it here. And while there is not an opportunity for afterschool programs, there is before and after care to meet the needs of working families. There are also several "electives" Middle School students can take during the day that you would never see in a traditional school such as yoga, musical theater and Earth matters. We feel strongly we have made the best decision for our children to attend Monarch Academy. The faculty and staff are committed to the students and the school building is inviting and beautiful as well.


Monarch Academy 1

Posted May 01, 2016
- a parent
This is not a great school. Staff members are unprofessional. And some kids at this school is treated unfairly because of their skin color and this is very sad.

Monarch Academy 1

Posted January 23, 2016
- a parent
Horrible school. Really a waste of time in trying to get your kids in this school

Monarch Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted January 23, 2016
- a parent
This school has a problem with dealing with African American students. And they don't teach the students any social skills


Monarch Academy 5

Posted July 10, 2014
- a parent
All three of my children are enrolled at Monarch. We have been enrolled since the first year they opened. My kids love their school. I couldn't imagine my kids going any where else.

Monarch Academy 5

Posted May 20, 2014
- a parent
Miononarch is an innovative school - the expeditionary learning model has been great for my son. Looking at topics across multiple disciplines creates a deeper understanding of the concepts. We wish there was more communication from the teachers, and advanced learners are not as challenged academically as they could be, but it is an excellent school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Monarch Academy
6730 Baymeadow Dr, Glen Burnie, MD  21060
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (410) 760-2072
Last modified Monarch Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top