Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Glendale Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 19, 2014

Very secure school, great teachers who work with the children individually if they are falling behind. Parent/Teacher conferences are very in-depth, they are very detailed on student reports and every classroom has a television set linked solely up to the office for morning announcements or alerts. As I mentioned before, this school is very secure and thourough with their sign-ins and verification of parents and guardians. I trust this school with my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2009

I love this school. My son has ADHD and they are wonderful with him and very understanding!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2009

i love Glendale as well as my 8 yr. old. she has been attending since kindergarten and will be entering the 3rd grade in the fall. all of her teachers so far have been wonderful. the after school program (sacc) is also a great benefit. i am proud to be a part of the Glendale community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2008

This is my daughters 6th year at the school and my sons 4th year, for the most part the teachers are good at identifying the childrens needs. The principal is wonderful and most of the staff recognizes my children and myself which is a huge plus to me, it definitely makes me feel more comfortable leaving them there. The principal checks the sex offender website and has recognized a convicted offender when he tried to pick a child up at the school and he notified police and the parents were notified as well. My only issue is there are many young teachers at the school and I think they may still need extra guidance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2008

This school is nothing but WONDERFUL. The principal and staff are extemely friendly and helpful when needed. I have 2 children there and this is our 4th year at the school. I feel very safe and comfortable with my children there. I wish they could stay at Glendale unitl 12th grade...lol
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2007

We moved to the Glen Burnie area from the Balto. County area 3 years ago. I enrolled both my sons in Glendale, my youngest is still in Glendale and he loves his teacher and the staff are the best. They have always been courteous and have answered my questions without getting upset. My oldest is now in Marley Middle, but he loved Glendale too. This school is always clean. You never see kids lingering in the halls or on the grounds after school. The staff, Principal and Vice Principal are on top of things and I feel safe leaving my child in their care. They know what is going on and the comings and goings of everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2006

I enrolled my son at Glendale last year and he loved going to school and his teacher was great! My son did very well and I think he will continue to do so at Glendale.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 42%
Black 16% 35%
Hispanic 11% 12%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 56%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

105 Carroll Rd
Glen Burnie, MD 21060
Phone: (410) 222-6404

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Granite Baptist School
Glen Burnie, MD




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT