Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Marley Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 25, 2014

This school has been phenomenal for my third grader. She is reading at an above-grade level and has never really liked reading. I have noticed her reading in her free time now, which I am so thankful for. In general, my daughter enjoys school and has made a great group of friends there (a lot of whom live in our neighborhood, which is nice). We moved to the area from Montgomery County and were hesitant about this school. After having my daughter there for almost a full school year, I feel that this school does not get nearly enough credit! I have no complaints and feel comfortable sending my daughter here. We will be sending our son there this fall as well. At first we looked into private/charter schools in the area becaues the rating was 7/10 (it just dropped to 6/10, not sure what influences this), but everyone I spoke to said this school has been great for them, so we decided to try it out. Success!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2013

Marley Glen Elementary School I have to express my admiration for the teachers and staff there. They are invested in seeing that the children have every opportunity. It is a very special person who can work so well with the many differences the children have. They are, to a person, caring and kind and show compassion well beyond the average.


Posted June 24, 2011

My son, who just completed 4th grade, transferred to Marley at the start of the 4th quarter of Kindergarten. Every single teacher he has had at Marley has taken their time to learn his specific learning style and adapt to it. In particular, Mrs. Dennsteadt, his 4th grade teacher, has made a true difference in my son s life. He had her as a teacher a previous year, so we requested her again as soon as we learned she was moving to 4th grade. Mrs. Dennsteadt is an effective and fun teacher. She even invited my son to stay in class after school on Wednesdays, because she knew I got off work early on Wednesdays and would be able to pick him up, for the 5 weeks leading up to the MSA (MD State Assessment) exam, for 1 on 1 tutoring to prepare him for the test. She did this, she explained, because he was so close to grasping the concepts and strategies from class, and she knew that with a little extra one-on-one reinforcement he would fully understand. That, in my opinion, is a completely dedicated teacher who truly cares about each individual student, and we are SO LUCKY that my son had Mrs. Dennsteadt as a teacher for 2 years!!!! We love Marley Elementary AND Mrs. Dennsteadt!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

It's a great school. The teachers and students are very diverse from different backgrounds...I think that is very important to grow up to be a tolerant person. My son has thrived, their speech program is great and they deserve this money for what they do for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2009

My daughter is in 2nd grade and is having such a hard time compared to first grade. She has had trouble with a student in her class all year and neither her teacher or other faculty have made the correct changes to separate the children correctly. After it has drastically affected one child's ability to pay attention and numerous visits to the principals office they would do SOMETHING. After being moved to totally opposite sides of the room and the kid still won't leave her alone what are they going to do? Nothing. I am totally dissapointed with this school this year. Well...last year she was marked absent every time she was even late for school (5-15 minutes) and it took them 2 marking periods to fix it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2008

I have a son in the third grade at Marley Ele. He's attended since the 1st grade. When he arrived to Marley he could not read. He now reads at an above 6th grade level. He is excellent in math too. Mrs. Escobar has done an excelleny job with my son. He has ADHD,and she doesn't want him medicated. She has great patience with him and encourages him to do his best. I love this school. My oldest son,nieces and nephew also attended Marley.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2008

I have a son in Kindergarten. This is his second year of kindergarten, as he was not ready to progress to the first grade this time last year. Last year he was in Mrs. Chesek's class, which is a level 5 class for children with special needs. My son is autistic with ADHD as well. The time and attenion that Mrs. Chesek and the teacher's aides gave to my son was incredible. Even though I had to make the hard decision to hold him back a year, he was able to progress to a regular kindergarten class this year, with the extra help needed in specific areas. Now he's definitly ready to go to the first grade this coming school year and I have the teacher's and staff at Marley Elementary to thank for that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2005

My experience has not been good. I had 2 children that needed early intervention and I had to write a letter to the principle to get started on trying to help them. I do not like the fact that the school psychologist insisted on medicating my son before he was even tested for learning disablities. They refuse to keep children back a year that may indeed need to take the year over again. They claim 'statistics' tell them not to hold a child back. My son has been pushed aside. This is not a problem with the teachers, but with the management of the school. Children who begin to fall behind should be indentified immediately and help with all available resources instead of waiting for parents to request meetings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

I have a daughter in Marley Ele. and she loves the school and so do I. She is in third grade and never needed any extra help with anything until this year. Her teacher Ms. Quinn reconized that my daughter was having a comprehension problem and immediatley got her extra help. That's what I love-a school that takes the inititive to reconize problems and do anything to rectify it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 39% 42%
Hispanic 27% 12%
Black 23% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 6%
Two or more races 5% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 67%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

715 Cooper Rd
Glen Burnie, MD 21060
Phone: (410) 222-6414

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Marley Glen School
Glen Burnie, MD



Granite Baptist School
Glen Burnie, MD




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT